Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC Reviews List

Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC

As sleek as a 1930s ocean liner, yet as relaxed as a dinner on the shore, the Oceanaire provides the perfect setting to enjoy Ultra-Fresh seafood, flown in daily from around the world. Sip a Sidecar in the lounge, sidle up to the oyster bar, or kick back in a horseshoe booth before diving into a sea of Ultra-Fresh fish, including steak-cut Alaskan halibut, seasonal favorites like fresh Copper River salmon or hard-to-find delicacies like true Dover sole or bluefin tuna. Our daily-printed menu will guide you, a wine list as deep as the sea will seduce you, and the world's freshest seafood awaits you at the Oceanaire. See you soon.
See more Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC details
1026 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(1,026 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 1,026 reviews
5 stars
(560)
4 stars
(322)
3 stars
(95)
2 stars
(29)
1 star
(20)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(524)
  • fit for foodies(362)
  • good for groups(332)
  • romantic(318)
  • notable wine list(227)
  • great for lunch(178)
Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC Reviews List
Review 1 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing oysters and great suggestions

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Our waiter was great, but the speed of the meal was a tad slow. Definitely worth the money. Everything was very fresh and amazingly tastey.
The oysters were notably some of the best I've ever had. They were the perfect size and abriny. A good suggestion from the waiter. We will definitely return!"
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, service rushed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I would recommend Oceanaire for the food, not necessarily for the ambiance or the service. I think the calamari appetizer and the lobster mac and cheese side dish were overpriced considering that there was hardly any calamari, but lots of tortilla chips, and there was very little lobster in the mac and cheese. However, what little calamari we had was very good (although extremely hot), as was the mac and cheese. And the main dishes were also excellent (crab cakes, caesar salad w/salmon, Oceanaire burger). Because there were hardly any diners for lunch at that time, the dining room wasn't noisy, but the room was too dark--we could hardly read our menus. And the service was disappointing, very rushed when the waiter stopped by our table, but a long wait for our meal. The service has been better during past visits."
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

good food but terrible service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"took colleagues to Oceanaire recently as I have been before and enjoyed it. the ambience of the restaurant is lovely although we were seated at a table close to the door, so that everytime someone came or went we were blasted with cold air, this despite there being many others tables we could have been seated at. the food was excellent, but the evening was spoiled by poor service - a broken glass, a dropped wine bottle, an uncomfortable wait for the veg to come after having received the mains, an inability to divide the bill between 5 properly, and the failure by the server to organise a taxi, despite being asked twice - we therefore had to hang around awkwardly as the last remaining customers. Had the process of payment not been so painful and slow, we would have cancelled the tip."
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2016
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

The service was spectacular

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The waiter knew the menu through and through. he provided great suggestions which were outstanding. I personally don't like grits but the shrimp that came with the shrimp and grits were great. clam chowder with bacon was excellent. Key lime pie is a definite get again dessert."
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

First Impression was Deceptive

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We took a friend here for her birthday and although it started off great for our 6:00pm reservation things went down hill. The appetizers were brought out at different times which wasn't a big deal until they did it again with dessert and knowing it was our guest's birthday - there was no candle and I gave her my dessert because hers was the last to arrive at the table. We witnessed HUGE groups being escorted in after we arrived so I imagine the waiters were in the weeds. But, they charged us for 3 bottles of wine vs. 3 glasses - they did apologize, but it was embarrassing to question the bill with a guest and the service felt sloppy at best."
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We took my mom to oceanaire to celebrate her birthday with the hopes of this place redeeming itself from two prior horrible occasions within less than two months, and needless to say we were disappointed! Everytime we come to Oceanaire the service is horrible and the staff is rude and extremely vague. The customer service is the worst that we have experienced in any fine dining restaurant, and my fiancé and I indulge in fine dining at least once a week. We love the Orlando location, but we will never go back to the DC location, because we are always disappointed. Long wait times, inattentive waiters, rudeness, and the lack of common courtesy that you get from a nicer restaurant are just a few of the reasons why we won't be back at Oceanaire DC."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Happy Camper

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"After I was given a table away from the kitchen, I began to enjoy my experience at Oceanaire. Our waiter Nick was superb- very attentive and could not do enough for us. The crab cake and filet were delicious , along with the Caesar salad. Because I brought some home, I was able to have some later in the week and relived the magic. This was my first time, but it won't be my last time. I have already told others about the experience. My only complaint was that I thought the music choice did not fit this upscale restaurant. More smooth jazz or calming music at a lower volume would be more appropriate and would have enhanced the experience."
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Birthday Celebration Disaster

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Dined at Oceanaire for a birthday celebration. Service started off slow, but understandable as most of our party was running late. However, service never improved. Had to request the waiter bring bread as it was never offered to the table. Ordered the Whites of Winter four pour wine special. Took 30-45 minutes for each pour to arrive after being ordered. Placed first 7 dinner orders around 8pm, requested to speak with a manager at 9:15 as our meal still hadn't arrived. Was told by management (Nathan) there was confusion as the waiter stated he was told to serve all guests at the same time. This request was never made. Additionally, the waiter's excuse was obviously not true as the guests who arrived late, ordered after the original 7 orders were placed, and were served 30 minutes before the original orders were brought to the table. Management did not formally apologize or take any action to alleviate the tension created. Management continued to make excuses on behalf of the restaurant, and alluded to the situation being the customer's fault. Furthermore, upon closing out the tab, the tickets were tallied incorrectly. When we explained what should be on each ticket, management's first response was, "...normally with large groups we do not create separate checks. This is why the checks are not correct." Again, alluding to the idea that the restaurant is doing us a favor by splitting the checks, thus exasperating an already disgruntled mood. Concluding, the birthday woman and guests arrived in a mood of celebration, and left feeling cheated out of a good time, umpteen $s wasted, and frustrated from the lack of the restaurant's effort to remedy the situation. In a service oriented industry, management should try everything possible to restore a relaxing, enjoyable atmosphere to every extent possible regardless of fault/confusion. This did not happen."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Went during restaurant week

