Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Don the Beachcomber Reviews List

Don the Beachcomber

Please note any reggae sunday reservations will not be available online.

Enjoy fresh seafood, tender steaks, famous burgers, huge salads and over a dozen Pupu's (appetizers) with an Island Inspired Flare and an eye toward value without sacrificing quality. Quite simply put, the food is great!! Don the Beachcomber will take you back to Polynesia in a heavy Tiki themed dining room and banquet rooms complete with waterfalls reminiscent of vintage Hawaii. The bartenders at Don's Dagger Bar will craft some of the most delicious and creative (and original!) of Don's tropical cocktails! Banquet facilities and for 20 to over 200 in a fun and unique tropical setting with plenty of free parking. While the average cost of our steak and seafood offerings with a drink and tip range from $31 to $50 we also offer a selection of entree sized salads, and three burger sandwiches featuring prime beef, broiled chicken, or Kalua pork for $12 to $14 per item.
See more Don the Beachcomber details
75 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(75 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
5 stars
(22)
4 stars
(26)
3 stars
(18)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(20)
  • special occasion(19)
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • vibrant bar scene(14)
  • kid-friendly(12)
  • romantic(10)
Don the Beachcomber Reviews List
Review 1 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/01/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Really enjoyed the ambiance and the music. Was definitely an "island" atmosphere. The service was great! Very friendly. However the food was just ok. The salad was good , and the ribs were better than average, for sure. . But the crinkle cut frozen fries and very well done Hulu chicken were disappointing. Cool place to go listen to a good band or hang in the bar, just not sure I would go back for dinner, purely based on the food quality."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great decor. Short staffed for weekend lunch.

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This used to be Sam's Seafood, and still has the great 'Tiki Motif'. Lots of interested nooks and banquet rooms. The place is a bit worn, but a real novelty. I took a group there for a Saturday lunch, and service was limited to the bar area only. The only service person was also the bartender, and while she did a great job despite being overwhelmed.
Food was good. I had Tomato's and Beef, which I gather is a signature dish, and was not disappointed. Others in our party had Pulled Pork sandwiches, Hamburgers and Fish specials, and were also pleased. Only complaint was it took a long time with only one server/bartender (she was great!)
I see a lot of cars in the parking lot for dinners, and will have to try when it's fully staffed."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Don the Beachcomber

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Fun place. Very good food, nice entertainment and reasonable prices!"
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"I really wanted to like this place. Last time I was here was YEARS ago. Food was mediocre at best. Service was poor. The room we were seated in had a singer and a hula dancer that were in dire need of more practice. Won't be back."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/24/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Awesome Polynesian atmosphere , but the service was just okay, and the food was not so good. I had the beef tomato wich is way to sweet, had to put salt and hot sauce to make it okay and the rice was way to wet sticky. But the drinks are good."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We arrived a few minutes before our reservation time and the hostes was very scatter brained. She sat a couple that was ahead of us then when she returned checked us in but didn't seat us, about 5 minutes passed and she said our table was ready then had us go back to the front to wait for a larger table for 4 guests. Finally once we were seated it took our sever another 5 minutes before we were acknowledged to place a drink order then another 25 minutes before taking our dinner order and we've been waiting patiently the whole time. It seemed that they might be under staffed the waitresses seemed very overwelmed and just over working today. It took another 30 minutes before our food arrived. The food was very tasty but the service was very disappointing. We come here once a month for a group meet up, we will be back but for drinks and the group meet up but I will never be dinning here again. The restaurant was not busy and the servers all do not wear name tags, maybe its because they do not want us to know their names."
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 1/08/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Dinner on New Years Eve!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Went early had a drink in the bar, Great Happy Hour Prices on Drinks & Bar Food!
Dinner was fantastic. Wonderful fish dinners.
Great Place to Have Dinner, Good value.
You will not be disappointed at This place
"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/21/2015
 2000
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Hawiian fun

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We booked this on Open table and saw it had great reviews. I also checked Yelp and had the same results. I had friends coming to the Rose Bowl from our hometown and booked this place to hopefully have a fun experience.
We were early by fifteen minutes and they were not busy, I saw a big birthday party group of 20 people and maybe a few other tables but not super busy. We ordered Duck, Alsakan Crab legs, Crab cake sandwich, Ribs, Salmon, and a burger and chicken tenders.
The funny thing was we ordered drinks and those took forever, we ordered our food and waited in the mean time another family was seated and ordered food, after twenty minutes we saw them serving the other family, then they brought my daughters chicken tenders. We waited for a few more minutes then we were served the crab and duck, another few minutes and crab cake,ribs, salmon and burger.
The food was good on all accounts just the salmon dish which was my wife's her vegetables were cold by the time the waitress came around we were all done eating. The waitress was super nice but seemed very busy. I was wondering if they were understaffed by how long our food took. I wish it was a better experience for my friends who were in town.
Again the food was good and the atmosphere was nice, just wish our food would have came out at the same time. In all it was just an average place for us.
"
Dined on 12/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The ribs and sliders were great. The rest awful!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 11/20/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went here for my birthday, the food was fantastic and the service was on point. Loved the live Hawaiian music being played while we dined. Also liked the fact that we could dress business casual and didn’t at all feel out of place. It was all and all a great experience."
Dined on 11/20/2015
 2004
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Hawaiian Style Food Done Right

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had an early dinner at Don the Beachcomber on a weekday. Not many diners in attendance due to the time however, we enjoyed the quiet environment and relished the various hawaiian lupus along with our main dinner mail (Pork Kalua and Seafood). Very nicely prepared dishes with generous portions. On-tap Kona Longboard made this is favorite place to dine. Will be back."
Dined on 10/16/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

This place is WAY outdated.Needs to be torn down

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Best Polynesian cocktails in orange county

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2009
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Come here for a well-crafted tiki cocktail with vintage recipes and great rum. The food is good and the portions are a good size. The service is OK."
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2013
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2005
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Love this place!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It's a little too hot & humid for my liking but it's worth it! There was confussion with our dinner reservation but had no problem being seated even though we were late. Also, we had to wait almost 15min for a server to come to our table. We almost walked out. He explained there was a mix up as to whose table it was but he was very polite & apologetic about it and even paid for our drinks to make up for it. He was very attentive and made sure we were taken care of without being overbearing; which I appreciate! The food was delicious! After dinner, we moved on to the back where we had made reservations (and paid in advance) for a show, with what I understood would be private seating for two. To my surprise, we were seated with 2 other people that we did not know. It was disappointing because we wanted to be alone. The people we were seated with were very nice and good company, but again, not what I was expecting. A heads up or an option to decline being seated with others would have been nice. I'm sure they felt the same way, since they ordered dinner & had to eat in front of us. It didn't seem to matter that I went out of my way to pay for these seats when our surprise companion's friends showed up later & sat down, pretty much taking over the table. Overall, we had a great night in spite of all the mishaps. We would definitely come back!"
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Cute place but terrible food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The restaurant is cute with fun Hawaiian decor and music. Mai Tai was good. Wine list sparse. Service and staff were great and friendly. Unfortunately, the food was really bad. I ordered kalua pork and couldn't eat it nor the rice and mushy veggies. Despite being very hungry when we arrived, my food smelled so bad and tasted awful that I barely ate any of it. My husband ordered Ahi and was disappointed as well (overcooked and no taste). They're going to need a new chef and high food standards before we would consider going back. I gave one star overall because the food is the top priority for me when considering a restaurant."
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The service was excellent, steaks fantastic, loved the mai tai and the wine. Great live Hawaiian music. They really do need air conditioning."
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/21/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2007
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A fun visit 1940s Hawaiian type theme restaraunt!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I always loved the original Don the Beachcomber in Hollywood but that was torn down in the mid 1980s. This is a fun psu,do-replica, classic dishes from the past exclusive to Don the Beachcomber's, and classic cocktails. The "Pressed Duck" of 1937 was great ! tried the cocktails they were a good try, the "Mixologist" needs to go lighter on the flavors, they will taste more like they should. GREAT waiter ! and his table-side banter was very classic ! Its a "must go" for and evening of classic food and drinks to see almost what the original Don the Beachcomber 's was like. perfect for groups and Birthdays ! They even have old "lounge entertainment" various types of music on varied nights too ! C&H"
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2010
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It was very loud issue to a party bus stopping in for drinks at the bar It took a very long time to be seated for our reservation time of 1pm because no one was at the front to see us or say hello. My husband had to go into the bar and ask the bartender to get us some help. Wish it was a better overall experience."
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Fabulous Happy Hour!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"i would return to Don's to enjoy their lively bar scene.
Happy Hour drinks (well poured), great prices plus live music.
Staff is super friendly!!
Cheers!
Reggae Sunday's are popular according to the staff.
"
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food. Good service. Love the live music.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Live music good food."
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Don the Beachcomber
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Just as good the 2nd time there

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. The salad and clams we're delicious."
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>