Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Water Works Restaurant & Lounge Reviews List

Water Works Restaurant & Lounge

The Water Works Restaurant will now be a catering venue for all of your special occasion needs.

Nestled on the banks of the Schuylkill River, the Water Works Restaurant and Lounge is Philadelphia’s Landmark Dining Experience. Built in 1812, the Fairmount Water Works was an engineering and architectural marvel, pumping fresh water for Philadelphians until 1860. Today, this National Historic Landmark is home to world-class cuisine, impeccable service and the magical dining experience that is the Water Works Restaurant and Lounge. Our outdoor terrace and riverside veranda offer Philly’s best outdoor dining experience. Saveur Magazine proclaimed the Water Works as “One of the Top 100 Dining Experiences in the World.”
See more Water Works Restaurant & Lounge details
141 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(141 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 141 reviews
5 stars
(68)
4 stars
(37)
3 stars
(20)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(7)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(102)
  • special occasion(82)
  • romantic(75)
  • great for brunch(60)
  • great for outdoor dining(52)
  • good for groups(33)
Water Works Restaurant & Lounge Reviews List
Review 1 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/30/2013
 2013
Dined on 10/30/2013
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 10/30/2013
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 11/15/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2005
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2005
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/22/2013
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Enjoyed our anniversary dinner...sat at great table and food was more interestingly good than expected!"
Dined on 4/05/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/16/2011
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Poor Choice

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I would not recommend this restaurant. Buffet line was more than 10 minutes long. Food was mediocre at best, and service was lacking. We asked for coffee and one person received a luke-warm cup, while the other received nothing for several minutes because they were brewing it (it's brunch - seems standard that coffee should constantly be available). When more coffee was requested, it took more than 15 minutes to get a cup. Brunch was extremely expensive for something not special at all, and they charged $3.50 for a glass of orange juice. When we were done eating we had to flag the waiter down to request our check after waiting for several minutes. I would NOT recommend this terribly overpriced place to anyone."
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Beautiful Location - food "fine, staff slow

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Celebrating a special event was worth it for the pictures - location and grounds are wonderful. Maitre' d was warm and inviting - it would be great if he could mentor staff to be more attentive and warm. Food was "fine" - nothing special. Everyone seems good with their food - salmon, chicken, tofu, but my husband said Duck was very weak. Biggest issue though was the attentiveness of wait staff and everything took a VERY long time. I was dining with some "elderly" folk so by the time dinner came they were ready to leave. Would try again in the hopes that this was an off-night."
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dining experience and will return for sure

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2006
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent food. Fantastic view. Very attentive and friendly waitstaff.
I was disappointed to learn that this would be a banquet/ event venue only in the future.
"
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I have never been behind the Art Museum!!! The view was fabulous!!! The food was delicious!!! Well worth the money spent!!"
Dined on 6/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/11/2013
 2007
Dined on 8/11/2013
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/11/2013
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Underwhelming

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"With such an historic and potentially beautiful venue, you'd think the business would respect it with good food and decor. This city enjoys the luxury of having quite a few excellent restaurateurs who bewitch the most unassuming of places into world class gems. Just imagine the culinary landmark this would be if the likes of Jose Garces got his hands on the Waterworks Restaurant! What a shame."
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2006
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Make sure you ask for a river-side view table!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Make sure to secure a river-side view table in advance. Those offer the best views and that's the real reason you should be coming here. On Sundays, there's a buffet, which is decent with a variety of options."
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Sunday Brunch is fantastic! Great views of Boathouse Row and the River"
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Don't let the view fool you

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We reserved a 5:00pm table for 8 on Mother's Day and everyone in my family was ecstatic when we were seated. The restaurant overlooks the city and specifically Boat House Row. The art museum, waterfall and walking trails add even more to the experience.
We were seated promptly and ordered by 5:30..and then waited, and waited. Understanding it was Mother's day everyone was patient and enjoyed the surroundings and incredible view. Then we waited..and waited, then asked for more wine, but they no longer had the wine we had, only a comparable wine - in taste, not price!
Knowing we were going to a place like Waterworks, everyone went hungry and excited for a good meal. Over two hours later we would have been happy with McDonald's. Finally, the food came out around 7:30 and inevitably they served my mom the wrong dish (on mothers day after waiting 2:30 to eat). I ended up eating a dish I didn't order and the server and/or manager never apologized for the mistake. The only apology was from me to my family for making the reservations. The View is NOT worth the aggravation, the food was awful. A steak knife was needed for every dish - filet, chicken, pork and duck, because they were so hard - but our server never stopped to ask .
I wasn't expecting anything great, but I wasn't expecting them to rely 100% on the view. Management/staff at the Waterworks are either slow or they are deliberately trying to extend the length of your meal to increase liquor/wine/beer costs. Spend your money somewhere that cares."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

im in love!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Visited Waterworks restaurant for Mother's day brunch.. Food was excellent- especially the french toast (one of my favorites) and the salmon!! When making reservations, I requested outside seating but the restaurant was unable to accomodate me due to the volume of guests dining that special day. I was annoyed but went with the flow. Hopefully, my next visit to the restaurant I'll be able to be seated on the outside to enjoy the view of the river. Other than that, I would recommend the restaurant to others wholeheartedly!! I give it 5 stars!!"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent, but expensive

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Took my family here for Mother's Day brunch. Good food, excellent view, impeccable service. Gorgeous area and a beautiful day. Bloody Mary's done right. BUT, be prepared to spend $$$!"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not the best choice for Mother's Day Brunch :-(

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have been to the Waterworks before with my mother for her birthday and it was incredibly good--food, service and unbeatable location on the water. However, not every restaurant is able to match their buffet on a holiday with the off the menu quality on a "regular" day and Waterworks was a prime example. The experience could have been improved with 1) Music--even of the recorded variety 2) More choices on the buffet--which was heavily weighted towards breakfast choices even at our 1:45 reservation time. 3) Replenishment of the buffet table--I know we had a late seating but we were paying exactly what those who arrived 2 hours earlier paid. And this brunch was no bargain!
I will we back to the Waterworks again but not for brunch and not on a holiday. Come on, Waterworks! You can do better. Don't let us down!"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Terribly disappointed!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The chairs were sticky, the service was poor, and the food was awful. The wait time for our food was about an hour!! and when it arrived it was such poor quality!!
Terribly disappointing experience.
"
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2007
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A pleasant experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The location is great, overlooking the river and being a short walk from the Art Museum. A few more signs indicating where it is on the walking path would have helped. It's a fairly quiet place and we liked being seated in a booth looking out on the river. I did want to be seated under the tent outside and asked for it in the reservations. We were told that all the empty tables were "reserved." I wonder for whom and whether staff didn't feel like accommodating us!! It was our first time there and guess we're not part of the "in crowd." Still, it was very pleasant overall."
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nice location, but goes to waste

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I wanted to try the Water Works Restaurant because I often run past it, and it seemed like it would have a nice view and be good for brunch. The view is about what I had expected - a nice view of boathouse row and the river, you can see the bikers / runners go by on the other side of the river on a Sunday morning.
However, the food was such a disappointment. I guess part of it was my fault for not doing my research, but I wasn't expecting a pricey buffet. At first I was impressed by the selection - hot food, omelette bar, raw bar, desserts - but I quickly found that food that looks good doesn't necessarily taste that great. Nothing was particularly bad, but neither is it something I will return to, especially given the price."
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2012
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great for our Special Occasion

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I celebrated our 2nd Wedding Anniversary here and it was a great experience. We were seated on the outside patio which was closed in because it was a little chilly and windy that day. However, we were in the covered (heated) tent but the view was still amazing. My husband had no idea that the waterfall was even there. The service was impeccable, the ambiance was soothing and romantic. They even provided us with a desert plate that said Happy Anniversary. How sweet and thoughtful. The food was delicious as well, the omelette station, the waffles and french toast were the best items on the menu."
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Adequate

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was very good but was overshadowed by the unfriendly and novice service. It seemed like the staff didn't know what they were doing. The bartender was rude and questioned me with my drink selection. as if he did't want to make it. I even told him "who is the customer?" Not a friendly restaurant."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Anniversary Celebration

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was our first time at the Water Works but certainly won't be our last. Our Sunday brunch was absolutely wonderful & a special way to celebrate our anniversary. The food was exceptional...be sure not to pass up the crepes...out of this world. There was such a variety of food that no one could go hungry. Our waitress, Mindy, was great and made our visit one we will always remember. So glad that we went early so we could be out on the patio and able to enjoy the scenic view. Thanks for the great experience.....we will be back"
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/26/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Water Works Restaurant & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful brunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sitting outside on a sunny day overlooking Boat House Row, mimosa in hand, and a brunch buffet with tasty variety and an excellent staff. The buffet was laden with so many wonderful dishes (recommend the made-to-order crepes!). The staff were overwhelmingly nice making us very relaxed and comfortable. It was a distinct pleasure to meet Michael Karloutsos himself!"
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>