Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

DISH+drinks Reviews List

DISH+drinks

DISH+drinks is casually elegant American neighborhood restaurant set in historical Foggy Bottom. DISH+drinks features innovative American regional cooking focused on the freshest local ingredients and influenced by foods from the Bay to the Blue Ridge.
See more DISH+drinks details
313 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(313 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 313 reviews
5 stars
(127)
4 stars
(148)
3 stars
(31)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(181)
  • fit for foodies(106)
  • notable wine list(42)
  • special occasion(34)
  • great for lunch(29)
  • romantic(23)
DISH+drinks Reviews List
Review 1 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2008
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2006
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2005
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/22/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

perfect for Kennedy center

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Walkable to KC with valet parking. expansive menu with great choices for pre fixe options. Updated classics: salmon and lentils, mussels with frites were very good. Yummy desserts- the apple beignets are very nice. Competent , thoughtful staff and comfortable dining room."
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/11/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2009
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Comfortable and inviting with great execution all the way around"
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Fabulous food. Good experience except we had one person get wrong order. They quickly fixed it. Great job."
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have never had a bad meal at dish +drinks. The service is always wonderful. Not a loud vibrant scene. Not stuffy. Great neighborhood place with menu offerings to suit a wide range of palates. I am already looking forward to going back."
Dined on 4/05/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2010
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food, fantastic service! Our server was very knowledgable and took great care us. Will def visit again."
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A gem near the Kennedy Center

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We ate here before a show at the Kennedy Center. It's less than 10 minutes walk. What a delightful surprise it was! We each got a special - me, the rockfish, and my husband, the ravioli. Both were outstanding! Our appetizers were also great. It is loud, but the service is impeccable. I highly recommend DISH for dinner."
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Varied menu, with great daily specials, beautifully prepared and presented. The pasta and rice entrees were delicious, and the tuna and rock fish dishes were perfectly cooked. Would go back!"
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Enough with the cream sauce

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2002
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2002
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We were disappointed with our food, although less cream and more savor would have improved things a lot. The Caesar salad was a classic (with anchovies)--very good. The fried-green tomatoes were still crunchy and practically raw, despite their trip through the deep fryer. They needed something savory to give them some flavor, not the creme fraiche on the plate. The crab cakes would have been better with less binder and with a spicier sauce than beurre blanc. The special--asparagus ravioli and spinach ravioli topped with shrimp--was positively drowning in a bowl of cream sauce--not terrible, but enough already! Cocktails were interesting, waiter/bartender was droll and entertaining. Decor--Wegman Weimaraners wall-to-wall in a small space--was a bit eccentric. Gas logs a plus on a dreary night."
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 3/23/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/19/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always good!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"A nice quiet place fit for pre-theatre dinner or a business lunch. I love their fish, soups and salads."
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2001
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect for Kennedy Center pre-theater!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Great food and an interesting wine list, watched over by a large Wegman Weimaraner photo!"
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Do not judge this restaurant book by its cover. Though located off a hotel lobby, the restaurant was outstanding. I found the the waitstaff to be very attentive, the food was outstanding and the service wonderful!"
Dined on 3/15/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Hidden Gem

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Brought an out-of-town guest for dinner before heading to Fri eve Kennedy Center performance. Was VERY pleased with location, service, food. Restaurant is small but un-crowded, noise level was tolerable and definitely allowed for conversation. Wait staff was friendly. Food was very good! Will definitely return anytime I want a nice dining experience in Foggy Bottom."
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Cozy place a little off the beaten path...

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Small, cozy place tucked inside the River Inn. There is a small bar and fireplace that makes the place warm & inviting. We sat at a small table by the window with a nice view of 25th Street. The menu isn't extensive with prices typical for DC. We started with the spring rolls which were very tasty. Our main dishes were the scallops and tuna tartare. The scallops dish was a little light on the portions with only 4 scallops, while the portions for the tuna dish were just right for my date.
The manager or owner named Keith came around to check on us and engaged us in some polite small talk. He was seeking a partner for a fishing weekend in NJ and overheard me talking to my date about swordfish. Very nice guy. Our waitress was utterly efficient and polite as well. We had a very pleasant experience. Definitely recommend."
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 3/04/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Dish+drinks was a pleasant surprise tucked away in The River Inn it seemed a little unassuming. If I were honest I would say our expectations were not that high but we enjoy trying new places in the DMV area. Upon arriving we received a warm welcome from the host and from that point on the service was exceptional. The place was not packed (half full) but I did notice that everyone was eating with a smile which is always a good omen.
We ordered the wedge salad, frisée salad, scallops, pork chops, Apple beignets and the flourless chocolate cake. Needless to say we walked alway very full but with a smile on our face. The culinary highlight of the night was definitely the scallop dish with a risotto that was "creamily" delicious. Having spent some time in Louisiana I was weary of trying the beignet dish as it never seems quite right anywhere outside Louisiana (in the States); however this Dish dish was a great take on the classic beignet. It's not your traditional fluffy pastry but you definitely get a ton of the beignet flavor.
A review wouldn't be complete without discussing the experience of the cocktails; after all this place is called Dish+drinks. We ordered an old fashioned and a gin based "blossom" drink (can't recall the full title). Both were done well with a little twist. We always order an old fashioned as a general barometer for a bartender and this one was definitely above average with a twist blood orange that kicked it up a notch.
Lastly our server was great, honest and funny. She really tied the night together and made it an enjoyable experience. Overall, this place is a low key but worth a visit or two. With so many places to try in the DMV area it's hard to revisit restaurants but this spot will be seen again by this guy."
Dined on 3/04/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/27/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

First timers, great surprise!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We changed our reservation from Blue Duck Tavern to DISH+ when we looked at the menus and decided we wanted something not quite so eclectic. And so happy we did! The service and food were excellent (shout out to Miram, best waitress ever!) and the value is the best in DC.
Loved that we could talk and hear each other and didn't have people tripping all over us at our table. We all ordered something different and all were excellent. Great little neighborhood gem and we will definitely be back!
"
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Swordfish Dish

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Really enjoyed the swordfish special. This is a go-to restaurant for Kennedy Center patrons."
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner before the show

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Dish and drinks came recommended by a friend and was walking distance to the Kennedy Center in which we were attending a show. The food was delicious especially the seared tuna entree."
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Days Gone By At DISH

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I haven't been to DISH for about two years, but had Kennedy Center tickets and knew DISH would be convenient. I had dined there several times in the past and found that the food, service, and atmosphere met my expectations- that's why I kept returning, I thought it was very nice, cozy and delightful restaurant. This time was a different matter.
First, when I called the restaurant several times during its open hours to confirm my Open Table reservation, my call was never answered, even after allowing about 15 rings each time. I finally called Riverside Inn's front desk, that answered promptly and confirmed my reservation.
Upon arriving, after a few minutes a woman approached with a "what are you doing here" attitude. I mentioned I had a 5:30 reservation for 3. She gazed around the small restaurant to locate a table and told us to sit "there". She displayed a complete lack charm and no pleasure that we were dining there. (During our entire time we there she appeared to serve no useful function, mostly hanging out at the back of the restaurant, like some sort of specter).
DISH seemed to be at loose ends our entire stay. All table service appeared to fall on one fellow, Kevin, who tried his best to accommodate us, but it appeared he had little assistance (certainly NOT from the previously mentioned specter-woman). How can one person manage everything, especially when chaos seemed to reign? To add to the confusion, I was told that DISH's computer system was down all day and just coming to life.
I ordered steak frite (I decided something straight-forward was the way to go, lest I tax the kitchen's fortitude). The steak and fries were OK. The side salad appeared to be lacking dressing. What I imagined was supposed to be bernaise sauce was tepid and without any flavor what-so-ever.
I mourn the DISH of yore, because it's current incarnation foretells a very bleak future indeed."
Dined on 2/23/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2016
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Review

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The food as usual was delicious and the service friendly and helpful. The frisee salad was new. The scallops I had before since I always like them. The Spanish wine was also good. Noise was a bit high."
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food nice host"
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/18/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for DISH+drinks
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/16/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>