Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Thai Urban Kitchen Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Thai Urban Kitchen

Thai Urban Kitchen is located at Ogilvy Transportation Center and offers Thai dishes as well as sushi.
73 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
(73 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 73 reviews
5 stars
(24)
4 stars
(35)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(32)
  • good for groups(20)
  • neighborhood gem(14)
  • fit for foodies(11)
  • special occasion(5)
  • hot spot(3)
Thai Urban Kitchen Reviews List
Review 1 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not authentic and disappointing.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food. Recommend.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went in the evening during a weekday. Not crowded. Easy to have a conversation. Food was good. I had the Pad Thai. I have eaten here for lunch as well. Nice atmosphere. Good service. I have no complaints. Met my needs."
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2014
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2001
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fast, full service, convenient

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Perfect west-loop location to meet friends for lunch.
Nice lunch combo-pricing and fast service.
The food was very good and the service matched.
Friendly, tasty and decent value.
We would return and recommend to anyone.
"
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2002
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/16/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food and Service has been great everytime.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food and Service has been great everytime. It always makes me want to come back for more."
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good lunch spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food is consistently good. Can get very crowded for lunch so get there by 11:45."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If you've got time and don't feel like Ogilvie's fast food fare, Thai Urban Kitchen is a solid dining choice. Food is good, service is good, and the restaurant itself is very stylishly designed. I had pad thai and a crab rangoon appetizer. The pad thai, while not the best I've had, was enjoyable. The crab rangoon was unlike any other I've seen--instead of the traditional fried triangles of goodness, it was a large bowl of crab dip with fried, flaky chips on the side to chow down on. Not at all what I expected, but delicious! Personally, I enjoyed the freedom to choose my crab amount. Overall, I was pleased, and I would definitely come back here again."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Place to eat near train stations

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The pad thai was very good. I probably will not get the calamari anymore because it did not taste fresh but the shrimp was good. Lettuce wraps where just OK ."
Dined on 3/09/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Chef selects the sushi

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sushi is one of my favorite foods, but I'm not the kind of person who wants the food selected for me. If you're into that I'm sure this is a good place to give it a try."
Dined on 2/11/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good place for a quick lunch. Large place and service is generally quick."
Dined on 2/26/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Lunch Spot

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good for a casual lunch. I can always count on finding a table here without a wait, no matter the size of my party, even at peak lunch hour. The food is decent but unremarkable. Great lunch specials. Moderate prices. Not anything that will impress for a power lunch, but if it's just a casual lunch with friends, it's a nice spot with above average decor."
Dined on 8/28/2014
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Second time's a charm

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This was our second visit to the Thai Urban Kitchen and much more pleasant than the first. Last time we sat right next to the stupid "water feature" that looks and smells like a fish processing tank. Also this time service was much better. Strange that the place was so empty at 6 pm on a Saturday night. We have finally figured out their complicated menu, well sort of. Last time we ordered way too much food. This time we ate all our dinner and shared a dessert, mango cheesecake We really like the convenience when we arrive at the OTC and the prices are reasonable, but next time I'll tell them to go easy on the onions."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Friendly staff, great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Second time we have been here and it was just as great as the first visit. Service is excellent (June remembered us from our last visit several months ago) and food is very good. Nice variety and ambiance. We'll go back for sure."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice, convenient lunch spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food is very good at TUK and it is a nice lunch spot when you want a departure from the standard lunchtime fare."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Thai Urban Kitchen
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was good. This was the first time service has been poor. reflective of the servier not the restaurant."
Dined on 11/25/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Thai Urban Kitchen
Based on the average of (50) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
36 out of 40 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic