Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge

Southern hospitality rises to a new level at Makers Mark Bourbon House and Lounge. Serving succulent local beef dry aged to perfection, and the world's freshest seafood, every meal is an experience.

Comfortably elegant, warm and satisfying, Makers Mark Bourbon House & Lounge redefines the classic steak house and celebrates the marriage of Bourbon and Steak. It's the true union of Kentucky's most heralded export and a great Kansas City tradition. Creative cocktails and an alluring wine list ensure that all of our guests' palates are gratified. The Bourbon house is open seven days a week for lunch, dinner and late night bites.

Make your next company or family dining event truly special! Maker's Mark's private dining services are unmatched in the downtown area. Let our management and staff show you what southern hospitality is really about.
19 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(19 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
(8)
4 stars
(2)
3 stars
(2)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(6)
  • good for groups(5)
  • late-night find(4)
  • romantic(4)
  • hot spot(3)
  • vibrant bar scene(3)
Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge Reviews List
Review 1 for Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/09/2013
 2009
Dined on 3/09/2013
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/09/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Very disappointing.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Previous reviews were good, brought out of town guests for prime rib, regretted and was very embarrased, this location was not a good reflection on Kansas City."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Steak

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We told our server we were in a hurry to get to an event at the Sprint Center, and she moved everything right along. Our steaks were flavorful and cooked perfectly, as was the shrimp. Wished we had time to try some appetizers."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not impressed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The crab cakes were good but I was very disappointed with my steak. If I spend 34 dollars on a steak, I expect it to be cooked correctly. I asked for medium rare but when I received my meal my steak was extremely rare, almost inedible."
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

What a disappointment...

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I rarely write reviews, but I feel that it's important to let folks know how bad this restaurant is. To put it simply; disappointing menu, no bread or salad with our meal (6 oz fillets). Unable to choose sides (stuck with mashed potatoes and cabbage!). My wife's steak was dry and mine was undercooked.
I'm pretty sure that the local folks know how bad this restaurant is. We visited on a Friday night, and while other nearby restaurants had lines out the door, Makers Mark was virtually empty.
This was the place we chose for our anniversary dinner. I can't accurately describe how disappointed we were.
DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE WE DID!
"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food was not that great

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Both my husband and I dishes were very salty. Wine was over priced with few by the glass options. But you go there for bourbon not wine. We would not go back b"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointing and a waste of money

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have been to Maker's Mark five other times and was completely disappointed Friday night. I understand it was a concert night, but one hour and thirty minutes to get our entrees? We ordered early and quickly to make sure our timing was right and the restaurant failed. Our waiter became non-existent and told us "Five more minutes" once while we waited an additional 30 minutes. I will find it hard to spend money here again. Don't go here if you have less than a two hour window on a concert night."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not up to par with the price

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Pros: The wine list was good, my old-fashioned was excellent.
My date's salmon was good, but the bourbon glaze was almost nonexistent. You can get a better one at McCormick & Schmidt's.
My Prime Rib was cold and with a lot of gristle. Regretted that choice, should have tried a steak.
"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Maker's Mark Bourbon House & Lounge
Based on the average of (11) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
10 out of 11 recommend this product
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.7 / 3
Energetic