Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury

It was just two short years after the opening of Carmen Anthony Steakhouse that our beautiful Carmen Anthony Fishhouse opened in historic Woodbury. Born of our legendary commitment to excellence, we are known for our fresh-only fish in nearly endless variety, and live Maine lobsters up to 5 pounds, cooked to perfection. We also feature a superior wine list and the same superb customer service that all Carmen Anthony Restaurants are known for. Year after year, all Carmen Anthony wine lists are awarded the prestigious “Award of Excellence” by Wine Spectator Magazine. The readers of Connecticut Magazine declare us among their numerous awards, “Connecticut’s Best Clam Chowder," “Connecticut’s Best Crab Cake” and "Best Seafood in Litchfield County."
66 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(66 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 66 reviews
5 stars
(33)
4 stars
(24)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(44)
  • notable wine list(28)
  • romantic(26)
  • good for groups(21)
  • fit for foodies(19)
  • neighborhood gem(12)
Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury Reviews List
Review 1 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/18/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Sea bass & Lobster fra diabola were both delicious but later lacked lobster. Drinks were good.
Desserts & coffee fabulous!.
"
Dined on 6/17/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2015
Special Features: notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

First Time Dining

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife and I went there for the first time and had a great meal. The service was awesome as well.
We will definitely be going back.
"
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good. Used to be better.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice restaurant. But a little inconsistent. First, the name implies a seafood orientation. And we did enjoy a decent hot seafood appetizer - but the actual fish offerings on the menu were limited, and there were NO seafood entree specials. The restaurant offers a lot of steak, however there in NO Strip Sirloin on the menu. Several variations of filet, but no NY Strip? My grilled prime rib was ruined by a distinct taste of propane. One of the sides, creamed spinach resembled cream of spinach soup more than this steakhouse staple. Service was efficient. One last positive: the restaurant was offering a 50% off special on all bottles of wine. Inclusive of the discount, the wines were a bargain."
Dined on 5/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always Satisfying

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Whether you want an elegant full course meal or a quick but fulfilling bite, this is the place. Our favorites are their burgers with gorgonzola and their lobster rolls. Both to die for. All of their fish is superb as well. Great desserts and excellent wine list. We have never been disappointed here."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

GREAT. Wonderful. Friendly. Great ambiance.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

birthday

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I treated my daughter for her birthday this past week and we had a great time. The food was heavenly, our staff was positive and attentive. I was so happy to be able to spend quality time with my adult daughter. Thank you."
Dined on 5/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was good but not fantastic. Would go again. The wait staff is exceptional which makes dining there a big plus."
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Reservations Please!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My dining experience (food wise) was very good except for one thing. They could not find my reservation from Open Table. This may have affected where I ended up being seated."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My wife and I took our son and his wife to CAR for her birthday. We had a great time, Enjoyed the food and wine. We look forward to coming back soon. Thanks for a awesome evening."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been patrons for many years. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, and Carmen, as always, the perfect host. Justin, our server, was pleasant and very attentive. For our main course, we had the filet aragosta and prime rib which was perfectly prepared. All in all, a very good experience."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Mother's Day fiasco. The special menu was not a lunch or brunch offering just certain of the more expensive dinner entrees from the regular menu. No idea what happened to our original waitress-ended up with a second server and was kept waiting. Our lunch was far too expensive in dollars and time- 2.5 hrs. Unusual experience as this restaurant has always been more than worth it. Definitely an off day."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2013
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect Evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came here with my family for my Graduation dinner. Made my reservation via OpenTable phone app. We were 30 minute early but were immediately seated. Ordered a bottle of sparkling, entrees, and dessert. Everything was phenomenal including the service. My only piece of constructive criticism is that there are spots in the booths that are really hard to sit in. I know it is expensive but maybe redoing the benches would be added benefit. Other than that everything was AWESOME!!"
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2006
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The last ship in the fleet is sinking quickly....

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We are long time fans of Carmen Anthony restaurants. Our home base was the New Haven site. Food, ambiance, and service were always outstanding. I have entertained many clients there and my wife and friends have enjoyed the experiences that we have had. I received a gift certificate to the New Haven spot and was about to use it when it closed. Last Saturday, we met four friends at the Woodbury location for dinner. My wife and I arrived early to have much needed cocktails. My wife asked the bartender for a Martini and told him that she does not like them sweet. She likes it tart. The drink came with the glass rimmed in sugar and an overly sweet flavor that she could not drink. It took us almost 15 minutes to get the bartender's attention and my wife suggested that a glass of wine would simplify the process. He gave her a taste of one that she did not like and then we waited almost 10 minutes for him to give her a glass of the Carmen Anthony wine by the glass. Not very good, and she wanted to leave the bar and sit at our table. A nice waiter showed up and we explained that we were waiting for 4 friends to join us. He immediately placed a plate of hot bread on the table....a bit early since our friends had not arrived. When they arrived we ordered drinks and it took over 20 minutes to have them served. Appetizers were good and the food was good. I had the stuffed shrimp. The shrimps were shrimps, and I think that for the price they should have been larger. An Idaho potato costs $7.95.... I needed fries with my stuffed shrimp so I splurged and spent $8.95 on a handful of very nice fries. The drinks, appetizers, and meal without dessert took 2 1/4" painful hours. During that time we did not see much of our waiter so some people wanted second drinks and could not order them. You cannot survive in the restaurant business by charging ridiculously high prices and not delivering the experience that is required to sustain a reputation."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful evening at Carmen Anthony's

