Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Harwigs Reviews List

Harwigs

Harwigs is family owned restaurant that has happily served the Steamboat Community for over 35 years. We deliver an elegant dining experience, in a relaxed atmosphere. Harwigs offers innovative cuisine prepared with creative passion by Chef JJ. Our weekly changing menus focus on local agriculture and fresh ingredients. Harwigs’ award winning wine list compliments our chef creations with global selections that appeal to connoisseurs and novices alike.
See more Harwigs details
97 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
(97 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 97 reviews
5 stars
(68)
4 stars
(13)
3 stars
(8)
2 stars
(8)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • notable wine list(56)
  • fit for foodies(50)
  • special occasion(47)
  • romantic(37)
  • neighborhood gem(18)
  • good for groups(14)
Harwigs Reviews List
Review 1 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Two generations, for good reason.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"An unexpected treasure. This restaurant is not top on the charts on the net. That's simply because of price. Hartwigs is slightly more expensive than other strong establishments in the neighborhood. When you read the menu you know already your going to enjoy fine dining. Simply put, the chief/owner deliverers. The restaurant is also all about wine. Great wine by the glass at great prices not to mention many many bottles. Service was five star, European style. Totally unexpected and well done. You can order a couple of apps and a salad, or a full meal, what ever. The point is try their deserts. Memorable. One of the best meals in ten days of travel."
Dined on 1/21/2016
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Local Spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Steamboat Springs has many good restaurants but Harwigs has been around for a long time. Family owned with a changing menu depending upon the season and using locally sourced ingredients whenever possible, they do a excellent job. A lovely place, nice service, and excellent food. A can't miss place."
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/08/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Harwigs, Steamboat Springs, January 1 2016

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Our party of 5 seasoned diners visiting from Denver ordered sea bass (2) and the evenings special, fettuccini with shaved white truffle (3). A server with an annoyed attitude dropped a piece of bread on our plates. Our entrees arrived: one sea bass was a normal serving, while the other was 1/4 of that size; the special consisted of about 1/2 cup noodles in the bottom of a large bowl with a rubbery grilled fennel slice, some sprouts, and shaved truffle. It wasn't even what most would consider to be an appetizer quantity. It took 5 small bites to complete. Imagine our shock when the check arrived and we discovered the price for our tiny serving was $50 per bowl. And it wasn't "special" in any way at all. One of our diners inquired about the price and was told that the truffles accounted for the price. Noodles are very inexpensive; how about loading up the serving with some of that? We left hungry, angry, and determined to spread the word. Harwigs seem to have bought their own story. We wouldn't recommend the fleecing they offer."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed - didn't live up to expectations

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I made a reservation for Christmas Eve for Harwigs, based on availability and other positive reviews. Sadly, we were very disappointed.
First, our waiter clearly struggled from the very first moment he arrived at the table. He was tongue-tied, nearly spilled water on my sister-in-law 3 times, bumped my niece every time he came to the table, continually reached across us to place items on the table, was unable to answer several questions about the menu, delivered food to the wrong person, and checked on us very infrequently. While he tried to be very pleasant, he was clearly out of his element for a restaurant of this caliber.
While our food was very good, we were seated at a table in the bar area, versus the main dining room, and being so near to the door, the room was very cold. I ate with my coat on for most of the meal, which is not what you hope to do when you go out for a fancy dinner. We got the sense of being a bit of an after-thought in the bar.
Finally, when I made the reservation, I also noted that this was also my niece's 25th birthday, and I mentioned it again when we were seated, but it was never acknowledged.
Overall, even though our food was good, the experience was just not the special evening we had hoped for. The level of service simply did not match up to the expensive nature of the restaurant."
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2006
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A lovely restaurant with a homey yet upscale feel

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Harwigs has a wonderful atmosphere that was perfect for our special occasion. The service is excellent, very nice wait staff, sommelier, and hostesses. The wine list is extensive.
However, our main dishes tasted average at best, one was even barely edible. The first courses were much better, if I had to do it again I would order an appetizer and a salad and skip the main course. Harwigs has been around for many years so maybe we just caught them on a bad night."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/17/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/21/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Tasty Thanksgiving!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Just returned from a Thanksgiving day n Steamboat Springs. Early snow made the skiing worthwhile and we chose to have Thanksgiving dinner at Harwigs. The entire dinner was amazing, with an assortment of Thanksgiving favorites all in one serving. The atmosphere was relaxed and the service was effortless. Great experience!"
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Harwigs is the best, driven with Passion and Zest

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The second you enter and are greeted you realize you just stepped into 1st class establishment. Very personable hostess, great waitress with a professional way of handling the table, fine food and the wine list is sensational. Could use a few more California selections by the glass.
As a resident of Steamboat I say Harwigs is in the top two.
The most impressive thing about the restaurant is the follow up with this survey. People will never really care about Harwigs until they know Harwigs cares about them. This survey hit's the bullseye.
Kudos on a professional operation.
Robert Alderman
CEO, Profiles 2020.info
Psychometrics for Hiring and Development
Established 1988.
"
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/22/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Thai Night

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Thai Night special was outstanding and very flavorful. The service was adequate for the number of diners in the place. I would recommend the Thai menu to my friends."
Dined on 10/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/27/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2011
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/17/2015
 2008
Dined on 8/17/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/17/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Meal

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"First time visit and I am convinced that I have been missing one of the best restaurants in Steamboat. This is fine dining, in a bit more casual setting, with very attentive service. We started with some appetizers, which were very good. For dinner, we had the lamb and salmon, which were both very good. We let our waiter pair our meal with wine, and he did an excellent job. They have a very extensive wine list, with an array of vintages from around the world. Really excellent fine dining in downtown Steamboat - definitely will be back"
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous meal and Matt is a superb waitor. .

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2006
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

anniversary celebration

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I cannot praise enough the delightful evening which the staff and ownership at Harwig's gave to us. Food was exquisite. ..wine the same...atmosphere memorable...thank you for wonderful memories for our 36th wedding anniversary!"
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Over-rated and over-priced

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service was not what we expected and we continually had to ask for the pepper mill (finally got it ourselves) and for additional pieces of bread. The wine list was very extensive and you can tell the ownership is proud of the fact that they have an amazing list. Howver, their prices reflect their pride as the wines were all over-priced even for high end restaurants. With a group of 10 in the main dining room, the noise was close to intolerable. I had such high expectations for this well known restaurant and we were severely disappointed. They apologized for the service issues and indicated that we should have picked a different night rather rhan Tuesday when they do Thai and a partial menu. I feel that if you're in the business you need to be consistent and great every night no matter what you are serving. This place is going to get beat by other competition in the area that is much better in every aspect of a fine restaurant. I guess they have lost touch with what made their reputation from the past and they are now just trying to maximize their profits. It will be tough to do with empty tables............"
Dined on 7/21/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Great Find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"On our last night in Steamboat, we thought we would try somewhere new , and after reading other reviews on TA, decided on Harwig’s on Lincoln between 9th and 10th. The service from the time we were greeted at the door until we departed was impeccable. All of the dining room staff were knowledgeable about the food and answered our many questions about ingredients and how food was prepared. I had a squash blossom appetizer stuffed with lobster with a small amount of quinoa and my friend’s starter was duck pate. Both were mouth-watering , perfectly prepared and beautifully presented. The salads were large and made with the freshest ingredients, including nasturtium blossoms. I had the filet which is ordered by the ounce so you can get as much or as little as you want. It was prepared with morel mushrooms and baby broccoli, both delicious additions to a beautifully presented plate. My friend had the Colorado lamb rack, which was perfectly prepared and, again, was beautifully presented and served with fresh trumpet mushrooms. All in all it was a fine dining experience that I would recommend to anyone interested in unique ingredients and fresh farm to market ingredients. Kudos to Matt, our waiter, and to everyone else in the dining room. All were very attentive and friendly."
Dined on 7/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best in Steamboat

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went to Steamboat for our 19 anniversary, needing a special place for dinner we found Harwigs. We are annual visitors to Steamboat for 20 years and can't believe we've never been there. Ordered off menu for cheese and charcuterie platter with a bottle of wine. Very well done and worth every penny we paid. Budget minded? Don't go there... but if you want the best in town don't go anywhere else."
Dined on 7/13/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We reserved a table for dinner and were seated in a timely manner. We ordered two steaks, medium rare, but both came out unevenly cooked. My steak was clearly medium and my wife's was rare in spots and medium in others... Wait staff was nice, but never refilled our wine glasses despite having ordered a bottle of wine. We complained and they did comp dessert. Probably a good place for lunch or après ski bites and drinks, but this could have been a better experience considering we dropped over $300 on the meal."
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Quite place great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went for Fathers Day. It was not crowded and wee joked a great meal. The service was excellent. The wine list and drink list were extensive."
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A wonderful local restaurant with superb food and extensive wine list. Rabbit dish was perfectly prepared. Friendly, knowledgable staff makes for an overall terrific dining experience."
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very, very nice evening!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This was a wonderful dining experience. The service was outstanding and the restaurant has an absolutely amazing wine selection, especially for a small mountain town.! It is fairly expensive, which is probably why it wasn't crowded on a Saturday night, but the price is well worth it!"
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Harwigs
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/01/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>