Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sunset Grill Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Sunset Grill

Sunset features casual fine dining atmosphere, boasting a nationally acclaimed menu featuring pasta, steak, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free & eclectic specials with a local TN and Southern regional ingredient focus, plus sustainable seafood. 60+wines by the glass & 300+ bottle selections. 2002 DiRoNA Award winner & multi- year winner of the Wine Spectator "Award of Excellence". Complimentary shuttle service available for guests and groups. Several private rooms available with reservations events@sunsetgrill.com



40 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
(40 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
(23)
4 stars
(13)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(21)
  • neighborhood gem(21)
  • special occasion(20)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • romantic(15)
  • notable wine list(10)
Sunset Grill Reviews List
Review 1 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/24/2014
 2013
Dined on 7/24/2014
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/24/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2013
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2009
 2009
Dined on 3/21/2009
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/21/2009
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Loved this Place the pork chops were excellent. We were there for a birthday and we were taken care of with complimentary appetizer and some lovely drinks."
Dined on 9/02/2014
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sunset Grill- a staple for years. Sad it closed.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I've lived in Nashville since 1998. Sunset Grill was where I had my 21st birthday party and was the first place anyone ever bought me a glass of wine. I've been to wine pairings there, I've eaten a ton of their nachos, and I have loved every experience I've ever had there. My boyfriend and I would constantly eat there when he lived on Love Circle. I knew staff on a first name basis. On New Year's Eve 2014, I had no idea when I booked the reservation that it would be my last dining experience at Sunset. The hostess (who usually served) said to me on the way out 'it's so good to see your face around here'. That's just the kind of service you got there. They had a handful of loyal servers who truly got to know their customers.
Upon reading the article on New Year's Day 2015 stating that Sunset Grill closed its doors forever, I was saddened because while reading, I realized that so many of the newer restaurants in Nashville do not have a personal attachment to the City I live in. Sunset did. I felt immediate empathy for the staff who worked so hard. I prayed for them to find employment in a month where the service industry suffers the most.
Thank you for allowing me to spend one last night at Sunset. It will be one I'll hold in my memory bank for a very long time."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our server was excellent and on top of all 3 courses and drinks that we ordered. Excellent food!"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Daring food for the taste buds. Randy Rayburn has always exceeded every expectation with all of his dishes. Wonderful wine list."
Dined on 5/08/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not that great. Very overpriced.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"My husband and I were not impressed with the food. My experience at Sunset grill was a lot of hype and disappointment."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sorry to see it go!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a great New Years Eve dinner here. Sad to hear the news."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun and relaxed for a group

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our group really enjoyed the menu's variety. I was also pleased with the staff's willingness to accommodate food allergies. Definitely worth a visit!"
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Gourmet Eats on the Cheap!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My husband and I were using a gift card we had purchased earlier this year and figured that for about half of the card we could get soup and a small salad each. Well, suprise!... for early diners there are specials galore! Much to our delight, we feasted on the $5 appetizers (delectable Butternut Squash Soup, Crab Cake, Pumpkin Biscuits) and the 1/2 price Pizza. I was able to also get a glass of wine (just missed Happy Hour by a few minutes) and we splurged on the Creme Brulee (a DO NOT MISS in my book). Were else in town can you have this much food that makes you roll your eyes and surrender your helpless palette to complete bliss for what you would have spent ordering a couple pizzas!? This is the best meal in Nashville for the price hands down.
Sunset Grill - go early, go often!"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We came here to celebrate my graduation, as always they provided excellent service and food. Always a favorite choice when celebrating a special occasion."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I hope there is not a decline

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The Sunset Grill has been a go to restaurant for me a number of years now when in Nashville. My last visit was somewhat disappointing in that the food was not up to the standards I have grown to expect. The menu seem outdated and the food not as interesting or tasty as in earlier years. I certainly hope this visit was an anomaly and the Sunset will return to the high level of interesting and well prepared food I have grown to expect."
Dined on 12/08/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Favorite Nashville Restaurant

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I used to live in Nashville and this was my favorite restaurant for lunch. While in town on business recently, I took two colleagues to Sunset Grill for dinner two nights in a row. As always, it was excellent. I'm glad to know it hasn't changed."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Being in Nashville on vacation, we relied on open table to select our meals. We were pleased with this choice in this neighborhood - it was what we wanted where we wanted."
Dined on 9/16/2014
 2001
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great Place to entertain clients

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took some clients to the restaurant. It was their first time there -- it will not be their last."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sunset Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

UF112914

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Have dined at Sunset Grill many times. Arrived for the Saturday 5pm reservation before the rush. Opted to sit in the bar to watch football on TV. Bartender / server was very attentive. Turned TV to the desired channel / game. Timing of appetizer / salad / main course delivery was well paced. Food was excellent. Another great experience at Sunset Grill. Had already taken advantage of the 1/3 off gift card sale for holiday gifts."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sunset Grill
Based on the average of (23) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
19 out of 20 recommend this product
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
3.2 / 3
Energetic