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We celebrated our son's birthday at Carmen Anthony' s Fishhouse on a Thursday night. The scene was vibrant. Our server, Liz, was excellent and the food was outstanding! Carmen greeted us and because it was my son's birthday, 35, he sent dessert over to the table. It could not have been a better night!"
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Friday night dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I made a reservation a few days earlier through open table and when we arrived, we were seated in an awkward 4 top in the corner. We asked our waitress to move to a move and she happily obliged and told us that a piano is normally in that corner and she thought it was kind of a weird spot too. We were given some delicious warm rolls right away and I started with the cannoli martini, it was ok but too sweet, I later tried the espresso and that was fantastic.
For an appetizer, we split the French onion soup-it was good, nothing to rave about.
Then for dinner my boyfriend ordered the surf and turf and I ordered the sea bass. Not until we received our check was then when we realized the surf and turf was $59 but he didn't think the stuffed lobster tail was very good and probably wouldn't have ordered it again. My sea bass was just ok, no taste very bland. The asparagus risotto that came with it was much tastier and that was $36. I usually order the sea bass entree from another restaurant that I really enjoy and it's about $10-12 cheaper there.
Lastly for dessert, we ordered the bread pudding and that was amazing especially for two people that never really liked bread pudding before!
Our server was very good!!!
I don't think I'd recommend this restaurant, maybe for apps and drinks. We went because we had a gift certificate and wanted to use it if by chance this location closes down too."
Dined on 4/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

The food was nothing to brag about .

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was nothing to brag about for a up scale restaurant.The service was one of the worse I ever received in any restaurant. Was seated as soon as we walk in,but didnt get any kind of service for 25 minutes after we were seated not even our water glass filled almost was going to walk out but we travel about 26 miles to get there so we stayed. No wonder they had to closed all there other restaurants if they run them like this one."
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

outstanding

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had the best experience dining here and was very impressed. We'll definitely return for other occasions."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent food and service, as always. Lovely place for quiet dinner with someone special."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Definitely not enough choices on the lunch menu. Might try it for dinner at another time"
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Favorite local restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The perfect place for romantic dinner for two. Love the background music in the lounge side. Great wine list & a very personable friendly staff. Have been over a dozen times & every meal has been excellent."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

rock solid restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Every time I have dinner here I am never disappointed. Go every year for my husbands birthday and our anniversary and we always enjoy a spectacular meal. The waitstaff is both knowledgeable and experienced. Shrimp cocktail, clam chowder, caesar salad do no disappoint. The cajun prime rib and the land and sea platter are amazing. Try the bananas foster for dessert."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good choice for dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Very welcoming restaurant with great staff. Menu leans towards steak and lobster. Ala carte with great choices and specials. Excellent martini. Good wine choices. Larger than average plate quantity. Prime rib and filet were excellent but varied in doneness even though ordered the same. Aggressive pricing compared to other local top end restaurants. $$$$"
Dined on 1/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful Meal!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Baked Stuffed Lobster Tail - The BEST!
Anniversary dinner for 5 - everyone very pleased with their app and dinner choices.
Perfectly prepared Traditional seafood entrees.
"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Never disappointed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I love this place. Their steaks always come out perfectly cooked. Always an excellent meal. The banana caramel chocolate cake was a let down. I will try something else next time."
Dined on 1/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

new years eve

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We've been dining at Carmen Anthony's for years - made it tradition to celebrate NYE and Valentines Day there... food is excellent, ambiance wonderful & service very good most times. On our last visit of 12/31 though, service was terrible. Our server was very nice, just unattentive. Bread was slow to arrive, drinks not addressed until flagged down , main course arrived an hour into seating , dessert was timely but after leaving check ,another 20 minutes passed before returning to pick up check and run my card. My wife and I love this place and will return but will likely cross off our favorite list if service is below par on our next visit , after all it's about the experience as a whole not certain elements of it."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We dined here on New Years Eve as a party of 2 and we enjoyed our food and our server. Our server was very attentive and even though we could tell he was busy he still did a great job. We ordered from the NYE menu and everything was delicious.
I did take away a star though, because we had a 7:30pm reservation and did not get seated until 8:05pm. The answer we got was "We're waiting for tables to leave."
When we arrived at 7:20pm there was one couple other than us there waiting and within 20 minutes the entire waiting room filled with people: all with reservations. The 8pm people were all there waiting before any of the 7:30 people even got seated. By 8pm only one couple with 7:30 reservations were seated. Seems that the restaurant over booked their time slots. I can't imagine the 8pm reservations even sat down until 9pm.
Maybe next time if I want to eat at a certain time I'll just make my reservation for a half hour earlier."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"decore is a little outdated. The food overall is good, but couldn't say that it was outstanding. Waitress was awesome."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Inconsistent Food Preparation

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I dined twice at this restaurant during the past 2 weeks. Both times I ordered standard menu items, a Campagna Salad and the Seared Sesame Tuna with Asian Slaw. The first experience was 5 star in every way; salad was perfectly dressed, the presentation of the tuna was as though an artist had plated it, and the Asian Slaw was crisp and flavorful. Had the first dining experience not been so satisfying I would not have ordered the exact same menu items when dining there 10 days later. During the second dining experience I was served an overdressed salad, a less impressive looking entree, and a soggy Asian Slaw that was so spicy it was almost inedible. The slaw had so much liquid in it that it covered the entire bottom of the entree plate including the tuna. It was a disappointing dining experience the second time around, even my husband didn't finish his rib eye steak due the amount of gristle it contained. One would expect that with the prices Carmen Anthony charges there would be consistency in the quality of the food and its preparation."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Pleasantly surprised

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Attentive service, not overly bearing. Good selection of entrees. Everything nicely presented and prepared to order.
Monster desserts! Thoughtfully complimenting wine list.
"
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Carmen Anthony Fishhouse of Woodbury
Based on the average of (23) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
22 out of 22 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic