Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Union Bar and Grille Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Union Bar and Grille

The original South End bistro celebrating our 10th year anniversary and our Improper Bostonian Best American Bistro award.
We serve dinner nightly as well as a popular neighborhood brunch on both Saturday and Sunday with a $9.95 price fixed option all day Saturday and through 11am Sunday.
32 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(32 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(10)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(11)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • great for brunch(5)
  • special occasion(5)
  • good for groups(3)
  • romantic(3)
Union Bar and Grille Reviews List
Review 1 for Union Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/03/2014
 2013
Dined on 5/03/2014
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/03/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Union Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/23/2013
 2010
Dined on 11/23/2013
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/23/2013
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Union Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2012
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2012
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Union Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/13/2014
 2007
Dined on 7/13/2014
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/13/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Union Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/09/2014
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Union Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This review won't matter since it's now closed

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came back for brunch--in my mind it's easily in the top 5 brunch spots in Boston. However, they're closed as of 12/31, and I'm sad we never got to try the regular menu."
Dined on 11/16/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Union Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sunday Brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I have been here several times for brunch with different friends each time and have always been pleased with the service and the consistent high quality of the food. The menu has a good selection of food, the service is timely and professional as well and food is thoughtfully presented and despite how busy brunch can be I have never felt rushed or that my requests were unreasonable."
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Union Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

What's happened to UB&g

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Once a favorite spot for us, a recent brunch visit was very disappointing. The service was unattentive, the food shockingly average (at best). With all the places to explore in Boston, there is no need to visit again."
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Union Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

won't be back

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I am a huge fan of the aquitane group restaurants, so I decided to try this one. Came in with a reservation for 8 on a Sunday night. We were one of only 3 tables in the entire restaurant and the last diners to walk in for the night. You would think service would be on point with that few people to serve, but you would be dead wrong. Insanely slow, never checked on, took us 30 min to even get a drink order in. Watched our server flit about having many conversations with staff hardly ever looking into the dining room. Food was sad too. The boy got his favorite bolognaise, and he said after this one, it might be his last it turned him off that much. Drinks were so so and weak, his tasted like medicine. Sad to say, we will be sticking to Gaslight and Cinquecento from now on."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Union Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

sub-par experience for brunch

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Seated in an odd location when the restaurant was half empty, didn't have plain black tea (for brunch!), french toast was a pile of mush, and the Dutch baby was the worst I've had (way too thin, barely warm, and the apples were still cold and hard). Never going back."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Union Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

"Forget" the Specials

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Why is it that too many servers at too many restaurants "forget to mention the "specials"?
Nice local restaurant. Valet parking or free 1+ block away.
Limited menu that hasn't changed much over the years.
$31 pork chop?!
Kitchen will accommodate special dietary requests (even on a Saturday night).
Reasonable wine list.
Desserts, fair. Tea, any type as long as it's green."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Union Bar and Grille
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Under done food

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I usually go for Brunch, but the food continues to go down hill and very hit or miss.
Our order was wrong and the eggs were under cooked.
I sent them back and the eggs were cooked but still got the wrong omelet.
I know the weekend brunch is inexpensive but it;s not worth it if the order is not edible."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Union Bar and Grille
Based on the average of (20) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
14 out of 15 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic