Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto

Scott's Seafood Restaurant is a Bay Area tradition. Their American regional cuisine features the freshest seafood and prime dry aged steaks. The interior is inviting for all occasions, from casual dining to special occasions, business meetings or your next event.
82 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(82 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 82 reviews
5 stars
(24)
4 stars
(38)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(28)
  • great for lunch(27)
  • good for groups(26)
  • neighborhood gem(25)
  • fit for foodies(20)
  • romantic(13)
Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto Reviews List
Review 1 for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"First timer, bread was amazing such great sourdough taste. Our food was absolutely delish! Highly recommend."
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Will be missed!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Had another wonderful dinner at Scott's...excellent crab cakes, bread and superb fish! So sorry to see it go."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food, service, and menu mediocre.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Considering the high prices, the food, service & menu were just mediocre. It seems like Scott's relies primarily on its longtime reputation and prime location, rather than staying motivated, high quality or fresh. The NY steak was just OK, and somewhat grisly, and the asparagus was woody & unflavorful. The spinach and/or mash potatoes with the trout had a LOT of garlic, but garlic was not mentioned on the menu. We ordered the trout, potatoes & spinach specifically because it didn't mention garlic.
We loved the coconut shrimp appetizer, and the rainbow trout was very good.
One more unpleasant surprise at the end. The Costco-purchased gift card couldn't be used toward the tip, unlike other restaurants where we've dined. So with the leftover card balance, we bought dessert, which we didn't really want, because we knew we wouldn't be coming back."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a wonderful Valentine's Day dinner, party of 6, and great service!!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very slow service-on a not too busy night.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The waiter definitely had regulars that he paid attention to-my daughter and I were visiting from out of town, and had to wait 10-15 minutes to receive our drink order (soda pop and glass of wine). Calamari appetizer was good-not too breaded, but Cioppino was overly salty. Would not return to this restaurant again."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

I live locally and eat here primarily for lunches.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Worst service I've experienced in a long time:
1. Waited in excess of 5 minutes for first contact with anyone after having menu in hand.
2. Server surprised that I actually ordered a cocktail.
3. Took order in passing (then later had to come back and ASK what my entree was again).
4. Never received a refill of water.
5. Never asked if I wanted another cocktail or wine with dinner.
We didn't even split the check, which appeared to be the case all around us. . ."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2002
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

It is reliable, with good service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The one drawback is that the menu seems to have been the same for about a decade. What they do, they usually do well, but a bit more variety would be good."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Smiles appreciated

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food, location, service very nice. The hostess always welcomes with a smile ... but everyone else is rather dour, no smiles as if they do not enjoy their work."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Terrific meal!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Had a wonderful meal: we were given gift certificates, and we lived it up . Appetizer was tasty and unusual, meal was just delicious ( I'd definitely come back for the seafood sauté), dessert was good, wine was well suited to what we ordered. The chef obliged us by making some spinach as a side dish that turned out to be a delicious spinach and garlic sauté. The live music in the bar did not overpower the dining area and we could talk comfortably at usual conversation level. Parking was tough in the shopping center where the Palo Alto Scott's was located, but that was the only thing that was less than great,
We'll be happy to come back.
"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Quality of food has deteriorated

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Came here for the clam chowder - used to be the best in the area. Food overall was poor. Would not recommend this place."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Go for dinner, stay for dessert

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This place is great for their souffle, almond crusted sea bass, and steak. In short, go here for dinner only. The other time I went here was for lunch and it didn't compare.
Check it out!"
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/02/2014
 2012
Dined on 11/02/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Went with friends to have quiet, enjoyable time. Partially met expectations. Food had been slow to arrive as explained by server due to issues with kitchen. Did take off bar tab expenses for compensation. Food was good yet had better quality and time when was only for two people."
Dined on 11/02/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Scott's Seafood - Palo Alto
Based on the average of (70) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
54 out of 61 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic