Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Social Restaurant and Wine Bar Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Social Restaurant and Wine Bar

Offering Charleston’s largest selection of wines by the glass, Social Restaurant + Wine Bar has become the preeminent wine bar of Charleston. Social is housed in a nineteenth century warehouse and features a stunning four-thousand bottle display cellar, where numerous exclusive wines are stored.

Complementing its extensive wine selection, Social serves dishes inspired by the wine-growing regions of the world. Social’s knowledgeable staff can pair each dish with a wine to enhance the culinary experience. Eat. Drink. Be Social.
49 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(49 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(28)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(19)
  • notable wine list(19)
  • vibrant bar scene(15)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • hot spot(12)
  • late-night find(9)
Social Restaurant and Wine Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A fun place to go for a drink/wine flight and appetizers."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2011
 2008
Dined on 12/16/2011
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/16/2011
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"One of the best happy hour deals in Charleston, hate they are closing!"
Dined on 7/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Buckeye

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I guess my husband and I should have taken the reviews folks wrote about the noise level more seriously. While the service, food, and wine list were very good, unless we were leaning across our food to hear one another, or talking at a louder level than the table next to us or behind us, we couldn't understand each other. Definitely dampened what should have been a nice dinner out."
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyed it, but loud

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Was recommended by a friend. Read the reviews and they seem spot on. Good food. Good wine list. Very good Manhattan mixed by the bartender. Would go back. But, very loud (my wife and I sat on the same side of the table so we could hear each other). Was a Friday night, and seemed to be mostly filled with large groups of women - especially bridal parties. Loud music added to the decibel level."
Dined on 6/26/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had a great bottle of champagne, good steak, and our waitress was superb. Ambiance was a little strange... The decor in the back seating area was more cafeteria like, and the seats were ripped and aged... So that was the only downfall!"
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My friend and I were in Charleston and wanted a nice meal that was well priced. We ended up at Social and had a great meal - even meeting others on vacation and locals. Service was excellent."
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fantastic!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service was exceptional, with the servers being very knowledgeable about their wine offerings. I highly recommend ordering a flight if you cannot decide or narrow down the choices. The food was very good but not the best we've ever had so couldn't go to 5 stars there. Next time, I think we'll try the pizza, the choices of which looked amazing! The noise level is such that you'll need to pretty much yell to be heard by your table mates but some may not call that an issue. We prefer quieter locations, personally. Overall, we enjoyed our experience enough to go again. That says something in Charleston where there are so many delectable options. We do recommend this establishment for the service, food and wine."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"First of all, thank you for being open on Christmas Day! We enjoyed our dinner here very much. They were super busy, but we still had fantastic service, and the food was delicious. Would love to come back next time we are in Charleston!"
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Social

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If you like wine, the "flights" here are very good. The pizza we shared along with other appetizers, was fantastic. Good service, overall good time."
Dined on 4/06/2015
 2010
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

good but LOUD

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a great meal but had trouble hearing each other even though we were tucked around the corner from the bar. We were given a nice booth but couldn't hear the waitress either. We asked three times to turn down the James Brownesqe music and all three times got a cheerful "Sure" but it never did get turned down.
The food was delicious--we had the barrel fish special.
The okra was roasted within an inch of it's life and was waaaaay overly salty, but everything else was nice.
We were entertained by a bridal shower party at the table next door--at least 20 girls in tiaras and little black dresses--definitely a place for special occasions.
Wine was delish--even the $5 house white was good.
"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing food and amazing drinks

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Social is a charleston gem. Great bar scene and amazing wine list. Happy hour is a great deal."
Dined on 3/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bachelorette Scene

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"While the food was tasty and the cab wine flight was great, I could hardly hold a conversation across the table with the two people I came with. Seriously, there were 4 large parties of 8 or more women on separate bachelorette parties having dinner. The level of noise was deafening, and the background music was thumping the same beat and sounded like it was stuck (the way record players use to get "stuck" on a scratch and you'd have to tap the record to make it play). The servers were overwhelmed by the large parties. It took 10+ minutes after we were seated to order a drink, during which I was surfing open table for another reservation nearby. Ultimately ended up eating there bc the servers were very apologetic. The shrimp app was delicious. So was the kale salad. Pizzas tasty too. I'd go back for the bar scene, just not for a dinner where I expected to catch up with friends."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Quality Food but Experienced Rushed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was in large proportions and was of high quality. The only complaint that I would have is that we were rushed to make decisions on our food and pressed to make a decision on our entree with our appetizer. The food almost came to quickly, if that is possible. Each portion of our meal came in seconds and I almost felt like we would barely get to relax and enjoy the wine before we would be done and out the door freeing the table. I think there is a need to let customers settle in and enjoy the experience."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

no complaints

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"took a chance on this place and were pleasantly surprised. food was well prepared and arrived in reasonably time. would return again."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went restaurant week to find a new restaurant. Very disappointed. Had wine but did not have red wine that was listed for happy hour. Substitution was OK but too dry for my friend. Service was good but too noisy! If the food had been good the noise would not have mattered. My mussels and the chicken pate were very good. The veal was good but the fish nothing special and the flat iron steak could not be cut d/t the gristle. The vegetables were overdone, tasted burnt.The goat cheese for dessert was good but the lemon dessert was a pie from McDonalds with lemon filling. We took friend with us. This was my first time and my last!!!"
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2013
Special Features: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Unexpected great food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went to Social because we liked the restaurant week menu. It appeared to be a very popular wine drinking venue and bachelorette party place. We were delighted to discover that the food was outstanding! We would definitely go back."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice surprise

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I didn't know what I would find when I dined here during restaurant week. I took advantage of the wine pairings that were offered with the menu. Best ever! Service was attentive. When there was an issue with one of the dishes, it was remedied immediately."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Everything we had here was terrific.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Pasta noodles were homemade. Everything was well prepared with just the right amount of seasoning. Will definitely go back next time we are in Charleston."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

High Energy

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2012
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Was visiting and decided on Social based on the wine options. Was pretty busy but not full but it was very energetic. We ordered a pizzaand the flank steak, both were very good. Abundant wine list but I was not very familiar with there selections so we opted for by the glass selections, good quality selections.
Service was very good.
"
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Social Restaurant and Wine Bar
Based on the average of (20) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
9 out of 11 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic