Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Imperia Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Imperia

Complemented by elaborate chandeliers, provocative murals, onyx stone panels and a golden Buddha statue, the restaurant's deep reds and dark woods bring to mind the pomp and polish of an imagined Hong Kong supper club. But the warm and friendly staff is purely Austin. Despite excessively dark corners, pristine padded booths and high-backed leather chairs, the pretty staff dispels any notion of caste systems with their conversation and genuine enthusiasm for the menu.

Complex and flavorful dishes, such as firecracker shrimp and pork belly steam buns, combine flavors popular in Southeast Asia, Japan, Thailand and other Pacific ports of call. The distinct flavors found in the steak and mushroom dish, sauteed in brown butter and tamari with a lobster zu and seasonal mushrooms, are reason enough to visit. Entrees such as Chilean sea bass glazed in Miso (it melts on your tongue), Peking Duck, and pan seared sea scallops are available for those seeking a full meal.
52 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(52 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
(16)
4 stars
(14)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(7)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(17)
  • fit for foodies(15)
  • good for groups(14)
  • special occasion(13)
  • hot spot(6)
  • neighborhood gem(6)
Imperia Reviews List
Review 1 for Imperia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Imperia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2011
 2008
Dined on 2/04/2011
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/04/2011
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Imperia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/14/2012
 2008
Dined on 4/14/2012
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/14/2012
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Imperia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Imperia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Imperia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Need more Gluten Free options.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We walked out after seeing lack of GF options. Makio around the corner has a huge GF menuwith dessert and clearly marked items."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Imperia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food bad interior

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good was good but interior was worn out and gross. If that's what the dining room looks like what does the kitchen look like? The bar area was nicer but that's a different place called Bambu."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Imperia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2014
 2012
Dined on 10/02/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/02/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Imperia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Imperia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Imperia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Mediocre

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My boyfriend has been here before, but based on our experience it has for way downhill. The sushi was only average, not bad... But not the sushi experience we hoped for. The service was incredibly slow... Even though there were only two other tables seated when we arrived. Our friend ordered a drink that tasted like dymatap... None of us could drink it. We recommend you go elsewhere"
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Imperia
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Imperia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very Special Specials from the Chef

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Was here for a business dinner and our delightful waiter put us on to two specials - pork medallions with bok choy on top of pureed sweet potatoes with blueberry reduction and a leek bread pudding. Both were absolutely delicious.
Cold sakes struck us a bit pricey but we enjoyed a nice warm sake with our meal."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Imperia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food!, Great service!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our waiter was excellent and knew the menu in and out. He suggested items and helped us pick out what was best, we definitely got our moneys worth!
The food was delicious and generously portioned with a reasonable price!
"
Dined on 4/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Imperia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

terrible service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"the server was terrible. we made future reservations for a birthday celebration, only had 6 people and he rushed us to order and then disappeared. he never filled any of our water glasses and it took 20 minutes for us to get our cocktails and shots. we were willing to pay a good gratuity until we saw it was already included and he never actually waited on us. he was too busy going to the bar to chat w other guests. we were the only table dining. absolute awful experience."
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Imperia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Imperia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mark Allen

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2010
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our dinner was fantastic. However, our server really made the dining experience perfect. Campbell is his name and he was very knowledgeable about the dishes. We eventually turned it all over to him and he and the chef prepared us dishes that weren't on the menu."
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Imperia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Order off menu rolls. Wait staff is awesome. Not crowded mid week. Couches to seat group of 6 or so."
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Imperia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food -- Great service!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We enjoyed a wonderful anniversary meal at Imperia! We chose to sit at the bar instead of an intimate table and I'm glad we did. The sushi chefs were helpful and friendly. They were quick to offer suggestions and put together special treats for us. Overall a delightful experience!"
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Imperia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very nice for dinner and sushi

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Gorgeous interior, felt very romantic. Food was amazing. Waitstaff was very attentive and awesome."
Dined on 4/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Imperia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

awesome dinner experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"went out for a girly night with my MIL and SIL. We got Brie as our server and she was WONDERFUL. Really knowledgeable, very friendly, and willing to work around my MIL's pretty severe shellfish allergy. We ordered a bunch of rolls but the best of the night were the Hot Mess and the Red Devil. Will be coming back again!"
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Imperia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dissapointed twice

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"So I have been here before, and I remember the food being good, so I decided to return. I made reservations for 02/09/15 for 9:45 and drove all the way down there to find the place was closed. Now I could of made sure they were open on Mondays but then again why would OpenTable let me make a reservation for that day if the place is closed on Mondays. Disappointing. So then we went back on a Sunday, which I made a reservation for a special occasion again through OpenTable, adding special notes of what we were celebrating to make it special. So when arriving I let the host know I had a reservation and she said it did not matter, and there was maybe a family of 3 by the door, leaving me to believe they do not need reservations and had not looked once at any notes I left. So yes the food was good, and being the only couple in there I would expect the waiter to be so attendant as he was, but not the best experience I have had."
Dined on 2/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Imperia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Horrible service - NO waitstaff! Awful!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"very disappointing! After being seated, no one came to take our order. Not even to stop by and introduce themselves and explain "we are very busy, I'll be right it's you". I find this unacceptable since we made a reservation and arrived early.
After 15 minutes of absolutely NO contact, we left!
"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Imperia
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

q's views

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Restaurant was great loved happy hr and rangoons! Server kai was cool food came pretty quick and was delish. Only drawback wish that cocktails were more blended i rather taste the flavors than alcohol alone."
Dined on 2/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Imperia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Uninspired

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I'm used to sushi/sashimi restaurants like this having creative, original dishes. The tuna sashimi tasted like really good tuna in soy sauce, and the cajun sushi roll tasted like a bland california roll with a lot of cayenne pepper on it. Just the pepper sprinkled over it. The crab couldn't be tasted. The cajun roll at How Do You Roll is much tastier."
Dined on 2/03/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Imperia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Dined for 2 people on a Saturday night. Everything started great - then noticed multiple large tables sitting at once and went downhill from there. Our server was great but was overwhelmed, not his fault. No sight or contact from management. The food was amazing - had to wait quite a while for rolls (were out of the first one we ordered unfortunately) but the devil and mango roll were delicious. Waited 15min to have check given to us. Maybe we caught them on a random understaffed Saturday- too bad; we really wanted to love this place. The food is great though- maybe try a week night."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Imperia
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

So So

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2005
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2005
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Arrived at 6pm - only 2 other tables. Server was friendly and talkative - good suggestions. But they were out of 3 separate items on the menu, including anything with tempura shrimp (fryer was out?). Took about 20 minutes to get the check too. Better spots in town for this type of cuisine."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Imperia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Friday Dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The noise level was distractin but that is not a reflection of the resturant itself. It was beautiful and the sushi was awesome. My waitress was super smiley and happy to accomodate any request. I will go back."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Imperia
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Everything was wonderful! The ambience was great and the food Fantastic!"
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Imperia
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Wasn't even open

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I made a reservation through open table (the only option at the time on the website) for a Monday night and it wasn't open when we arrived. It looks like I wasn't the only one who encountered this, and it appears that the hours have been since added due to another poor review. I even tried to call the next day and wasn't able to get through. I have enjoyed this restaurant in the past, but after this it'll be a while before I try to go back."
Dined on 11/24/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Imperia
Based on the average of (22) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
12 out of 19 recommend this product
Food 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Service 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic