Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort Reviews List

MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort

Chef Mark Ellman of Avalon fame and Chef/Owner of Maui Tacos, who also owns the orginal Mala Ocean Tavern in Lahaina, has joined forces with his long time partner Shep Gordon and opened a Southside outpost of Mala. Aptly called Mala Wailea at the Wailea Beach Marriott Resort and Spa Overlooking the Pacific Ocean and the Island of Lanai.

Our delightful restaurant offers stunning sunset vistas over the Pacific – every seat has an ocean view. Chef Sheldon Simeon, finalist and fan favorite on Top Chef Seattle has joined Chef Mark Ellman to continue the Mala tradition of making great food organic, healthy, fresh, and delicious. With an authentic menu of Mediterranean and Pacific Rim cuisine, our beautifully crafted dishes will please the palates of your most revered guests.
See more MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort details
129 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(129 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 129 reviews
5 stars
(29)
4 stars
(35)
3 stars
(36)
2 stars
(22)
1 star
(7)
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2.7 / 5
(Good) 2.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(62)
  • great for outdoor dining(52)
  • special occasion(29)
  • romantic(28)
  • fit for foodies(24)
  • good for groups(17)
MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort Reviews List
Review 1 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2005
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

the Mala in Lahaina is wonderful, this one, not .

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2010
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The sweet potatoes were awesome. The salmon was cooked perfectly. I really enjoyed the entire experience."
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2003
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2003
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We have been to Mala's in Lahini many times and always loved the food, so we booked our reservation on the assumption we were about to have a great meal! Soooo disappointed!! My tuna poke, no flavor, had to ask for chili sauce! My husband ordered the ribs, they had a good sauce but were a chalky dry texture as if they had been reheated too often! I ordered the short ribs, they were also dry, not that beautiful falling apart tender juicy meat that short ribs should be, also the mashed potatoes they were served on were cold. We did tell our server our concerns, just so they could take it back and make improvements. We were not looking for compensation, but they did take our mains off the bill. But we would have rather had a good meal."
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mahalo MaLa. Great food and location.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The staff was very engaged, food was great and the Brussels's sprouts are de-lish. As Phoenicians, we enjoyed seeing pictures of one of the multiple owners, Mr. Furnier (Alice Cooper) that help keep jobs in the Wailea economy. We've long known Mr. Furnier and family have been life long supporters of many charities. We are most happy to be MaLa patrons - rock on :)
Mahalo nui loa,
xo"
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/08/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2005
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 12/26/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Stay away, terrible experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Our family Christmas dinner was booked at the Mala at 7:15pm December 25th and it was beyond disappointing. The salad bar was poorly maintained and we did not have any prime rib or ribs available to us when we went through the buffet. It was loud, and the food that was available was not hot and not good. Our bill was over $500 and we feel that we could have had a far superior meal elsewhere. We mentioned to the staff that we were not happy and they were slightly apologetic, but we will not be back."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Expected More

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Mala's two sister restaurants in Lahaina, which I have been to many times, Hono and Mala, are both excellent with many interesting menu items, reasonable prices and good portion sizes. But Mala Wailea at the Marriott was a big disappointment. I thought the menu was limited and quite expensive. I had an opakapaka (red snapper) dish that was $40 and came with two really small pieces of fish. It was tasty but not enough to eat. I was hungry and asked for some rice and was charged extra for it. There are many other places to eat in South Maui which offer a much better dining experience. Pluses are the view and very good service."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went on Christmas, expecting Mala, not a Marriott Buffet. We have dined at Mala in Lahaina a dozen times and it is always a favorite dinner during our trip. This year we decided to stay in Wailea and saved Mala for our last night. I was furious that we showed up for an awful buffet! My 14 year old attempted to eat practically bleeding prime rib and the rest of us returned to the table with empty plates. The host felt badly (I was furious but nice about it) so he asked the chef to make me an appetizer of the ahi bruschetta off the Mala menu (I mentioned that I have that at the other Mala every time) and my other boys were able to order burgers. It was so nice of them to bring me the bruschetta (and didn't charge me) but it was all I ate so I was hungry. The buffet dessert looked like a Disneyland picked over buffet- yuck. The ambience is a hotel dining room, not the cool restaurant like they have in Lahaina. So sad that if we stick with Wailea instead of the Kaanapali side of the island in the future that We won't be dining at Mala. Our waiter, Zach, and one of the hosts, Tom, were very apologetic that we showed up for the buffet and were very nice about it. The other host could have cared less. Go to mala in Lahaina- it is awesome."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have had better experiences at this restaurant previously. Having that said, the meal we are reviewing was the Christmas buffet. While there was supposed to be a decent selection, what was left was average. By the time they had replaced the ribs and prime rib that was out, (it took approximately 25 minutes) I had moved on to Luke warm Mahi-Mahi lemon and shrimp, crab legs and tuna poke (which was decent) and did not have much of an appetite for much else. My wife and daughter of were less pleased. The salad bar was "run through" and somewhat unkept as was much of the buffet. We had a 7:30 pm reservation. When I mentioned to our server that we were ready for the check and that after waiting in the beef station line unsuccessfully for prime rib - she brought me the check and some prime rib and baabyback ribs. In my mind while it was certainly a nice gesture, it was too little too late as I no longer had an appetite and was ready to leave. Needless to say, no discount off of the $59.95 adult buffet price or $25.00 12 and under price for my daughter.
Would have to seriously consider returning as there are other options equal and better nearby. Meal was below average. Service was barely acceptable (we bussed our own plates to the empty table next to us), price was unfair as we were not given essentially what we had paid for, food average - overall experience - disappointing."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/16/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/01/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/29/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not worth it!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Dined on thanksgiving day and was surprised to find a $60 per person buffet in place of the regular menu. Wish we would have known that prior because we would have dined elsewhere. It was standard cruise ship buffet food but at a crazy high price. What a waste of a dinner especially considering I had picked this restaurant because the regular menu looked amazing!"
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pricey, but good food!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2010
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went there for our last night dinner before our vacation ended. Our server was very attentive, knew his product, and was accommodating, my only complaint was my girlfriend bought gift certificates from Costco with the intention of using them for our dinner. When we went to pay, our server informed us that they were only good for the Lahaina location, the restaurant needs to ensure that this is clearly stated, our server informed us that it happens all the time. More clarification needs to be addressed or include this location as well. Since we were staying near Kihea, we wouldn't have bought the gift certificates and possibly not have gone to the restaurant."
Dined on 11/24/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Captive audience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2007
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is one of two restaurants at the Marriott. The other, Migrant was packed while Mala was dead. That should have been the first clue. The menu was a way too expensive for what it was, even for Maui standards. The wait staff was slow to deliver drinks and the meal.
I hate when a server isn't managing the timing of your order at all. They're not checking on anything, they're taking an order when they probably should be bringing out your food. I've waited tables, I eat out a lot. Smart restaurants have the whole staff watching the quality of the experience. They don't leave a rookie or overextended server to fend for themselves."
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"It is our third time at the restaurant. It never disappoints us. Great food, great ambiance, very attentive service. I would highly recommend this place!"
Dined on 11/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/01/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Kitchen seems to be in trouble.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Everything was extremely slow in place less than half full. Our waitress apologized twice for the delay and the table behind us cancelled their entrees because they couldn't wait. My dinner was OK but my partner's fish was so over cooked it had to be cut with a knife. We will not go back."
Dined on 11/07/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Why watch sunset in peace when u can b tortured

