Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury

It all started here... our first fine-dining restaurant, opened in May of 1996. At Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury, we built our reputation for excellence on our thick Angus steaks, fresh daily seafood and Maine lobsters up to 5 pounds, our premier wine list, friendly sociable bar, and superb service. According to Connecticut Magazine's Reader's Choice Restaurant poll (each year from 1997 - 2010) we have become New Haven County's first choice for excellent dining. A popular feature of all Carmen Anthony Restaurants is our private wine lockers made available to discerning patrons. Fine dining at Carmen Anthony Steakhouse is made complete by outstanding coffee and espresso service, and our luscious house-made desserts!
35 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(35 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
(20)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(23)
  • romantic(15)
  • fit for foodies(14)
  • notable wine list(10)
  • good for groups(7)
  • great for lunch(5)
Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury Reviews List
Review 1 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/14/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"As always our experience at Carmen Anthony's was outstanding. The food, service and ambiance all fit into this same category."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Weak service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Past 3 visits were met with rude waitresses, one worse than the other. Poor service overshadowed the dining experience. Too bad, used to be a great night out, waitresses need to be supervised more. I regret to say, I will not return."
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great night, great dinner, outstanding service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had a great night celebrating my wife's 50th birthday. The food was outstanding and Liz, as always provided great service! My wife enjoyed the evening. Thank you!"
Dined on 3/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We LOVED this place!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a great time owing to fabulous food, great drinks and the friendly atmosphere. It could not have been better. Pricey but we hope to be back for the next special occassion."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Me my wife and sister were going to a show at the palace theater for 8:00,we got there at 7:00 told the hostess that we needed to leave by 7:45 she told our waitress the situation. Well we ordered drinks and dinner no apps or salad, let me tell you me and my sister are in the service industry they were freakin amazing drink right there dinners 5 mins later and the. food was fantastic"
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2005
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Staff very friendly and attentive. Food mediocre and overall place tired"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Appetizer came out, needed to send back to be cooked more, dinner took too long to come out, prime rib was not cooked correctly, had to send back, came back out just as dissappointed!"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"What's not to love? Voted best steak in CT, the filet was as expected-fabulous. Probably the table favorite was the au gratin potatoes-no idea how a potato dish could make adults swoon but it happened. Shrimp cocktail and escargot both huge hits. The key lime pie was so refreshing. Simply the best steakhouse in CT."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"To start: the chopped salad is unlike any I have ever had. It is more like a cerviche instead of the usual mass of chopped greens with a ton of heavy dressing. Refreshing! Next up: potato encrusted crab cake - no wonder it has received multiple awards - shredded hash brown type potato crust - very crunchy - with a fabulous lump crab meat inside. The prime rib my husband ordered is most certainly the best I have ever tasted and he agreed. The filet mignon I ordered was outstanding - prime cut. My only disappointment was the heavy brown "gravy" that drenched the slightly overcooked lobster on top of the steak. Not needed - a pat of hotel butter on top of the lobster would have made it perfection. Cocktails are expertly made. Service was excellent. My favorite restaurant!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Outstanding night to celebrate my birthday. Food was outstanding, and our server Liz added her special touch to make our night that much more special! Awesome!"
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It's the Steak

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Carmen Anthony has a fish restaurant in Woodbury where we think the lobster roll and the gorgonzola burger are to die for. The steak at the Waterbury branch is one of the very best in Connecticut. I prefer the filet mignon which is worth every penny, plus one can order a more reasonable size. Seared on the outside and pink and soft inside. Perfect and totally satisfying. They have wonderful wines as well. The desserts, however, are rather unsophisticated gooey supersweet masses and not to my taste, although they can be pleasant to divide (one) several ways among a table. If you get the perfect fries and fabulous creamed spinach with your steak, though, you won't need dessert. Skip appetizers and those huge salads too, unless divided several ways, to leave room for the steak which is the main reason one should go here. Overall a really wonderful place. Highly recommended."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Birthday Dinner

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our waitress Courtney was amazing. She did everything possible to make our Birthday celebration nice. She was very attentive. See definitely is a "KEEPER"!"
Dined on 1/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Christmas Eve Busting but food, service suffers

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have been to the Carmen Anthouny's all around CT over the years and especially Waterbury when I'm back in town. We have also dined here on Christmas Eve several times of the years.
This year, the restaurant was very busy for the 6:00 PM seating. We had a larger than usual group of 7 and were seated in a front small banquet room instead of the main dining room. There was a very large party seated as well in the room.
It was obvious our server was a fill in or inexperienced waiter. And he was much more focused on the larger party than ours. He also did not know how to pronounce one of the menu items (carpaccio) nor did he know the desserts when we inquired. Also, getting water refills and condiments (cheese for soup and pasta, for example, too several minutes each. Too long for a full-service restaurant with HIGH prices.
We received half-full $10 cups of soup which he replenished by providing another cup to share.
The soup was excellent despite the volume issue and fix.
The menu choices were limited this evening and one of my favorite past appetizers (lobster tempura) was not available this year. Too bad it was a past WINNER.
Then they had a surprising included side dish of brussel sprout hash. I, personally, like brussel sprouts but 4 of 7 members in my group did not. It is an acquired taste. And they were severely overcooked and should have been called 'mush' not hash.
Also the mashed potatoes were solid and barely warm as if they were prepped and portioned early in the day.
There were NO substitutions offered or allowed.
Unfortunately, even the main entree --3 of us had stuffed shrimp ($33). It was OVER cooked and some were barely warm by the time they got to the table.
One got lobster fra diavlo. The sauce was far from spicy and actually sweet. The lobster was sparce and not what was to be expected for $35.
All in all, not a good experience at Carmen Anthony's. After returning several times for Christmas Eve over the years, 2014 is most likely our last."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2006
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Courtney was awesome.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"She knew the menu options by heart, never took a note, had every food item on the table hot, made wine suggestions that enhanced the meal, even talked my wife into a desert that was so wonderful that dueling forks ensued 'cuz I didn't order it !!
Tried to talk to Greg the manager before we left to give him a heads up that Courtney was so pofessionally and personally awesome that I'd be concerned she was going to take his job if he didn't maintain her exemplary standards.
However the insipid receptionist-despite not 1, not 2, not 3, but 4 requests couldn't seem to get it in her head to go find Greg for praise Courtney so justly deserved even with me citing a praiseworthy evening! My bride finally dragged me out because I was starting to cause a scene. Thus, I called the next day."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

16th Wedding Anniversary

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were looking for a quiet, romantic spot on a Friday night, in the middle of Christmas Party bookings, to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary. We decided to change our plans at the last minute when I spotted a review of the previous choice that mentioned the noise level was a bit high. We decided on Carment Anthony's...been driving by it for eons. We had excellent staff service, they took our coats and escorted us into a dining section and we were solo! I was thrilled....so intimate. We both love rib eyes....so I asked....since the menu didn't state it, how large are the ribeyes? The answer 16 oz. ...16 years, 16 oz, intimate, lovely. The steaks were excellent, the sides we chose were the sautéed spinach and potatoes augratin....scrumptious!
We did not have room for dessert and had to take a doggy bag. We will return!
"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Wonderful food & drink. Everything was top shelf with an attentive waitress whop was not intrusive."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Decent steakhouse!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Good steak and decent sides. It's not as glamorous as when it first opened and the food isn't quite up to the levels that I remember others talking about when I was still in elementary school but not too bad. Definitely my go to over Texas Road House."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Carmen Anthony Steakhouse of Waterbury
Based on the average of (17) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
15 out of 16 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic