Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Braai Reviews List

Braai

Braai (South African for barbeque) is Manhattans only contemporary South African restaurant and brandy bar. Showcasing game meats and a diverse spectrum of culinary influences (Malay, Portuguese, French, Dutch & German) that create the fabric of our rainbow cuisine. Set under a vaulted thatch ceiling and tree trunk lined walls, it brings a little piece of the bush & "braaivleis" to the concrete jungle.
See more Braai details
193 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(193 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 193 reviews
5 stars
(58)
4 stars
(78)
3 stars
(40)
2 stars
(13)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(79)
  • neighborhood gem(59)
  • good for groups(50)
  • great for brunch(31)
  • romantic(29)
  • notable wine list(27)
Braai Reviews List
Review 1 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great "exotic fruit" mimosas

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"This was a great brunch place. The meals are a great value and the bottomless "exotic fruit" mimosas were a real hit with me and my friends. It was only about half-full when we met for brunch at noon on a Saturday. The servers were attentive and the food came out quickly. What I really appreciated was that my group wasn't rushed out after we completed our meal. The servers honored our 2-hour bottomless and continued to refill our drinks long after they cleared our plates. I'd definitely go again."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Awful start to brunch, but service was redeemed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Braai was packed for Sunday brunch at 1:30pm and we could barely get in the door. However, since we had a reservation we were promptly seated. Only problem, it was a table for two people and we were three and it was very tight. Braai seemed overwhelmed with the large crowd and we sat at the tiny table for about 20 minutes before one of us finally had to get up and find a server. We ordered some exotic fruit mimosas and they eventually showed up. Based on my first hour and Braai the service was super slow and unfriendly. For my entree, I ordered the Ostrich Benedict. Although, I am unfamiliar with how ostrich should be cooked, I could tell the dish came out very under-cooked, so I sent it back. The menu said the dish had sliced ostrich, but mine came out as a ground ostrich patty. Overall, the flavor of the dish was good once fully cooked, but it was misrepresented on the menu. At the beginning of brunch it was very hard to get a refill on the mimosas, but as the crowd diminished closer to 3pm the drink refills flowed more regularly. Towards the end of the meal, the server admitted to us that this was not normal for brunch and they had a much larger crowd on this particular Sunday than anticipated. Hearing this helped me understand why the service at the beginning had been so awful and I appreciated the honesty from the server and her trying to turn things around as the crowd lessened. I would give Braai another try and hope the service would mirror what we received towards the end of our meal."
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Braai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Braai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Braai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not a great first impression

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The branzino special was overcooked and did not taste fresh, and the broccoli rabe was mushy. Not a good value for the price, but worked for a quick pre-theatre meal. Staff were helpful and efficient, but then the place was not busy at all. I thought a South African restaurant would know how to do fish, but maybe it's not their strength. I might return to try the ostrich though."
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Who knew it was so hard to find an ostrich filet?

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We came here specifically for the ostrich filet my boyfriend wanted for his birthday dinner! Well, turned out they were out of ostrich filet but the consolation appetizer of ostrich sliders then his entree (shrimp with peri-peri sauce) didn't disappoint. I asked for a suggestion, wanting to try an authentic South African dish, and was brought oxtail, which was deliciously prepared and a pleasant surprise! At the end of the meal we were brought a taste of a cream liquor which was perfect to satisy our sweet craving. Although the decor seemed a bit sparse and on the shabby side and the music left something to be desired (was a bit clubby) all in all I was happy with the experience and would consider going back to try the ostrich filet!"
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fantastic wait staff....wonderful can do attitude"
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Delicious food, terrible service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Honestly, the food was amazing. The ostrich have sliders, empanadas, and eggplant and goat cheese rollatini were all delicious. I was blown away by all of it. The unfortunate part? Our waiter... He was a young, arrogant kid who didn't write anything down and as a result, messed up our order, forgot my drink, and then argued with us that he didn't mix it up. After my husband replayed the conversation to him and how he agreed to bring us extra sauce for our wings did he see that he made an error. No apology or anything. Then he forgot my lobster and avacado salad entree. After we finished from the tapas menu, we asked for the check because he clearly was not paying any attention to us, nor was he taking care of our orders properly, so we thought it best to leave.
I think I'll go back, but if he's our waiter, I will unapologetically request another one. His service was terrible."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Braai
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Overpriced and poorly prepared food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Braai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/02/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Lovely south African dining, versatile menu items, chief very accommodating. Seasonal & traditional selection. Very intimate setting/romantic"
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Braai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Food was good but as a South African I was disappointed in the South African dishes. If the menu didn't say babotie then I would never have guessed that it was babotie and the koeksisters were more a waffle. Atmosphere is great and the service was great."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Braai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2012
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The nye experience at Braai was just amazing, we were expecting great savory food with a quiet atmosphere and an attentioned staff.. exactly got what we expected. I totally recommend it!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2004
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2004
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was excellent. Our large party managed to try probably 70% of the offered menu items. The Oxtail was the hands down favorite with the ostrich slider a close second. One member enjoyed her ostrich steak so much she didn't share it with anyone.
The servers were pleasant, and food came fairly fast. I felt bad for the staff as they were clearly understaffed. I only saw 3 servers and a hostess for the 100 or so seats in this restaurant.
If you are in a hurry, this is not the place, but if you can spend some time, I highly recommend the food and the people were also nice, even though they were overwhelmed.
Have to say their Birthday celebrations are fabulous!!!
"
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Rainbow plate (5 tapas for $42) dinner for 2

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I've been here three times and it's never disappointed. The first 2 times I went with friends because my girlfriend didn't seem to want to try it, but I finally got her to come, and she LOVED it. I can't speak for what she had but my Rum Punch was great, and then we split the Rainbow Plate w/Lamb Chops, Grilled Octopus, Truffle Mac N' Cheese, Deviled Livers, and the Portobello. Everything was amazing and we were stuffed afterwards. I'd say the Lamb was not as good as I was expecting but the Octopus was among the best I've ever had and I liked the Livers a lot. I also liked that you got garnishes/sides with each selection even as it came in a nice presentation with everything on one large plate.
Service was super-quick, and I wouldn't be surprised if we go back next week and order the same thing (maybe with Ostrich Sliders replacing the Lamb Chops). Highly recommended!"
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/19/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/13/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Braai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/13/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Braai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/11/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/10/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/11/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Just the Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Convenient location, affordable, with great atmosphere and wonderful food. The staff is friendly and accommodating. It's the perfect place to drop in with a friend, have a romantic date, or bring a party. I celebrated my birthday with a large group of friends and family, after returning from SA. I was very pleased with the experience."
Dined on 12/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Braai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: hot spot, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Braai
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

What a dissapointment

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"What was placed on the OpenTable site were different elements of what might have been very promising. We understood after a while that the restaurant was being refurbished, the food lacklustre, the service slow pacing (for a while the staff were more interested in their conversation then service) the wine was the best part."
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/04/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food, service and background music. I went with a group of friends for brunch and food and drinks came out quickly. Highly recommend it!"
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 11/21/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Braai
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Birthday Celebration

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Came to Braai after the theater on a Sunday evening with a party of 8 to celebrate a milestone birthday. None if us had been there before and the restaurant was recommended to me by other friends. My guests were skeptical about the food at first but got into the variety of the choices. We had 10 out of the 17 tapas choices, oysters, and 4 different entrees, red and white wine, the malva pudding and custard tart between us. All the food was very tasty and enjoyed by most. The ambience was intimate and friendly, and the wait staff were very attentive. My guests were very pleased with the restaurant choice I had made."
Dined on 11/15/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Braai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service here is pretty bad and unorganized. No one in the restaurant but we had to constantly flag the waiter down. They forgot one of my dishes and I told the bus boy and nothing happened! No one came over to ask how the food was. I again told the bus boy they forgot part of my order, but I didnt want it cause meal was over. 10 min later he brings the food?! I was bad. They gave us free champagne and desert to make up for it. Food is good for most part. Every time i go here the service is bad all yhe way around."
Dined on 11/11/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Braai
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Braai
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>