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My only compliant is we went during restaurant week and we had reservation at 7:45 pm and we were not seated for over an hour. Normally we would have left but we had paid for valet parking and decided to make the best of it."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Valet Lost My Car!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Food and service INSIDE the restaurant was great. Outside, another story. Valet first said it would take 10-15 mins to retrieve our car. After 30 minutes, we were still waiting. Also, we are suspecting valet took a joy ride as we have an app that operates are car that shows it was never parked nor turned off. Valet weren't trying to be understanding and actually laughed in my Fiance's face until the Restaurant Manager came outside to check on the situation. A total joke. We had to wait a total of 45 minutes to retrieve our car which was down on gas. Valet of course takes no responsibility and all the manager did was take our name and phone number down. After spending $300 at that restaurant for dinner, we should not have had to go through what we went through outside. This restaurant was on the verge of becoming our favorite (love the lobster thermidor and lobster mac and cheese) but we will no longer be patrons at the DC location. If you go, DON'T UTILIZE VALET. Or pay extra to park your car in front of the restaurant."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of the best in DC

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I took my wife to dinner at Oceanaire before a play at the Ford's Theatre and it was one of the best dining experiences I can recall. This restaurant has first rate service and amazing food. Truly outstanding!"
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good But

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We very much enjoyed the service and the food, but wish the music level was lower and not pop. It made it hard to converse and was not good background music."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2005
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Never Miss the Chance

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We never miss an opportunity to go to Oceanaire! Our waitress, V, was amazing. She was responsive, knowledgable and friendly. Plus, she remembered us from our August visit for my birthday! The food was really great and the service is impeccable. We had the baramundi which is mild and flaky. It was great. We also had dessert which is so hard to choose and HUGE! The mango sorbet is enough for two and the cheesecake was delicious."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

resturant week

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"this was a good experience but for the money you pay the ambiance should be better!!!"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Embarrassed by the poor food quality

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I was entertaining customers and frankly was surprised and embarrassed that the food quality has declined. Three of the four of us ordered the restaurant week menu so portion size was expected to be a bit smaller, but one of the four guests ordered off of the menu, however she was served a very small portion of Sea Bass for the price paid of $43 dollars...shouldn't have been served a restaurant week sized portion...unacceptable! The Lobster Mac & Cheese only had one piece of lobster in it and the cheese sauce was very thin and watery...weak at best. My swordfish was overcooked and very dry...this type of fish is dry to begin with, but when overcooked can tend to be leathery. One guest didn't send her salmon back, but mentioned that it was too undercooked. One guest ordered decaf coffee and it was served cold...the waiter apologized and said it was the bottom of the pot so he would make a fresh pot and bring a new cup out...he should have done this before bringing out the cold cup of decaf to begin with. On a good note, the service personnel kept the water glasses full and the used plates where quickly removed from the table, but they could have been trying to quickly turn the table since the restaurant was packed for the Saturday evening rush and we were a 6pm reservation. The key lime pie was not key lime pie, but a key lime chiffon pie and I wouldn't have ordered it had known it wasn't the real thing. One guest ordered the chocolate cake ($13 overpriced) as a separate dessert, but the cake was extremely dry...the caramel sauce was poured over the cake by the waiter, but should have been left at the table for the guest to manage on their own and the frosting should have been caramel frosting which would have provided a better product. Have to say that I'll have to think seriously about ever returning...I was underwhelmed and for paying over $300 this is not how it's supposed to be."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Splendid Ambiance!!! Delicious cuisine!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The ambiance is strikingly stunning! Delicious foods and wines to soothe any palate. The staff is exceptionally knowledgeable, courteous, and professional. A great place to dine for an occasion of date night or night on the town of fine seafood."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
Special Features: great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Awesome experience as usual.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a wonderful evening. I had been to Joe's in Miami and Chicago. I didn't know that Joe's had opened a restaurant in DC until I was looking for a restaurant for a special weekend.
By mistake someone had taken our table as we were walking to the dining room. When we were seated I looked around a couple of times. The gentleman who seated us came and ask if we would prefer a booth. We didn't want to be difficult and said it was not necessary. He insisted.
If you can request a server we would recommend Oscar Travillian. He was exceptionally nice, helpful and thoughtful. He took his time and explained the menu. My wife enjoyed her Manhattan and I enjoyed several glasses of Albariño (Spanish.) Since my wife had never had stone crabs!we started with some great stone crabs.
Had more questions about the entrees and he kindly answered our questions and offered his thoughts. We noticed that Joe's have their own recipe for the croutons in the Caesar Salad. They were particularly light. I normally do not eat the croutons but these added to a great Caesar Salad. The Sea Bass and the Branzino were both wonderful.
I might add that the young busboy from Honduras was thoughtful and attentive but not overboard.
We normally do not eat dessert but after looking at the menu he mentioned that the staff's favorite was Dream Pie. We can see why. It was delicious.
The entire evening was wonderful and we look forward to another great experience when we return to DC.
"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect Pairing Outstanding

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We decided to select the Perfect Pairing rather than the Restaurant Week selections, and it was definitely worth the extra money! The horse radish sauce was absolutely amazing, as was the crab cake and key lime pie!!"
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Our Waiter was excellent

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Oceanaire Seafood Room - DC
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/29/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>