Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Blue Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Blue

Blue is comfortably located close to home in the North Hills at Duncan Manor Plaza. Blue features fine dining cuisine in a unique upscale, relaxed atmosphere. Whether you choose the Chilean Sea Bass or the Filet Mignon, our menu is sure to please anyone's palette. Blue offers a full bar with over 40 vodkas to compliment an extensive martini list. The wine menu is comprised of special order wines to compliment your dining experience. We feature Pittsburgh's finest jazz Divas, including Etta Cox and Michelle Benson to name a few, live on Tuesday evenings starting at 8:00 p.m. Happy Hour is offered Tuesday through Saturday from 5:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m.
51 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(51 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 51 reviews
5 stars
(18)
4 stars
(28)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(33)
  • fit for foodies(26)
  • special occasion(22)
  • vibrant bar scene(20)
  • good for groups(10)
  • romantic(9)
Blue Reviews List
Review 1 for Blue
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2013
 2013
Dined on 2/05/2013
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food and cosmos."
Dined on 2/05/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Blue
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2014
 2011
Dined on 8/21/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/21/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/30/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Surprising!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Who would have thunk it, to experience such good food in a very unassuming hole in the wall in a out of the way suburban strip mall! But the crabcakes were special!!"
Dined on 3/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Blue is a fantastic place to dine!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food is really good. Fun choice of Martinis. It is located in a strip mall but you would never know that once you are in the restaurant. Will definitely go to Blue again."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

blue because Blue is going away

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"sad to hear that Blue was sold and the venue is going to be remade. Always had a great experience here. Hope they don't ruin it"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Blue
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Blue leaves disappointed diners feeling blue

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"What happened to the delightful restaurant with food so good I complemented the chef? Blue is great if you are looking for mediocre restaurant food with a noisy bar scene with people shouting and music blaring so you have hard time hearing the person across the table from you in the adjacent restaurant area. Noise is loud even on upper level.
Scallops in appetizer weren't properly cooked, filet mignon ordered medium was deep red rare and sent back. Shrimp bisque and mushroom risotto were mediocre.
Went there on Friday evening with a reservation at 6:15 pm to be given a table next to the bar which was packed and noisy for happy hour while many tables were empty. When requested they moved us to the upper level next to the window and door saying the other tables weren't available even though they were empty. Both of us were cold the entire evening from frigid air coming from the uncovered window and door next to our table for 2. When tables for four were taken much later they had party of 2 same as us - not clear why some customers are more valuable than others.
During our meal men were shouting near the fireplace to the point a waitress asked them to be quiet but they kept shouting. When we left after dessert the music was blaring so loud we could hear it from our cars in the middle of the parking lot.
Blue has changed from the delightful experience with great food I had eating here a couple of years ago. Recommend only for a bar crowd who want a noisy happy hour that goes late into the night."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Blue
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Always a delicious meal! Kim is a terrific bartender and Alaina and the other servers are all so professional and great! Blue is our go to spot. Great happy hour and tasty duck!"
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Birthday dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I took my wife to Blue for her birthday. We started out with some great Martini's. For our appetizer the flatbread was very good. Salad was nothing spectacular. Entrees were good and desert even better. We will go back again."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

nice seating, good food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went to blue for our first time for dinner. We were able to get very romantic seats by the fire place and our server, Asia, even moved a table over for us when our food came. I was disappointed they were out of filets, and settled for the NY strip. Unfortunately, I had to send it back for being overcooked. Other than that, the food was really good. Highly recommend the flatbread to start. Great place to go for happy hour also."
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Overall Pleased

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I had been to the bar at Blue a couple of times before, but had never formally dined here. We decided to go here on New Years eve so it was a special limited menu which we at first were a little disappointed by, but the foold was excellent, the service was great, and the portions fit the price. Great martini and wine selection as well"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always friendly and ,food is great

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is our favorite go to for good food. Salmon, tuna, chili an sea bass, and we love the caprise salad with figs.the bar staff are all attended . They also send a coupon in the mail that makes it nice"
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food but slow service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Blue is really cute, conveniently located (for us), and the food is excellent. My only complaint is that we waited 45 minutes to place our entree order. We were at the restaurant far longer expected, but the food made it worth the wait."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

excellent off the path place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've gone here twice now. The food is absolutely great. It's a small place which I prefer. I hope it stays a hidden gem"
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Blue
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great dinner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Excellent food! Excellent service! Bar area is on the side of the dining room so it is loud. Great martinis!"
Dined on 12/02/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Blue
Based on the average of (34) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
32 out of 32 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic