Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Le Chateau Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Le Chateau

Elegant dining in a beautiful country estate built in 1907 by JP Morgan. Overlooking the Hudson Valley. Serving a la carte.
JP's Bistro located on second floor offers casual dining, ala carte menu or $38.00 prix fixe menu, wines by the glass, martini bar,
20 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
(20 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
(8)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(14)
  • scenic view(13)
  • special occasion(12)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • notable wine list(5)
  • great for brunch(3)
Le Chateau Reviews List
Review 1 for Le Chateau
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Old world charm and service

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2004
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Le Chateau is still one of the best brunch buys in Westchester. For a prix fixe of $38, one starts with champagne, mimosa or bloody mary (all decent drinks not typical over orange juiced mimosa or unremarkable champagne); then croissant/bread selection (go for the stellar croissants) and - don't be shy if you want more than one; nice pace no pressure; menus offered up along with specials (listen up cause the specials are good); we had salmon and a special sea bass dish both great; more bread/croissants offered up (who can resist); then the delectable dessert tray - so hard to choose (and they'll encourage a second choice too). With a bottle of reasonably priced wine off a nice list, we had a thoroughly enjoyable winter brunch near a roaring fireplace with gracious and attentive service. Worth the trip to South Salem (near Westchester-Connecticut border off rt 35)"
Dined on 1/04/2015
 2004
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Le Chateau
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Happy New Year?

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We've been going here for an early, festive dinner on New Year's Eve for about a decade and have always had a wonderful time. My husband, a spry 97years, does need a bannister on stairs, however, on entry we found that the lobby bannister was lose enough to be useless for him. The rest of the place, however, was festive and charming as usual.
My main course choice was lamb but it was prepared with mustard, which I am allergic to; and I understood when an accommodation couldn't be made and happily ordered the fillet. When the meal arrived I noticed that there were no potatoes. I brought this to the waiter's attention, he said that potatoes were not included. Puzzled I asked for the menu and pointed out that potato dauphin were part of the meal. I and my friend who ordered the same meal then received a dollop of baked mashed potato, not was dauphin means to me. Never mind it was tasty, unfortunately my steak, a large chunk, was dry and over cooked---overall a disappointment, in maintenance, service and food.
We don't understand what has happened to a former favorite restaurant of ours, but we do know that this will be our last New Year's Eve at it.
"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Le Chateau
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

New Year's Eve dinner? Never again.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Dined with 3 friends for the early seating on New Year's Eve & was extremely disappointed. The setting is lovely & usually the food is quite good.....not this evening. The food was less than mediocre and with a fixed menu should be good at least. Table settings were off, one of us had a butter knife, some settings had no dinner fork and some 2 salad forks... Quite sloppy and this is the first service. Two of us at the table had the fois gras it looked like two different servings. My lamb was overcooked and drowned in a thick tasteless sauce that was supposed to be a natural au jus. No vegetable, and dried, over salted duches potatoes that must have been made in the morning and reheated multiple times. When paying $98.00 before drinks etc. I would expect better preparation of food. I have attended this seating for at least the past 6 years and will be looking for somewhere else to go next year. Also, the railing on the entry is an accident waiting to happen - such lack of concern for guests is apparent in all aspects of the restaurant."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Le Chateau
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Dinner was okay, but have eaten here before and felt it was not as good. Service was a little slow and wait staff not very attentive. I know they were busy as it was the holidays, but again I expect more from a restaurant of this calibre."
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2002
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Le Chateau
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Four of us went for Thanksgiving dinner. Turkey was excellent, very succulent. The crab napoleon was only so-so. The service was very good without being intrusive."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Le Chateau
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Beautiful location

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Beautiful location, lovely decor! First time back in a very long time and for a major holiday but the food and service was just okay. Coffees came after dessert was almost finished and there was an error on the bill. I would like to come back on a non-holiday to see if it was just the holiday or what."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2013
Special Features: scenic view, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Le Chateau
Based on the average of (14) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
11 out of 14 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic