Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room) Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)

Whether it is a fine, hand cut USDA prime steak, fresh local seafood, one of our now famous bipartisan burgers, or just a quick bite in our bar before a show at the Verizon Center, Social Reform Kitchen and Bar provides a unique and energetic destination in Penn Quarter. A diverse menu features not only inspired modern American entrees. But small plates, salads and sandwiches in an elegant yet relaxed dining room. An imaginative menu theme using politically inspired names for many of the dishes plays on the bipartisan history of the restaurant. Our Private Caucus Rooms are for groups of 8-300. These rooms are perfect for any type of gathering.

53 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(53 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 53 reviews
5 stars
(20)
4 stars
(18)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(14)
  • special occasion(13)
  • great for lunch(12)
  • fit for foodies(10)
  • romantic(8)
  • notable wine list(5)
Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room) Reviews List
Review 1 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2014
 2010
Dined on 4/25/2014
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/25/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2003
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2003
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2003
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Restaurant Week Lunch at Social Reform

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A friend and I took advantage of the $22 lunch during Restaurant Week. We enjoyed a delicious meal and great service."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Restaurant Week

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The staff were quite friendly and service was good. My steak was more well done than medium as requested but everything else was good. I would return to try other menu offerings."
Dined on 8/19/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent meal

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/09/2014
 2014
Dined on 6/09/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to this restaurant after my sons graduation. Being a local, we have been to most of the name restaurants, but decided to try this place. It has been evolving for a few years and I think they finally have it down. The service was great. Everyone was friendly and kept on top of everything. The food was standard fare, but well prepared and presented. It was a pleasant surprise as the place has very little buzz around town.
I would recommend it to people that want to have a nice meal in a nice place without having to wait in line."
Dined on 6/09/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Although there were only a handful of tables occupied in the entire dining room, the waitress was consistently slow to check on us and to come to the table when she could see us (and acknowledged us!) signaling her. The french oinion soup had an odd flavor to it, the scallops were cooked perfectly, but egregiously over-salted (and I love salt), the crab cakes were bland and disappointing. Both desserts lacked flavor. I will probably return to try the steak, their specialty - one shot at redemption - hopefully different wait staff."
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Social Reform is a consistent, professional lunch

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Social Reform (fka The Caucus Room) has a quiet and professional lunch scene. I eat there once a week for lunch. The burgers and salads are excellent and you always get the same level of quality each time. The wait staff is usually attentive but if you get there too close to the 11:30am opening time there may be a small wait for service. Steak sandwich is really good, be sure to get the salad on the side instead of fries because portions are large. Grab some of the awesome dinner mints on the way out."
Dined on 7/23/2015
 2000
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Burger: good. Fries: a little greasy, well salted. Tuna tataki: good sear, but a little too cold, and the sauce was too salty/gloppy. I wasn't particularly impressed, but it was decent enough. Too expensive for what it was."
Dined on 7/20/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/29/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/22/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Do not waste your time.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/22/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyed it in the past, still enjoyable.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2010
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Elegant relaxing lunch."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

TheY saved the night

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was wonderful and perfect. Our night started off much different. Our night started off in a wild hunt for this restaurant. We didn't know it was actually called The Caucasus Room. After about 20 minutes of anxiously driving all over the city, missing our reservation, and extra money spent on cab fare, we found it. For those of you planning to visit, walk towards D street and just around the corner. You'll be able to see it from there. After getting into the restaurant, no one was happy. However, our hostess seated us right away and the rest of the staff went above and beyond to make sure we left feeling better than we started. However, I get the feeling, that's just how this place is. It feels family owned and operated and makes you feel welcomed and cared about. We had excellent food, great drinks, and perfect service. In the matter of two hours, they took the time to make sure we had the best impression of them as possible. I will definitely be going back and will certainly tell my friends to check it out."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very nice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was great and innovative. You don't see coq a vin everyday and it was great! Ate here during a trip to D.C. and was not disappointed. The bar seemed like the place to be, so I am sure there are great happy hour deals there."
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

