Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge Reviews List

Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge

Attention: The Alpenrose dining room is now serving its menu in the Bistro for the remainder of the 2012 summer season.

Enjoy the warmth and charm of European hospitality in the Alpenrose Dining Room. Let the sound of Alphorns a glass of Swiss wine, and a Caquelon of cheese fondue transport you to another world of dining. The Alpenhof's Swiss cuisine combines the best of German, French and Italian cooking while utilizing local ingredients and wild game.
See more Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge details
35 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
(35 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
(7)
4 stars
(9)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Service 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
2.4 / 5
(Good) 2.4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(5)
  • special occasion(5)
  • great for outdoor dining(4)
  • neighborhood gem(4)
  • scenic view(4)
  • fit for foodies(3)
Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge Reviews List
Review 1 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/02/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 2/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Going to go out of business

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We have been going to Alpenrose for the last 10 years as a family treat & special dinner to celebrate the holidays. This year was a complete DISASTER! No warning of no fondue, salad missing ingredients & bad dressing, cold spaetzle, and we skipped dessert. Are you purposely trying to shut the place down? That's the track this place is on. Will NOT be back. Sadly."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

overall disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Disappointing. Ate here two years ago and it was wonderful. This time expected fondue but told they no longer served it, you had to go to the bistro and we weren't the only ones surprised by that as 3 tables who were seared after us asked for the fondue too. Salads not dressed and missing one key ingredient. 2 wait staff for the entire restaurant and as hard as our sever tried to be attentive, it was impossible. We felt sorry for that person as it is clearly managements choice to under staff. Sadly with all the amazing dining choices in Teton village, we won't be back."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing experience

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We visited the Alpenhof in search of fondue. When we were seated we were told that we would not be able to order fondue downstairs in the restaurant, that it was now only offered upstairs. And then we watched them serve fondue to another (large) table seated nearby (yes downstairs). During our meal we noticed several other parties arrive and then promptly leave when they found out the same. We should have left. The atmosphere was depressing, the food pretty poor, and there was only one waiter and one busboy for the whole restaurant. Kudos to the waiter who did an amazing job trying to keep everyone happy. Sadly the effort fell a bit short. We will not be returning, but we are sad about that. This had great potential. They need to offer the signature dish in both levels of the restaurant, and especially during the holiday week."
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/26/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Huge disappointment!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"My husband and I were looking forward to Christmas dinner here as we had a fantastic meal here years ago. What a bomb. My steak was the only good thing on my plate, asparagus was just that, nothing on it. A potaoe couquette was ice cold, just out of fridge cold and tasteless to boot. My husband got one of their dishes listed as a specialty as was mine. A very small portion of overcooked, tasteless walleye. Your specialties need to be knock your socks off good. I can't imagine going."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/27/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/19/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Everything was good but Bison rib wasn't tender.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2004
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great food and service"
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just Okay

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We looked up this place on line and came for some schnitzel. The first thing we noticed is the menu did not match what was listed on line. The Jager schnitzel was not offered at all as listed on line, only the weiner schnitzel. Also, both were listed on line as having a sauce and when the weiner schnitzel arrived, it was just a plain breaded patty with lemon. The spaetzel had way too much pepper and was in very small quantity. My husband substituted the spaetzel with mashed potatoes and that's all they were. Just mashed potatoes with no milk, butter, seasoning, or flavor. The red cabbage was very good. Overall, the food was just okay and we would not be going back."
Dined on 9/10/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

One night stay

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The wood work has a nice European feel. The service was very pleasant
Our room was comfortable but dated. The beer club mugs provided for use in the inn was a fun touch for me. 4 dollars for a liter of beer in a resort type stay was great! Breakfast was well done.
We had expected more food selection that we equated to our time in Germany and ski trips in Europe but that is our fault for not studding the menus- we had the wieners snitzle and it was very good."
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good food, speedy service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We wanted to go to the 4 Seasons but it was fully booked so we chose the Alpenrose as a second choice. It was somewhat disappointing to be told that the regular (downstairs) dining room was closed and we would have to eat upstairs in the Alpenhof Bistro area. The food was good, the server was prompt. HOWEVER if you are mobility-challenged, this is not the restaurant for you. If I was still in my wheelchair, it would be impossible. I have difficulty with stairs, so I asked for the elevator. That was a bit down the hall, and when I got off it on the 2nd floor, I still had to negotiate stairs to get into the restaurant. So no ADA requirements because this building was built before that?"
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food was good. Service was the absolute worse.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Alpenrose Bistro +/-

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"have previously eaten in Alpen Rose dining room and it was very good. since my last visit they apparently have combined the dining room and the bistro. Our initial impression was that they were very disorganized. we were seated promptly and probably didn't need a reservation at all. We ordered the fondue (a very expensive appetizer) as our entree. The server made no less than 3 (and probably 4) visits to the table to light the sterno flame. We were served a generous portion of apples and bread but a relatively meager (for the price) serving of cheese. all in all i probably won't return as there are too many good restaurants in Jackson to justify the short drive to Teton Village."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

LoveItalian

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We stayed at the hotel one night in June. It is right next to the aerial Jackson Hole tram and we rode the tram up the mountain before dinner.
Our dinner was excellent. We'd been in Bavaria in September, and the hotel itself and the food in the restaurant were just like being in Europe again. Actually, the food was even better than in Europe.
Most of the tables of diners were staying at the Alpenhof Lodge. It is in Teton Village and rather remote as it's not actually in Jackson. It is beautiful there.
The included breakfast was heavenly with all of the European treats you'd expect. It was the best waffle we'd ever had -- shaped like hearts, and cooked perfectly -- topped with whipped cream and strawberries. Yum!"
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Slow and Terrible ....

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Alpenhose promises to deliver but it doesn't. Our meal took over two hours and the waiter was not attentive to details. Over the two hours our water glasses were only refilled once - we would ask for basic things - salt, additional water - even things that we ordered - and none of these requests would be fulfilled. I would say if the restaurant was busy it may have made sense but we were one of four tables! This restaurant was an expensive joke that wasn't funny. One of the two worst dining experiences I've ever had in my life."
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Went there for the fondue

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been here before and wanted to treat our girls to the triple cheese, beef, and chocolate fondues. It's fun as we all are interacting in the meal. Delicious! Service usually attentive was off that night. Our second glass of wine never came in time for the meal so we cancelled it."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2009
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

saurbratin with no sour

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"watery sweet liquid on meat. meat had no evidence of marinade except it was mushie but it had no taste raclette was an embaressment 27 cents worth of cheese and a few tiny vegetables for $12.00 service was good glass of wine was bitter not like any light red wine I ever tasted before I should have sent it all back but I was in a state of shock---I then noticed the restaurant was practily empty .service was attentive get rid of the chef quick"
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Wonderful SwissGerman cuisine, authentic alpine rm

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"What a pleasure to find a dining room with good service, a calm atmosphere and delicious food. Portions are such that you can enjoy a three course meal (starter, entree and dessert) and not feel stuffed. I noticed that other reviewers complained of small portions. I couldn't disagree more; the portions are very much in line with recommended servings and not the 'feed 2-3 people' ones so often found at restaurants now.
The trout crepe, jäger schnitzel for me and my husband's beet salad and pfeffersteak were all excellent. We loved our meal there!"
Dined on 1/26/2015
 2002
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Worst service in Jackson hole

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food is ok. Service was really bad. The waitres never picked up the plates from the table. We waited several minutes until the food was at our table."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Alpenrose at the Alpenhof Lodge
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
3 out of 4 recommend this product
Food 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic