Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Flaming Torch Restaurant Reviews List

Flaming Torch Restaurant

“No matter where you are in the New Orleans area, come enjoy the delicious French cuisine menu that native New Orleanians and visitors love. Just off world-famous Magazine Street, stop in for an afternoon lunch or cocktail, then walk down Magazine Street to shop in the eclectic stores. Our evening menu has earned us the Top 20 New Orleans restaurants in the renowned Gambit Weekly. We are honored to be part of the reason many people visit New Orleans, the food!!
See more Flaming Torch Restaurant details
160 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(160 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 160 reviews
5 stars
(69)
4 stars
(43)
3 stars
(21)
2 stars
(21)
1 star
(6)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(68)
  • romantic(56)
  • special occasion(55)
  • fit for foodies(51)
  • notable wine list(34)
  • good for groups(29)
Flaming Torch Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

One of our favorites.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This is my wifes favorite uptown restaurant. We had a friend in town and even though she had been there a couple days earlier she suggested we go again. And we were not disappointed. As always the service was fantastic and the food was delicious. We had the French Onion soup which is a fantastic meal in itself. Then for the entree the redfish was magnificent. And even though we were stuffed we could not pass on the bread pudding, again....delicious. A cozy spot great for couples or a quiet dinner with friends."
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Poor value

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I ordered steak au poivre. The steak was thin and grizzly. I expected more from a $40 entree.
The service was excellent."
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Scott Brandon

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Great neighborhood restaurant. Small and fun with just a few tables. the food was excellent and the atmosphere was even better."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"How this place continues to exist is a mystery. Understaffed so service was very slow; told us quiche was mushroom but it was shrimp; allergic to shrimp. Plus the quiche was $18, small, and overcooked. The Benedicts were no better than a chain restaurant and very pricey. Whole meal was a disaster."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely Romantic Dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I came here with my husband for our 5th year anniversary, and it was perfect! The food was spectacular, the french onion soup and the redfish with shrimp étouffée sauce. Our server, Robert, was very attentive and overall professional. He recommended a pinot noir wine, and it complemented well with the redfish. At the end of the night, the owner gave us a complimentary Nocello to celebrate our anniversary. It was a memorable dinner for us. Thank you so much for a great night!"
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Uptown Restaurant!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Great atmosphere, service, and french onion soup! Highly recommend trying this place out. We will be back"
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Empty restaurant but food was good"
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Service, Good Food and Empty Chairs

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We loved our waiter!! He was attentive, knowledgeable and recommended great entrees. My only complaint is that it was a little too expensive for what we got. The food was good but not for-what-we-paid good. I guess others agree because the entire restaurant was completely empty for the full hour we were there (on a Saturday night). It was strange and kind of depressing since we liked the staff so much. It was also uncomfortable for us as guests and we couldn't wait to leave.
It was nice to try but we won't be back, the prices vs. quality left a bad taste in our mouths."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Bad Meal

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I had $40 NY Strip that was at lease half grizzle/fat. The food has become over priced here. Iy may be the reason they are empty when have gone there for an early dinner. If you ever want an excellent steak in this area, simply go to Mr. Johns on St. Charles Ave. I've never had anything but excellent steaks!"
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2005
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for family gathering!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My family and I had a great experience here. The french onion soup was flawless and the bouillabaisse was outstanding. I brought my children here, and they were nice enough to make shrimp pasta for them even though it wasn't on the menu. Good quality service and just a great restaurant in general. We will definitely be back. Thank you!"
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Scallops!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We had the Maine Diver Scallops with chimichurri sauce and it was absolutely amazing, and it complemented very well with the Truvee wine that our waiter recommended. Great service and atmosphere!"
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Local Restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I was told to come here from a friend, who had dinner anniversary there. I honestly haven't heard of this place before, but I'm so glad I tried it out. The french onion soup was absolutely delicious, by far the best I have ever had. I ordered the bouillabaisse and it tasted amazing. The artworks on the walls were great, and I was told the owner painted them. I really enjoyed dining here and I'll definitely be back."
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Phenomenal Place!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"What a find! we love the french onion soup and the duck was simply delicious. Our server was very nice and attentive, and he gave us a really great wine recommendation that complemented very well with our meal. I will let my friends know about this place. Thanks for a great experience!"
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Not worth the high prices. The food was alright and the service was mediocre. I wish we'd reserved a table elsewhere for a better dinner."
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good, but more expensive than expected.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The food was good, but much more expensive than expected. The description said "$30 and under," which was not accurate. We had lunch there (which I generally expect to be less expensive than dinner). There were 6 of us, no one had any alcohol or dessert, and not everyone had appetizers. Our bill was well over $300. Again, the food was good, but not sure it was worth what we paid."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Excellent rack of lamb. Very small room with perfect service. Owner is onsite and treated us to glasses of Nocello (which was new to me). Recommend highly. The"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Over-rated

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/26/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just a good lunch

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We (3 of us) wanted salads for lunch and the menu had some good choices. We arrived on a weekday around noon and it was empty (weekday before Christmas). We ordered the crab meat and avocado salad and the Roquefort salad. Both were good, but nothing remarkable. Plus, the crab meat salad was a bit pricey. We had two glasses of wine as well. The bill for 3 OK salads and 2 glasses of red wine was over $100. Not worth the price for something basic. It was a nice and quite atmosphere, but not quite the quality and style in New Orleans that would bring us back any time soon."
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2004
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nice local place; food was good though be sure to ask the owner for all the "specials" as they do have a few more than what is on the menu. You'll need to keep the waitstaff apprised of what you want since it is a more European style of service. In the end, we felt the food was good-- a bit pricey-- but the service could be improved. If we lived here and were looking for a neighborhood bistro experience we might go back."
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"You will love with the French Onion soup and Roquefort salad. Also, the Duck breast and Redfish were delicious. And the Creme Brulee finale was perfectly creamy, one of the best I've experienced."
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely French Restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"My parents came in town, and they wanted to go to a french restaurant uptown. So we decided to give this place a chance. It was by far one of the best restaurants I have been to in a long time. We all ordered the exact same thing, country potato leak soup and the duck; it was simply splendid. The soup was very rich and thick, and a good portion size. We actually never had duck with chambord sauce, but it complemented extremely well with the duck. The service was fantastic. We were recommended to try a french wine (forgot the name), and it was outstanding. Thank you so much for letting me to enjoy my time with my family. Although my family won't be back in NOLA anytime soon, I will definitely return with my friends."
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"What a great restaurant. The artworks inside are amazing, and a great atmosphere in general. Their french onion soup is simply phenomenal, and the steak was cooked to perfection. What really stood out to me was the service. Our waiter was so nice with an overall great personality. This is a great place for a romantic dinner. My husband and I will definitely be back!"
Dined on 12/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What a Gem!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We were recommended to come to The Flaming Torch, and my husband and I were not disappointed. We ordered brandy sazerac for drinks. My husband said it's his new favorite drink now. I thought it was a little strong, but still a good drink overall. I had the french onion soup and it was by far the best French onion soup I have ever tasted. We both tried the Rack of Lamb and loved it. The chicory sauce complemented very well with the meat. Service was flawless. Our waiter was very attentive with a great personality. The artworks at the restaurants are amazing as well. Thank y'all so much for a wonderful experience. We will definitely be back"
Dined on 12/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great French Cusine

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Flaming Torch is a gem off of Magazine Street. The food is amazing and the service is great."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Overpriced and underwhelmed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was very slow and inattentive. My "prime" steak was overcooked and very tough. When the server asked if it tasted good, I said yes it tasted fine but it is very tough. He replied "oh, good" and walked away. My husband had the rack of lamb which was also very chewy. Had to try to flag down the server(s) for water, etc. which was not an easy task. The 10-12 table room was about half full so there was no excuse for the lack of attention. For the prices they charge you would expect first quality food and service. This restaurant has neither. We will not be back and from the experience with the staff, I don't really think they care. Amazed that this place is still open."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

18th birthday brunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went for my daughter's 18th birthday for brunch. The service was a little slow but the food was good. As we were the only ones in the restaurant at the time the staff was attentive."
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Wonderful neighborhood restaurant. Great food. Warm hospitality and good service."
Dined on 12/13/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We've been to the Flaming Torch three times, each time was a lovely experience. Very small and intimate, the food is always excellent. Long, leisurely and enjoyable meal. We far overstayed our welcome - on Thanksgiving - but that was fine with the people at the restaurant. As long as we were happy, they were happy.
Love the service. Friendly and unobtrusive. No rush but on the spot to keep your meal flowing. Excellent presentation without a trace of fussiness.
Everything we love about New Orleans in one spot."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Duck dish was ok, not enough duck on plate, redfish dish excellent. french onion soup and creme broulee divine!!"
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/25/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Where was everyone?

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"When I made my reservation on Open Table, I was only given the option of 6:30 or 10:00 PM. I chose 6:30, though we would have preferred a later time. When we arrived, there was not one other table filled in the whole place. Throughout our extended dinner, one other couple came in and dined quickly.
That said, the food was really good. The martinis were very large and very well made. I had a scallops appetizer with mushrooms. It was delicious. My husband had a steak that was cooked perfectly. The creme brulee was a lovely not to sweet delight.
I can't imagine why there weren't more people there. There should have been!"
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Keeps locals coming back!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I picked Flaming Torch for a Birthday celebration and upon arriving was surprised how empty! The construction uptown has hurt many of the restaurants! WHY can't the City do this during the summer! The food was fantastic! As I said, we are locals so it requires some doing to remain one of our favorites but Flaming Torch accomplishes this in stride! Eric was our waiter and from Les Escargots, to the NY Strip, to the Duck to the Crème Brulee to the Coffee....it was a consummate French Dining experience! The wine list excellent as well!"
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/16/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/16/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food and quiet

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great Onion soup and blue cheese salad. I've never had a bad meal ever from this place."
Dined on 11/10/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Flaming Torch Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Flaming Torch

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a nice meal, but the restaurant was empty on a Saturday night. We did eat early, but there was no one there even when we finished. I think this is a charming restaurant with very good food so I don't understand why it was empty."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>