before show dining

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The service was perfect, friendly and attentive. Cocktails perfect, bright and fresh. All courses of food were five star, well prepared, delicious and presented well. The clam chowder was creamy with a hint of bacon. The skirt steak was perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent before a Ford's Theater performance!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"After the ahi tuna appetizer, we ordered two kinds of steak, hanger and skirt, and the scallops along with several of the sides! The steaks, ordered medium rare, were grilled to perfection! The scallops, perfectly caramelized! Being a Paleo diet advocate, I actually thought the chef may be also, based on the selections offered! Let's just say there were no leftovers! Our waitress/hostess was wonderful, both attentive and responsive, but also respectful of our family conversation. While on a Friday night when the bar's Happy Hour was in full swing, there was plenty of ambiance in the dining area and we weren't aware of any distractions. As we headed out at the end of our dinner the skies opened up and our waitress actually walked us through the entire building to get us closer to Ford's Theater without getting wet! Truly appreciated! Overall, a wonderful dinner experience and we will return!"
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

very poor

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"very nice (quiet!) ambience, but service was indifferent/unsophisticated, and food was mediocre at best."
Dined on 3/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Classic Washington, DC Atmosphere

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant has a great steak menu as indicated by the diagram of a steer outlining all the cuts of meat that are available.
The food was very good and the ambience was classic Washington, DC...a very lively bar scene. It was drowning out iur conversation at our nearby table over the half wall separating the dining area from the bar. The bar crowd was gone by the time we finished eating.
Our guests were experiencing the restaurant for their first time and they loved everything about it!"
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Ambiance is good, food and service just OK

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The reason I went to Social Reform is that I had won a $100 gift certificate. We ordered a bottle of Malbec and the cheese tray as a appetizer. One would think the waiter would take a moment to explain the different cheeses as he placed the cheese tray on the table - did not happen. The waitress offered little assistance with regards to house specialties, specials, etc. My daughter ordered the scallops which were done very well. My wife and I ordered the skirt steak. Portion size was ok and both steaks were cooked to tenderness requested. All in all the meal was ok , but nothing exceptional to remember. Ended up costing an additional $110."
Dined on 2/23/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely place, excellent service, ok food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was Valentine's day, so they had a fixed menu which was limited and very expenive. The fixed meal was not worth the amount of money we paid, plane and simple. Social Reform did call me ahead of time to let me know they had a fixed menu that evening, but since we could not get another reservation anywhere else, we decided to keep this one. Once we arrived, the restuarant was very lovely, clean, old world charm, lots of warm dark wood, white table cloths and staff very friendly and service on point. We got the fixed menu and had a three course meal with desert, cost $75.00 per person with a bottle of wine at $35.00 extra. I had the chicken Co qu vin and my hubby had the prime rib. My meal was a small breast of chicken ok seasoned, nothing to write home about. The portion was very small, I was still hungry after desert and I'm a very small picky eater, I rearly ever finish my meal. My husband's prime rib was also small, ok seasoned, clearly not worth the money we paid which was over $200 for the meal. I really don't mind spending that kind of money on food and usually spend much more, but the food presented should be worth quality portion, seasoned and presentation, or value equal price. This place is very nice for atmosphere and charm but clearly not worth the price they charge for the food they serve up. All in all we had a lovely evening, we were able to talk and hear each other,there were not many other customers in the restuarant, I think there were 6-7 other tables in use, so we got attentive, quick service, our water glasses were filled timely and meals were served hot. I don't know if I would go back there again on a night that has a fixed price and menu. Food just not worth it to me."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"price fixed menu for valentine's day. they said I couldn't order off regular menu. waiter/waitress very young and inexperienced. I think it was one of first bottles of wine he ever opened, struggled with it. also poured full glasses of wine, no initial tasting. Place almost empty for a Saturday/valentines evening, not a good sign. Food was very good however. No cosmetic changes since they changed from Caucus Room, place showing age. No valet parking which is a problem for downtown DC. Garage parking next door for $22."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Valentine's Day - Hit & Miss

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Hit - The ambiance was comfortable and the room we were sat in was warm and inviting. The appetizers and main courses were very well prepared and both my wife and I felt they were on point.
Miss - The service for the entire night was spotty at best. The hostess offered us a coat check-in and sat us immediately. The water arrived as did the complimentary bread and butter. It then took our waitress about 15 minutes to arrive to our table to take our drink orders. She proceeded to pour my wife's wine selection within a minute and then disappeared for another 10+ minutes only to return without my single malt neat whisky that I had ordered. As we chatted and sipped on our drinks we became aware that our waitress had again forgotten to ask us for our dinner order. Mind the fact that entire section we were in had no more than 10 guests during our entire visit. Once she found her way back and took our orders the appetizers showed up in a very timely manner. The main courses followed soon thereafter. The dinner menu for this evening was set and you ordered you app, main, and desert all at once. We ended up waiting another 20+ minutes for our desert to show up and only did so after our waitress checked in with us well after our dinner plates had been cleared.
The wife and I agreed that the services was pitiful and even with the food being fantastic we would look to avoid this place in the future. If it had been slammed we could of excused the multiple moments of being left alone for obscene amounts of time."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, slow service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It took a while for our server to come to the table, I think they may have been understaffed. Once she came, service was fine. The food was good. I'd go back again."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Valentines Day debacle

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were there for Valentines Day with our two daughters and were greatly disappointed that it was pre fix menu. We had to spend $75 per person for our dinner with two young girls that don't eat alot."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Yummy but lonely

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We very much enjoyed dinner. The food was delicious but it was so empty! We thought maybe it had just opened but upon reading reviews AFTER dinner, this is typical. I wonder why? It was a nice place and the food was delicious!"
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

No Reform needed here!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2010
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great place to get together and actually chat over lunch. The noise floor is very low which actually allows people to talk at a normal level. The food and service are equally good, just what you would want. This would also be a good place to recommend to friends from out of town."
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My coworker and I dined here for restaurant week. The food and service were great. I would go back sans restaurant week."
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Restaurant Week 2015

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great menu and the food was prepared perfectly. Out entire group was happy with the meal and the service was terrific. Really enjoyed the atmosphere of the dining room. Think I would like to return to try out the bar at Happy Hour."
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Elegant Restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We enjoyed the deliciously tender prime rib sandwich. It was a great deal at $20.15 per person for a 3-course lunch menu."
Dined on 1/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

And it's oh so quiet, shhhh, shhhh

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had friends from the burbs who were in town to see a play and one member of the group wanted to go somewhere where we could hear each other talk. Tall order for Penn Quarter on a Saturday night, but we found it at Social Reform at 6PM. In the dining area where we were placed there was only one other occupied table, and later we were the only ones. So for a place where we did not have to strain to hear each other, it fit the bill.
We had encouraged our party to take a look at the menu online. When we got menus, we got one for the more pricier fare and had to ask for the burger menu, which they provided upon request. Our party of 6, had a mix from each menu. The food was fine and in large portions, abnormal for this section of town.
They also made a darned good Old Fashioned.
"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good for slow business lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I went for a 7-person business lunch, and this place fit the bill. The food was quite good, but the service was pretty slow. I'd recommend going especially if you're not in a hurry."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, amazing staff

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This is my first time visiting The Social Reform and was very pleased with my experience. I had reserved a table for 8 through OpenTable and had courteous confirmations of same. Though some of my party was running late, the staff remained very pleasant and attended to the guests waiting. The restaurant was relatively empty around 12:30pm so was a very comfortable environment to dine.
Everyone ordered their food, mostly burgers, and all the food came out at the same time with no problems. I had ordered the "Moderate" burger with fries (can be swapped for side salad) and was cooked as requested and tasted great.
The food is a little on the pricier side but overall, very pleasant experience and would go again."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A restaurant for adults

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food is very solid, though the menu is somewhat limited. Wine list is extensive. Service was attentive without being cloying. Enjoyed the quiet, adult atmosphere. A great place to go when you want to talk business and actually hear what your partner is saying."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2004
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Social Reform Kitchen & Bar (fka The Caucus Room)
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
8 out of 11 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate