Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

National Exemplar Reviews List

National Exemplar

In April of 1983, The National Exemplar began operation in the Mariemont, Ohio landmark, The Mariemont Inn. The Inn was constructed in the mid-1920's as a small piece of the very unique Mariemont community, founded by Mary Emery. The National Exemplar Restaurant was named after learning that Mary Emery once referred to her developing community as the National Exemplar, meaning national model community. The National Exemplar Restaurant is a full service, neighborly restaurant serving breakfast, lunch, and dinner seven days a week. We only use the freshest quality ingredients to prepare each meal. Our goal is to serve great food, provide friendly and professional service in a clean and relaxing atmosphere.
See more National Exemplar details
65 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(65 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
5 stars
(30)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(41)
  • good for groups(24)
  • great for brunch(23)
  • great for lunch(23)
  • special occasion(22)
  • romantic(18)
National Exemplar Reviews List
Review 1 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We'll Be Back!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Although Mariemont and the National Exemplar is not "in our neck of the woods", it was well worth the drive. I have been wanting to visit this restaurant and the local movie theater next door for a long time and I'm very happy happy we finally did! The atmosphere/ambiance of the restaurant was very welcoming and comfortable. Our server was friendly and attentive. Our drinks and food was served in a timely manner. My Hungarian Mushroom soup was very delicious as was the tomato soup that my husband had. The salmon I ordered was outstanding and my husband thought his prime rib was very good too! We will definitely return to this lovely eatery located in the historic former Mariemont Inn."
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Price was high Comoran to food served"
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Simply delicious! What a great find...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Well presented menu with nice choices for everyone. The food was fresh, hot, properly prepared and served with perfect timing. The service was very genuine and friendly. The service staff seemed knowledgeable and made several good wine, craft beer and food suggestions. The restaurant was clean and organized with a unique Tudor feel. Attractive and warm fireplaces coupled with its neighborhood location makes this a place to be a regular visitor. A nice surprise and great dining experience at The National Exemplar."
Dined on 1/19/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/21/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The "Place to Be" on a cold winter's evening!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"As usual, good food & service in a wonderful Old European ambiance. Group of friends were seated next to crackling fireplace on a cold winter evening dinner. People were exceedingly helpful and friendly, even though the place was really busy."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Personal Fave

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have to say that the National Exemplar is one of personal faves! I love this place for breakfast, lunch and dinner! My hubby and I celebrated a slightly belated Valentine's dinner last Sunday and our experience could not have been better! A table by the fireplace, a glass of sparkling wine, wonderful appetizers, fantastic meal, decadent dessert and fabulous service! What more could you ask??? We will be back!!!"
Dined on 2/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Enter your review title here.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Lovely evening. Great service and ambiance. Special dessert for my wife for her birthday."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food great service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A group of 6 girlfriends met at the Exemplar to celebrate a birthday on a Thursday evening. We had a perfect table in the pub side of the dining room. We had great food and wonderful service. We never felt rushed and were well taken care of throughout our dining experience. The Exemplar is one of my all time favorites! I will be back!"
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonder place to meet up with friends.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Wonderful restaurant with great food. Perfect place to meet up for dinner with good friends."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nice place, excellent food delicious carrot cake."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Birthday dinner for my husband

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I took my husband here for his 41st birthday. It was very nice. Our waiter Tyler was super sweet and very attentive. The place was relatively quiet. The food was excellent. we had the 8 oz fillet with boursin mashed potatoes. It was cooked perfectly and definitely on par with Jack Ruby's where we usually go. The crowd was a little older and definitely local. I would recommend this restaurant to any of my friends. It is a very homey local place where families seem to go."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Service excellent, food good, nice environment.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was good, but limited menu. Service was good. Mainly seniors dine there. Lovely neighborhood restaurant."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good, not great

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I went there for dinner and ended up bringing our 10 year old due to a scheduling conflict. Everyone enjoyed their dinners but the menu is not kid friendly. Both of the cheeseburgers came with wheat berry salad. No option for fries. Wheat berry salad seemed like an after thought from the kitchen and although it tasted fine, it had a muddy presentation. The feta cheese had almost broken down into a soupy consistency. The bison burger was well prepared, flavorful and not one bit dry. It's obvious that Mariemont's retired set call this home. Everyone around us was much older and there was a lot of socializing among tables. That was nice to see but since we didn't really fit in, we probably won't be back for dinner."
Dined on 1/07/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Normally excellent -- this time just average

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Had a 6:30pm reservation for two on a recent Friday night. Got seated right away. Mario served us. He was very nice and polite. We ordered a cocktail, then salads. The salads were both good and fresh : a caesar and a house. Ordered the prime rib cooked medium as an entree as well as fettucine alfredo. The fettucine was very good, the prime rib was rare and cold. Unfortunately, so much time passed before we saw Mario that it was useless to try to ask for it to be taken back. I ate it, but it was not very tasty. The whipped potatoes had been sitting awhile, too, and were not warm. We ordered creme brule to share and two after-dinner drinks. The drinks and dessert took FOREVER to make it to our table. Granted, Mario explained that the kitchen was backed up, but there's no reason for the drinks to have waited for the dessert to come out before being served -- at least ask! We normally love this restaurant, but on this evening it was a disappointment. Oh, the creme brulee was fantastic!"
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

charming place with very good food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had not been since the menu change, and we were pleasantly surprised. I loved the Buffalo burger, and my wife loved her cioppino. Craft beers on tap, a short but adequate wine list. Ambiance is old world, which we like."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Restaurants must STOP using bar music for dining.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have enjoyed going to National Exemplar until this last time. The food is good, though the menu is pretty limited. We went for an early dinner at 5ish, when many of our age and older tend to go, and this time was awful, mostly due to young, inexperienced people running the place at this time.
Our server was great, so none of this should reflect on him, but when we were seated and waiting to order, the music that was on was loud, thumping club-style music. There was a group in the front room that may have appreciated this, but in the dining room it was us and a few other couples trying to have conversations, which was impossible.
We asked to have the music turned down or off, and the host made a face and went to the bar where they changed it to the worst Christmas music track, ever. It was bad elevator-type-music, with the words.
When our dinner arrived, we complained again, but it was not our server's fault and he looked helpless to fix it. All I recall of the food was that it wasn't as good as usual, and we ate too fast to try and get out of there quickly, so I ended up with indigestion. We are in our 60s and we were the youngest diners there, so not only was the music inappropriate for a dining room, it was definitely bad for their customers. We will not return soon, or maybe ever, and if we do and the music is this bad again - we'll leave immediately.
"
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Odd experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Have been here many times before. Bar service was lacking. Ordered a Sidecar, bartender claimed he didn't have the correct ingredients. Ordered something else, got it and a sidecar. Server took all off our bill. Ordered the lamb, they were out of it. Ordered the veal Suzanne, it was very good. Actually, the meal was quite good but the service was strange."
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lots to try on new menu

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"A great new menu with a small plates section, new salads and excellent entrée selections. I had a hard time trying to decide what to order!
Lamb sliders were delicious! Just the right amount of spicy! Green salad (new house salad) was fresh and delightful.
Can't wait to return!
"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for National Exemplar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not their best tonight

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Lots of glitches, one bad meal and service was really off. But.... We've been there before when every thing was just right so we will go back. The management was very responsive and cared about our evening and we really appreciated it."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for National Exemplar
Based on the average of (41) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
35 out of 36 recommend this product
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic