Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sam Miller's Reviews List

Sam Miller's

Located in a 165 year old building in the heart of historic Shockoe Slip, Sam Miller's is on the National Registry of Historic Places, and has been featured in national publications including "Southern Living Magazine." In addition to fine seafood and "the best crab cakes in Richmond," we serve USDA Prime beef , creative pasta dishes, and salads to suit any tastes. Looking for something more casual? A small plates menu is available in our Oyster Bar featuring classic favorites and new lighter fare options. Whether you are looking for a fine dining facility to host your business dinner, or a casual place to meet friends for drinks, Sam Miller's has all the options to satisfy your needs.
See more Sam Miller's details
92 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(92 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 92 reviews
5 stars
(28)
4 stars
(35)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(34)
  • neighborhood gem(24)
  • good for groups(22)
  • fit for foodies(20)
  • romantic(19)
  • great for lunch(17)
Sam Miller's Reviews List
Review 1 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

New Years Eve Dining. Over Priced Experience

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Made reservation via Open Table. Sam Miller's Claimed to not have the reservation on file. Had to wait as they set up tables. May try again on a non holiday. WE made the reservation for New Years via Open Table and it was not clear that the menu was a set menu. It was over priced for the amount and quality of food. $72.00 per person with out drinks, this included a mandatory gratuity and a $7.00 Service Charge? If you had a drink or 2 you are at $100.00 per person. This is not a $100.00 per person Dinner Restaurant."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We enjoyed it so much we will definitely again.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great spot after the race

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We came after the Richmond Marathon. I loved my po'boy and I really appreciated the good choice of Virginia beers. Also, I needed ice for my aching knee and our server brought me ice and a rubber glove in which to put the ice. I appreciated her creativity."
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

i enjoyed my time there service and food was great

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was great and service was good! We will definitely come back when we are in the area!:-)"
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good for our work group

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a group of ten (that ended up being nine) to welcome a new colleague. We were served promptly, and enjoyed a good meal with a nice menu variety. Our server was attentive and pleasant."
Dined on 10/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Restaurant Week Visit

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Visited Sam Miller's during Restaurant Week on 10/22. I was able to make a reservation on Open Table the day of, which was nice. I had to make a change at the last minute, when my party decided to add one more person right as we were walking out of the door. We were seated right away when we arrived, and Sam Millers did acknowledge our last minute addition, which was very awesome.
Our server was very very nice, she was kind and patient as we browsed the menu. They were out of the curry mussels, which was what I wanted as my app, but the crab soup that I got instead was still very flavorful and satisfying. For my entree, I got the bacon wrapped filet with fingerling potatoes and asparagus. The portion was small, but I figured it was because of Restaurant Week. The steak was very good and cooked to my desired temperature (medium rare). I'm not sure if I'd pay $29 just for the steak entree from the regular menu, but it was worth it for Restaurant Week. I was able to get a side of parmesan risotto since it only came with the salmon entree, I was about to order the salmon just for the risotto since I've never had risotto from a restaurant before. It was good, but I pictured it to be more creamy. This just seemed like a scoop of rice with a little bit of cheese flavor, I pictured it to have a deeper, richer flavor. For dessert, I got the blackberry cobbler, which came with a little bit of whipped cream on top. It had a nice crumbly crust with a slightly sweet, tart filling. Halfway through the dessert, it started to taste very very tart, so a little more of the whipped cream would've made it more bearable for me since I'm not super fond of tart desserts. My boyfriend got the brownie sundae, and while it looked delicious, the ice cream made his brownie very cold, so it made it difficult to cut through. He had about a 1/4th left but gave up eating it since it was hard to eat.
Overall, very nice experience, very nice atmosphere, and friendly staff."
Dined on 10/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 10/22/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2013
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Excellent service!! We went for Restaurant Week but ended up ordering off the regular menu (everything just looked so good and we weren't into dessert). I hadn't been in years since taking my grandmother for special occasions. It was just as nice as I remember and the service is impeccable!"
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great ambiance

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I like old buildings so Sam Miller's is perfect for me. Went for Sunday brunch. My food was well prepared but not special. The staff were friendly and efficient. I'm glad I went."
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I love breakfast here."
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best kept secret

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a group of eight people on Friday night at 7pm. This place has never been crowded and I'm not sure why. Bar drinks are delicious, service was outstanding, food and dessert were both high quality and amazing. Highly recommend crab cakes, burger, or steak! We will be back many more times."
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Seafood in the Heart of Richmond

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Three of us chose this restaurant for its location and its seafood entrees. The food was seasoned well and tasted delicious. The atmosphere was comfortable and invited table conversations."
Dined on 9/08/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Solid, Decent

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was OK, food was decent if not spectacular. Cod Tacos were very good, our friends started with soup that they enjoyed but the crab dip was a little disappointing. For a Friday evening it was surprisingly quiet. Although this was good as we did have our baby daughter with us which they seemed very happy to accommodate and were very understanding when she had a 15 minute "meltdown". As we were meeting friends we had not seen for some time we did sit after the mea for quite some time and they did not rush us or make us feel unwelcome. I would definitely return."
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Overall Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice atmosphere and friendly staff. Food was good. My only complaint, my beer glass was chipped. I asked for a new beer (I had not taken a sip). I watched the staff, poor my beer into a new glass instead of replacing the beer. Everyone should be courteous enough to know that as a consumer, we don't know when or how the glass was chipped. Drinking chipped glass can cause major stomach / intestinal complications and you can't feel chipped glass when you drink it. I did not drink the beer. My glass remaining full and untouched the entire night, no one even bothered to ask if anything was wrong with it."
Dined on 7/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just Ok

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I was really looking forward to our dinner at Sam Millers but found the food to be just ok. We started with the crab soup which arrived luke warm and rather flavorless. There were great chunks of crab in it though. The linguini was good and flavorful but the blackened shrimp tacos were just ok. Not bad but not great. Not one of our best Richmond dining experiences."
Dined on 7/25/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyed the crab cake s

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice surprise

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were unaware of Sam Miller's and tried it because of the Open Table listing. We three went for brunch and had a very nice surprise.
The location is terrific, right in the middle of Shockoe Slip and near other eateries, hotels and stores. Friends tell me it has been there for a very long time, and that it has gone through a number of changes.
Whatever changed must have changed for the better, because we all loved our food.
Two of us had the Sam Miller omelet, with lump crabmeat and Swiss cheese. Delicious! The other person had the burger and was very happy with it. We all had the home fries, which were fingerling potatoes cooked to absolute perfection. Best home fries ever!
You should try Sam Miller's!
"
Dined on 7/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2015
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Graduation Celebration!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We booked an early reservation to beat the graduation and mother's day crowds and are glad we did - we had a fabulous table for our group of 8 and were able to converse easily. Our food was very good and our server was very accommodating. The valet service which I understand is not solely used by the restaurant was not great - they seemed very disorganized and inefficient. However, we would definitely return to Sam Miller's to enjoy another meal and dining experience in downtown Richmond."
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mother's Day

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Everything was super. We celebrated Mother's Day along w/a birthday. Between the ten of us, we covered every entre offered. Our waitress was just great. We had cupcakes w/a candle in each for everybody and the young man who was manning the reservation desk lit everyone and served them on individual plates - he was so nice. We have chosen Sam Miller's for other occasions like Thanksgiving, etc. and have never been disappointed in the service or the food. Thanks Sam Miller's for another nice meal and day with family."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"$90.00 ($75 for food plus $15 for tip) was far too much for 2 Mother's Day brunches, 2 glasses of wine and 1 coffee. An otherwise pleasant experience ruined by greed."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mediocre

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was pretty good but the overall experience was very strange. The wait staff looked extremely hung over and they were completely disorganized. The mothers day brunch had obviously been printed for that day (mother's day stuff written all over it) and there were items on it that were not even available to order. Also they were 'out' of champagne for brunch - seems odd."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our waitress was great and the food was delicious we got our food in less in 15 minutes and it was a group of 10 of us. We were there for prom they were all very sweet to us and told us we looked great. Would definitely recommend to a friend."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Sam Miller's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great dinner, great service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Good restaurant week menu, albeit heavy on red meat options and little creativity put into sides/accompaniments.
Service was great, very timely and pleasant. Filet and Duck were both cooked very well and looked great. The sides could have used some work, but were flavorful and tasty even if lacking in presentation.
Dessert was ok- bread pudding was a bit gummy and dry.
Overall, will def be back and enjoyed our dinner there."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>