Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

SugarToad Reviews List

SugarToad

Treat yourself. Experience a fresh taste with a modern culinary spin. At SugarToad each bite unfolds a flavor astonishment. It’s a different way to taste and an intensely satisfying way to eat. SugarToad offers breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner. The chef changes the menu throughout the seasons to use only fresh, organic ingredients, as well as to create new and inventive dishes. SugarToad's mission: to inspire guests through constant creativity. SugarToad’s philosophy is to explore both modern and traditional methods and techniques and to fuse both through new explorations and experiences.

Inspired by the regional uniqueness of a blowfish found only in the Chesapeake Bay that bears the same name, SugarToad offers the comforts of a fine dining restaurant but in a relaxed and friendly setting.
See more SugarToad details
64 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(64 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
5 stars
(24)
4 stars
(16)
3 stars
(13)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(20)
  • special occasion(18)
  • fit for foodies(16)
  • great for brunch(7)
  • great for lunch(7)
  • notable wine list(6)
SugarToad Reviews List
Review 1 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/27/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2009
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/11/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2009
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was creative and abundant, an overall excellent experience. The service was also highly commendable. We shall definitely return!"
Dined on 2/24/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasantly Surprised

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My husband and I had tickets to a play in the city and at the last minute decided to have dinner first. We had no luck finding reservations at other area restaurants, so we ended up at SugarToad by default. It was so much nicer than we had anticipated. It's small and intimate with a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere. The service was fast and friendly, and the food was amazing. We will definitely return."
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Server (Courtney or Britney ok I'm terrible with names ) was excellent. She was cheerful always around when we needed her and not around when we didn't. The food as usual amazing. This restaurant is the hidden Gem of Naperville."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

UNACCEPTABLE NON-SERVICE

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"2 of us arrived 6:15 on a Friday evening to a completely empty dining room. The hostess sat us and the waiter came quickly and asked us if we wanted a drink. We asked him for a moment to look at the cocktail menu. He disappeared AND LITERALLY NEVER CAME BACK. We sat and sat and sat . . . until out of frustration my wife walked to the bar and ordered our drinks while letting a person there know that we had no server and no hostess anywhere to be seen. Still nothing changed, and we continued to wait patiently while no server showed up. We finally gave up and left the dining room to get our drinks at the attached Zorba bar where we ate some delicious food served by the wonderfully friendly and professional bartender Tim."
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Feeling a Bit Shabby

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food and service were good, however, everything was a bit less impressive than previous visits. On previous visits, the chef usually sent out a tiny complimentary taste; not this time. We waited awhile for our food - no bread, no chef taste- just time. We both ordered specials and were very pleased with the food. It was delicious - so we thought we would split a dessert. Definitely not up to the same level that our dinner was.
I also missed the special drink menu that had been provided in the past.
Also, the dining room seems to be in need of repair One of the chairs had tape covering a rip, the carpeting was tired, and the table where we were seated had a chip that, at first glance, looked like dried food.
The chef 's food was delicious, I think if we hadn't had such stellar visits in the past, I wouldn't have noticed what was lacking.
"
Dined on 12/05/2015
 2014
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

No return

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was excellent. Move the chef to a restaurant that offers service equal to the chef. It is too bad we won't go back because of the lack of service. Only one waiter that we could see for the restaurant."
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/08/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Business and special occasion dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The sugar toad has many notable qualities. The service is nice, the atmosphere quiet on the average night, and food is good quality no matter what you order.
Unfortunately, I would only recommend this as a place to host clients or business dinners. The food is just bit over priced for personal dining and there isn't enough in the area to really warrant driving out to that particular area unless you're staying at Arista hotel for another purpose.
The place is still very good and I like the atmosphere, which is akin to what you might find downtown Chicago."
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2011
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There was no one there and the service was so so."
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2012
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2006
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2013
 2007
Dined on 5/12/2013
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/12/2013
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Landon was our server and he was great. Super friendly, funny,and professional. The chef is superb and we even got to meet him and compliment him on his delicious food. A highly recommended place for a memorable meal."
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Poor wait service and cook service.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Poor experience. Wait staff, cook service and the food was not good either."
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/17/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Hidden Naperville gem!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2005
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went for a Saturday night dinner here with the fiance based on various ratings. Food was outstanding. Portions were just right. It was a bit loud as the bar was packed from either a wedding or the Naperville Wine Festival next store. Overall great experience."
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/10/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

a night out on the 4th

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"great people and great food! nothing like dinner with the one you love. at a place with good people to help you! and with food you will not get just anywhere!"
Dined on 7/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Simple Elegance

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were celebrating my son's high school graduation and received outstanding service.;"
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/07/2014
 2009
Dined on 6/07/2014
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/07/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

expensive

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food good, a little pricey. missing something to make real good but can't put my finger on it."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Weekend surprise

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This spot caters to the traveling business crowd (adjacent to hotel lobby) and we're told it is hopping on Sunday through Thursday nights. However, it is typically very quiet on Friday and Saturday evenings. We went on a Friday night and were the only party seated at 7 pm. We had parked at the bar and engaged with the bartender/mixologist who was working on concocting his new spring special drinks. He shared a few straw fouls with us. My wife had scallops as an entree. I had the swordfish and both were excellent. So was the shredded Brussels sprout salad. Service was excellent yet not intrusive."
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome food!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to Sugar Toad to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. The menu was very interesting and everything that we had was AMAZING!!"
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sugartoad anniversary dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was very good, a bit pricey for what you got. Some of the portions we ordered, were slightly overcooked, but the beer and wine list were excellent. There were only 3 other tables occupied on a Saturday night, so the restaurant was very quiet on the night we dined there. The wait staff was amiable."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2005
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Mostly a great experience. Our major complaint was that the food wasn't hot....barely even warm. We also ordered the shrimp appetizer, we loved it and ordered another however, the second was different from the first....from the taste to the look of the dish. Would return for the atmosphere alone, very nice."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Upscale Suburban Dining

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We recently enjoyed dinner at Sugar Toad. We had four people waiting on and serving us, all personable, so service was very good. We received an amuse bouche of tuna and salmon tartare which my husband loved (I skip raw seafood). We enjoyed the brussel sprout salad with proscuitto and the lemony fried smelts as starters. My husband and I both had the salmon entree, which was cooked perfectly--slightly crispy outside, flaky and and moist inside. The beets and sauces on the plate were fine and attractive if not memorable. My daughter had the vegetable tasting which was quite good but the only menu option for non-meat-eaters. I was a little distracted by the bar which is really not separated enough from the charming small dining room. However, the experience overall was quite good with very tasty food and great service, and I would happily return."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Inside the Hotel Arista lays Zorba and Sugartoad. A great restaurant and lounge. This is place where you go to celebrate awesome achievements, propose marriage, have fun with friends, or just have a really great meal.
Chef Burton and his staff do a wonderful job making awesome food with the freshest ingredients possible. Free range eggs, and local produce make the food experience even better.
Limited selections keep the menu small, but I promise you the offerings are fantastic. From their appetizer that takes a twist on bacon and eggs to a great take on a cheeseburger-you will not be disappointed."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were there for NYE dinner. The staff was very friendly and efficient. Food was delicious and my bride looked devine. It was part of a wonderful day."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very Disappointed !

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went for a family dinner with relatives who had traveled very far to be together. Foos was average or below, only ones in the restaurant at the time, had to share a bar menu with 5 people, drinks were poor, garnishes rough!, very disappointed! Previously we enjoyed this venue, will not be back"
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for SugarToad
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Christmas Miss

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I've always enjoyed going to Sugar Toad. Food is almost always delicious. Coffee has always been served in a pot & has been strong. I work in retail, so put in a lot of overtime, and had no time to plan/prepare a Christmas dinner. It was just me and my son for Christmas. College-age daughter had been invited to spend Christmas with friends (since mom wasn't going to be able to prepare the expected feast); husband was travelling on extended business trip overseas. So just me and my son. So happy to find a restaurant that I knew and liked that was open on Christmas Day. We arrived for our 2:15 reservation (only option available), were seated, and given menus. Lunch menus. That was a huge disappointment; my expectation was that there would be some kind of special Christmas menu, something along the lines of prime rib with yorkshire pudding - that sort of thing. It was just a buzzkill! Christmas Day & the ordinary lunch menu. And it was so drafty where we were sitting. We shared an appetizer which was delicious; the dates stuffed with chorizo & wrapped in bacon. Very very good. My son had a lobster roll, which he enjoyed. I ordered the pappardelle with butternut squash. Description on menu sounded like a can't miss selection. What a letdown. It was served cold, number one. And had zero flavor, number two. I sent it back to be warmed up, and was brought back to the table. The plate felt hot, the pasta not. After two weeks of 12-hour work days, I was just too tired to complain again. The staff seemed like they were going through the motions. My son and I decided to share a dessert, and I ordered coffee. The coffee was incredibly weak (and it is served in a largish pot, not a cup, so you are charged for a pot of coffee, whether you drink a single cup or not). The creme brulee was wonderful, and actually on the house, since the flavor indicated on the menu was not what they had in the kitchen. On the whole, a disappointing "Christmas" dinner."
Dined on 12/25/2014
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>