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We hadn't been to Mala in years, but it is restaurant week, and we like to use that opportunity to get out of our dinner routine. Big mistake. Although there were very few diners we were put at a table behind a huge column, not a great sunset spot. Then BOOM on goes the music, 60's metal that I didn't even like in the 60s!! We asked them to turn it down, which they did, for one song. Food marginal and cold. So sad.
I generally avoid negative reviews and go with the 'if you don't have anything nice to say...' But people should not expect a nice Hawaiian experience here, just a money grab
Waiter very nice and I could tell he felt badly re above
"
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2002
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Needs a Seasoned General Manager

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Several things led to this restaurant being a big disappointment:
- Pop music was being played at a school dance level as opposed to an appropriate type and decibel level of music.
- There was a lot of confusion between the Immigrant and the Mala reception desks. Awkward to have Immigrant restaurant fielding Mala customers and sending them to a second reception desk. Why not just one reception desk handling both?
- Staff was easily confused and forgetful. Ordered off the bottled beer menu and had to point to each beer after saying it because the waitress didn't know it. Then she had to come back and ask one of orders again.
- When the beers were brought out, one had overflowed but was still set on the table. Both bottles were set on the table with glasses but the waitress did not pour them.
- Appetizers took forever to come out. I don't think this was a kitchen issue since the table next to us got their appetizers right away.
- Appetizer of fried tofu was covered in so much carrot shavings that we didn't see there was only four small pieces. I accidentally ate three before realizing my husband only got one. Four tofu pieces is ridiculous.
- My husband ordered pickle appetizer, tofu appetizer, and then the grilled veggie plate. The waitress failed to explain that the same veggies were in each of these items. Boring meal.
- Grilled veggie plate should but doesn't include rice. Its just veggies and sauce yet costs $30. Rice would cost an extra $3. We're in Hawaii where rice is served with everything. Go ahead and donate a scoop of rice why don't ya?
- I got the seared ahi. Everything tasted great but I couldn't taste the ahi. The fresh herbs that it was seared with overpowered the Grade A fish. Sad.
- Three red meat options and no poultry options! ???
- The walk between Immigrant and Mala took you past some weird linen and cleaning items pile. Why wasn't this all put away?
If they have a general manager they should be fired. It seems like they just don't and need one
"
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2006
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The meal was just ok.. Nothing special about the fish special! It was served in a bowl, rather than on a plate, which made the portion seem small and hard to eat."
Dined on 10/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/08/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food and atmosphere"
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/02/2015
 2010
Dined on 9/02/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/02/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tasty food. Great drinks. Pleasant service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

DISAPPOINTING

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been to Mala's many times and were shocked to see the disintegration. Poor service--almost 30 minutes till our waiter came to our table. Awful food. We ordered a fish that was inedible. The rest of our selections were merely uninteresting and pedestrian. We will not be going again."
Dined on 8/26/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2005
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Beautiful view. Okay food.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Lovely venue in Marriott Wailea, overlooking ocean. Can sit inside or as we opted, outside. Service and food typical of hotel dining. Nothing bad, nothing exceptional either. Very convenient for us though, as we were staying at resort."
Dined on 7/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beautiful scenery

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The ocean view is remarkable at sunset. Top notch service."
Dined on 8/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fantastic service and gluten/dairy free dessert!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our meals at Mala in Wailea were wonderful, but the best part was the service. The waiter was super friendly and accommodating. When we told him it was our 25th anniversary, he offered us dessert on the house. Not only that, but since I couldn't eat gluten and dairy, he was able to serve us a chocolate/coffee cheesecake made with breadfruit, coconut milk, and tree nut crust instead of the usual milk and wheat based alternative. It was absolutely delicious! I wish we'd gotten his name - he was the best waiter ever! And that was the best dessert I've had in a long time, and one of the only desserts I was able to eat during our stay in Hawaii. Highly recommended."
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for MALA - Wailea Beach Marriott Resort
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2007
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>