Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Prelude at McCaw Hall Reviews List

Prelude at McCaw Hall

Welcome to Prelude - on the Promenade Level of Marion Oliver McCaw Hall at Seattle Center. Sophistication, artistry and signature dishes designed by Executive Chef Shawn Applin await your visit. Prelude features the freshest local produce, artisanal products, a large selection of Northwest wines by the glass and half bottle, and Shawn's sublime take on cuisine executed by the SAVOR culinary team. Our seasonal menus provide the perfect prelude to a Pacific Northwest Ballet or Seattle Opera performance - or offer an exceptional dining experience on their own. Dinner reservations are encouraged prior to show time. Prelude also offers Brunch before Sunday shows and Intermission Reservations.
See more Prelude at McCaw Hall details
608 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(608 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 608 reviews
5 stars
(143)
4 stars
(240)
3 stars
(139)
2 stars
(69)
1 star
(17)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(186)
  • fit for foodies(106)
  • notable wine list(47)
  • great for brunch(46)
  • good for groups(40)
  • great for lunch(40)
Prelude at McCaw Hall Reviews List
Review 1 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2009
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2009
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New Chef - Better Food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We have eaten at Prelude many times over the years. On our most recent visit we were told a new chef arrived recently (i.e. early 2016). The new menu looks good. We had the beet, arugula and blue cheese salad with walnuts: it was excellent and definitely better than similar lunches we have had in previous visits."
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Creative Menu

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Always look forward to what interesting items they will have on the menu. Would however encourage attention to prompt service from the kitchen. There is only so much the staff can do to cover for late delivery of the meal to the table."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2006
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/24/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Convenient, poor service and disappointing food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2004
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2004
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We arrived at 6 pm in advance of a 7:30 pm production in McCall Hall, and we were seated immediately. It took quiet some time, however, before our server visited the table. Our drinks and first courses arrived in a reasonable amount of time. Our plates were cleared, and we waited about 20 minutes at which time the server came with dessert menus. I informed her we hadn't receive our entrees, and she said she would check on them (no apology). We ordered wine, and that came out right away. Our entrees arrived at 7:10 pm (an adjacent table that had arrived 20 minutes after us already had their check). The server offered no apology--just that the kitchen was backed up. When I pointed others seemed to be getting their food in a reasonable timeframe, she offered to comp the wine, which I appreciated.
The smoked salmon salad was quite good, but the cauliflower soup was rather bland. The pork loin was tough, dry, and overcooked. Overall, the experience was quite disappointing. I had a similar experience several years ago, but went in hoping things had improved. I won't be making that mistake again."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Ballet

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"As always dinner at the Prelude before a performance was wonderful. It is so nice to have a fine dining restaurant in the same facility . We will keep coming back."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

slow SLOW service, food only 50% ok

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"A friend and I have a regular ballet date and we always eat at Prelude because it gives us a place to meet that's easy. Generally it is OK, sometimes very enjoyable, with good food. Pricey, but convenient for ballet. This time the service was SLOW. Inexcusably slow. They were not all that crowded or lacking in servers. We arrived promptly at 6:15 for our reservation, and were not served until after 7! Which meant we had 20 minutes to eat, of the 1 hr and 5 min. we had budgeted. My mushroom ravioli was ghastly, barely warm and tasting of chemicals. The pork loin my friend had was somewhat better, although eating it all so fast was not conducive to enjoyment, even if the meal were passable. Such a disappointment this time, since, as I said, we have for years had decent meals and service here. No apologies from the staff or management, either. We were obviously too well-socialized to make a fuss, but there won't be a next time when we are as sweet."
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Service but ...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"It seemed like a great idea at the time. Pick a spot close to McCaw Hall and not worry about being late for the show. I'll admit it was a great location and the service was great but the food was not all that good. I had the beet salad which I really enjoyed. My husband had the cauliflower soup and that too was good. Our main dish for both of us was terrible. I had Salmon Roulade, with Artichokes, Arugula, Tomatoes, Golden Raisins, Wax Beans, Mustard. It appeared to be canned salmon on a bed of gummy mushy something. It did have 3 beautiful yellow wax beans that were good. My husband had Pork Loin with Rhubarb, Fennel, Marcona Almonds, Green Apple, Charred Onion, Port Reduction. While not as bad as my meal his pork was tough and over cooked. I would not recommend."
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I was disappointed in the non-alcoholic drink selection and the fact that it came out in plastic bottles. When I order tea, I expect that it will be brought to the table in a pitcher and poured into my glass by the server. I do not expect to be handed a plastic bottle. Especially not in what I was told is a fine dining establishment. The pork tenderloin had no flavor. It is as if the chef forgot that salt is available to use. My wife ordered the roast, and the carrots were severely under cooked. They might as well have been raw. The roast too, was lacking in flavor. It is perfectly fine to season meat. The best portion of the meal was the beet salad."
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, great waitress, bad manager, high bill

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Our dinner was wonderful! Our waitress was wonderful and she explained things to us very well. The food was cooked to perfectly and taste good. However a few of the items seemed to be over priced. I felt the main course was the only one that was accurately priced.
We did however from our table see what appeared to be a manager scolding a waitress off to the right hand side of the kitchen for something. The waitress shook her head and threw her hands in the air. The waitress then went to one of her tables and helped her customers as if nothing at all had happened and had a smile on her face. GOOD FOR THAT WAITRESS!! She presented herself so professionally. AND SHAME ON THAT MANAGER! You should never reprimand your staff in the public eye!!!
It was a bit too warm in the dining room. However it was also 80 outside that day and you have those huge windows. So it was understandable."
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2008
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pre-performance lunch

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Prelude is perfect for lunch before a ballet matinee. The reservation was great. We were shown to a table immediately, which meant we had time to enjoy the meal before the performance."
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Prelude McCaw Hall

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I eat brunch there for the afternoon ballet. The food is very limited, food always cold, takes a long time to get the food, the bill always has a problem (I go with three other people) and the only reason we eat there is because it is generally in the winter and there is nothing nearby within walking distance in the inclement weather. I will likely start eating my brunch before the performance at the little coffee stand outside of the restaurant. The food is prepared in advance so if you want your egg cooked a little more you cant get it. If you ask for them to leave the egg off, they can't do it and on and on. Not a lot of flexibility. The menu changes every season and just doesn't get any better. Sorry."
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

THE FOOD HERE HAS IMPROVED IMMENSELY.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very pleasant dinner prior to the ballet

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We had a very good server, the food was tasty and well prepared. The wine list was adequate. The ambience was pleasant. A slight mix-up at the beginning (my guest and I were seated separately and had to find each other!) was resolved by the server. A very nice evening."
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A good era at Prelude.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"As a relentless attender of ballet performances, I have dined at Prelude over a several-year period, and found my experience variable by the season. Right now (Spring 2016), however, I want to give credit where credit is due. The menu, quality of preparation, and service are outstanding at this time. I applaud the chef for presenting a selection that balances modern and traditional without lapsing into silly or staid. Ingredients are fresh and flavors are clear and satisfying. The staff makes every effort to accommodate the needs of guests. By all means return if you haven't been pleased in the past -- take advantage of the convenience of being right inside McCaw Hall and enjoy a restaurant that knows what it's doing."
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2008
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Hit or Miss?

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"You never know with Prelude--will it be great, just Ok, or not very good. The soups are almost always great and the salads usually border on great as well. My last experience for the February ballet was great. This time for the March ballet, it was just ok. The carrot soup was delicious--actually tasted like carrots! The touch of flavored oil was just right. The antipasto platter was a mess--a heap of meats all scrambled together that needed to be picked apart to see what was what. And could someone please tell them to get a new bread supplier? Their basket of bread is always dry and boring. How about some nice whole wheat or sourdough or crisp baguette? The little things do matter."
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fine for quick lunch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Nice attentive wait staff. Ice tea served in plastic bottles. Food adequate for lunch before
a production. Find another place for dinner.
"
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2009
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2010
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 3/24/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2012
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect for pre ballet

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Great food right in McCaw hall. Makes it easy to enjoy your meal and get to your seat in time"
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Relased, delicious dining before McCaw Hall events

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2005
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I always enjoy Prelude and invariably dine here before events at McCaw Hall. Food and service are both great and there is never any stress about getting to the show on time. Definitely recommend!"
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The menu seems to be designed for a ladies tea party. How about at least one item suitable for men? Some simple dishes rather than using "Chef's language" would also be helpful rather than language known only to gourmet cooks."
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

For dining prior to the ballet, this works well

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice meal, very convenient for the Opera

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Our food was good, our server very attentive. Although he did not know that sable fish and black cod are the same fish (I wanted to confirm that, but he had no idea). We ordered the cheese plate and someone besides our server plunked it down without telling us what the selections were. Our waiter, when asked, sort of knew what they were, but not all of them.
The fish was nicely prepared with a delicious mushroom side dish. We had a wonderful chocolate cake dessert, good decaf with a refill."
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Uncustomizable

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/09/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/09/2016
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"This place should really be called a cafe. They can't even customize how well your steak is cooked. I'm not paying good money for steak that is not the way I want it. The manager explained to me that the steaks were cooked somewhere else then "vacuum sealed" and served to us.
The food is completely overpriced for what it is.
Our waitress went back and forth between being nice and being incredibly rude. It was hard to know what you were going to get each time she came back. The only reason I am marking the service as fair instead of poor is because the manager did come and talk to me when I was annoyed that nothing could be customized.
Will never be going back to this "restaurant" again."
Dined on 3/09/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Prelude at McCaw Hall
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Improved Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The prelude is hard to beat when attending the opera. It is convenient and the ambience is fairly good. We used this restaurant while attending the opera Mary Stewart. The service this time was super. The waitress was friendly, efficient, kind and helpful. This time we ordered the Sable Fish entrée and it was super. It was really hot and nicely presented. The quality and taste were top notch. One big improvement is you can now order a cocktail in addition to wine. That's a big improvement. We were pleasantly surprised with overall service and quality of food. Hopefully, the Prelude will continue to excel."
Dined on 3/09/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>