Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

BIN 38 Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

BIN 38

Experience a whole new world of wine at BIN 38 Wine Bar & Restaurant. Enjoy small production wines and exotic beers from around the globe, a full kitchen serving locally sourced contemporary American cuisine and a spacious heated and tented patio. OpenTable diners named BIN 38 one of the Top 50 Wine Lists in the United States and #1 in San Francisco.

65 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(65 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 65 reviews
5 stars
(24)
4 stars
(20)
3 stars
(17)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for outdoor dining(22)
  • notable wine list(19)
  • good for groups(18)
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • romantic(16)
  • fit for foodies(15)
BIN 38 Reviews List
Review 1 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/10/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/29/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/19/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good food with an interesting wine list. Love the back rooms and the outdoor patio in the back!"
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Plan where to go to dinner after dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Happening atmosphere, great tasting food, good quality, but the portions are so small you don't have to worry about take home. We had scalloops, the pork chop, shared an appetizer, a salad and desert which at most restaurants is plenty, there were only two smallish scallops for $26 and the pork chop seemed to be from a fetal pig."
Dined on 3/13/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

This remains my favorite restaurant.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Bin38 is amazing. When you go, ask to have the wine pairings. Shared the dishes and the wine with another person and it works out great. Always have an even number in your group so you can do this. The place has great ambiance and the wait help is always always pleasant. They make you feel welcome."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nice But

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"While the location is very nice, the selections are to limited and prices seem excessive. Also the lighting on the back outdoor patio is not enough."
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Yes great place for wine n foodies.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Huge wine menu.. Small food menu.. Great nice cozy restaurant with wonderful patio seating ..
But surprising that they don't have ICE when I ask ... Cuz I love ice in my water...
"
Dined on 1/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great wine, great food, great ambiance!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2008
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Very much enjoyed BIN 38. It was a Tuesday evening, and my date and I had a wonderful time there. The place was empty, the service was excellent, the wine was fantastic and the food was phenomenal. Highly recommend this place, especially for the wine and appetizers."
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent NYE tasting menu experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My wife & I chose Bin 38 for New Year's Eve & had a great experience. Staff was warm & welcoming. Our server impressed us by recognizing our bottle of Turley zin from across the room. We were happy to discover she was one of the wine directors in charge of the list, and it was clear she was very knowledgeable. The list itself was brief but thoughtfully appointed with quality wines. The sparkling Vovray we chose to begin with was spectacular! For New Year's Eve, the menu was a 3 course tasting with a few choices for each course. The entire meal was very fine. My wife particularly enjoyed the ahi poke over seaweed chips. We would highly recommend Bin 38 to anyone looking for high quality food & wine with great service. With very reasonable price points, it is a great value, especially in a city where it's easy to overspend on food."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

"We're out"

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It seemed like they were out of everything. We asked for recommendations, and instead of directing us to items that they had in-stock, they immediately told us what they were out of. It wasn't a great experience. The food was delicious, but the waitress told us the menu had changed and they were out of a few things, so we didn't really get to eat our first picks. Still, great ambiance in the back by the fire."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

So So

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was so so. Our server was pleasant but could not tell us anything about the food other than the tacos on the menu were not anything like the description in the menu. My husband had the pork chop that was cooked beyond well done. I had the pasta. It was okay. I also had cauliflower that was so over cooked it disintegrated when I touched it with my fork. It also was grossly over spiced and sauced. There was literally twice as much value of sauce than cauliflower. The place has a nice ambiance but no heat and it was quite cold. The little space heater they brought over would turn off after about 20 seconds."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I purchased the prix fixe menu ($50) for New Year's eve. The server did recommend some good red wines which went well with the food . However, the food was a hit and a miss. The appetizers : Tuna tartare , beets and persimmons salad were really good. However, the main course ( steak roast ) could have used some improvement. Even the desserts ( chocolate pie and bread pudding) could have been better. About the service , it was OK . The server on some occasions wasn't sure about the dishes which already made their way to the table and kept on confirming the same with us.
Will give this a place a try on a normal day!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Comfortable atmosphere, really good food!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Loved the quaint, cozy atmosphere, food was really good. Service was friendly, but a bit slow. Also, two change requests (no wheat) were not fulfilled the first time, had to go back to the kitchen.
Overall, I would definitely go back, I loved the flavor and originality of the food, and the comfortable atmosphere.
"
Dined on 12/28/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The only thing that could be better at Bin 38 is the signage out front; it's need lighting! Otherwise, great food, great drinks, great service and great out door seating."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Love Bin 38!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My husband and I came here after purchasing a Livingsocial deal to celebrate our 1 month anniversary. The wine was amazing, the food was to die for (particularly the deviled eggs. I'm normally a fan but these were beyond belief and the best deviled eggs I've ever tasted) and our waitress was cute and friendly. Highly recommend!!!"
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Date Night in SF

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Had only been to Bin 38 for wine tasting before so it was nice to try their menu. Went for an early dinner and had great service and good recommendations for wine pairings based on my tastes. Overall enjoyable experience"
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had the prie fix menu. The beet salad and deviled eggs appetizers were good. For the entrees, the salmon was nicely pan seared and crispy on top. The pork loin was dry, but the brussel sprouts were delicious."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for BIN 38
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Bin 38

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is my favorite restaurant. Great food, wonderful service, great atmosphere.
I have introduced many friends to Bin 38 and they have all been very glad that I did.
The food, the service, the atmosphere - very nice.
"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for BIN 38
Based on the average of (45) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
22 out of 25 recommend this product
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic