Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

McDonagh's Pub Reviews List

McDonagh's Pub

Located in the Heart of Downtown Historic Keyport in a turn-of-the-century brick building near the bay, McDonagh's pub combines Old-World charm with modern hip cuisine. We offer an amazing menu of Irish Fare, bistro-style salads, home-made awesome soups, signature sandwiches, wraps, sautés, thin-crust pizza, fabulous fish and chips, daily specials and over 70 beers and lagers!
See more McDonagh's Pub details
16 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(16 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
(5)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(9)
  • good for groups(6)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • great for lunch(4)
  • great for outdoor dining(3)
  • late-night find(3)
McDonagh's Pub Reviews List
Review 1 for McDonagh's Pub
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for McDonagh's Pub
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for McDonagh's Pub
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for McDonagh's Pub
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great atmosphere

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Place was very clean service was very good waiter was very friendly and helpful with menu decesion restaurant was very clean and food was very good"
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for McDonagh's Pub
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for McDonagh's Pub
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for McDonagh's Pub
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2009
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great pub atmosphere! Food was very good bar food. Service was quick and friendly. When we asked for extra sauces and dips it was no problem and they came quickly!"
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for McDonagh's Pub
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for McDonagh's Pub
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The comfort of comfort food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"If you are looking for comfort food then this is the place to be. We had the Philly Cheesesteak Mac & Cheese that was AMAZING! We also did the Pulled Pork Egg Rolls as well as the Corned Beef Egg Rolls, none of which disappointed. They had live music which was really loud but good and I highly recommend the Summer Sangria too."
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for McDonagh's Pub
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/25/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for McDonagh's Pub
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food, not so good service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was very good and it is always very good. This time the service was not so good. When we were seated by the hostess we were not given menus. We sat for about 10 minutes before my son asked her for menus. Although it was not crowded the service was slow. My son and one of my daughters were served their meals and myself, my wife and other daughter had to wait almost 15 more minutes for our food. I requested to speak to a manager twice before he came out to see us. He was very apologetic and explained there was a problem with our order. He did come out again later and took $30 off my bill. I appreciated that very much but just wished the waiter would have come out sooner and explained to us that there was a problem from the beginning and not had us sit there not knowing what was happening."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for McDonagh's Pub
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
5 out of 5 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
3.2 / 3
Energetic