Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Via Matta Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Via Matta

Centrally located in the Back Bay, Via Matta offers authentic Italian cuisine with attentive quality service in a comfortable setting. Compliment your meal with a selection from a wine list featuring an extensive offering of Italian wines. Via Matta’s Café serves a lighter menu from late morning through late night.
103 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(103 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 103 reviews
5 stars
(43)
4 stars
(40)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(2)
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(48)
  • good for groups(29)
  • special occasion(29)
  • romantic(23)
  • neighborhood gem(22)
  • great for outdoor dining(13)
Via Matta Reviews List
Review 1 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/10/2013
 2004
Dined on 9/10/2013
 2004
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/10/2013
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2014
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went here for a romantic dinner, and were left more than wanting. We waited more than an hour for our reservation, funny I thought that's what reservations were for. The place was well over booked and crowded. No one checked in with us to see how we were doing. The bar was full and no were to sit. Once we got to our table the server was overwhelmed and short. The food was ok, but by the time it came the romance was gone and so was our desire to stay. We ate quickly and left. The valet then took another 45 minutes to get our vehicle. Nightmare. Maybe try on a regular night."
Dined on 2/14/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2014
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/15/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Wonderful closing meal. So sad to see Via Matta close but looking forward to the opening of a Greek Taverna."
Dined on 5/30/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2008
Special Features: special occasion
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2006
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/09/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was delicious and creative - the kind of creative that involves combining ingredients that you might not have thought to combine but that work perfectly. I went with a group of four girlfriends and we all loved our meals. For me, the arugula salad and pork loin were just perfect. I'll definitely come back!"
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Wait until they reopen

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Restaurant is closing at the end of May and will reopen (same ownership) under new concept. I've eaten here a dozen times - always good. Food was fine, service was terrible to non-existent. Wait staff went absent repeatedly. Failed to bring two (!) ordered items to the table. Paying the bill was almost impossible. It was as if the employees of the restaurant had left and the only people left were customers. Too bad, as this was always a good spot. I doubt this visit was indicative of a new approach, but you're better off letting Via Matta sail into the sunset, and revisit when it opens. They are clearly phoning it in until then."
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2014
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best pasta dishes in Boston!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good dining experience!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I met our son here for dinner. Reviews about service had been mixed so let me start by saying the service was great- from the host and on all the staff was very nice and efficient. We all enjoyed our food- the only thing we didn't like was our Nutella tart for dessert- but that is not exactly surprising! Lol.
Also we loved the acoustics ! The walls are sound absorbing and it's noticeable- there was plenty of conversation buzz around us but we never had trouble hearing each other.
"
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2006
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Absolutely amazing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Best pasta in the city, hands down. Better than the 20+ places in the North End I have gone. In addition try the veal meatballs, absolutely amazing."
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food is always good. Thank you

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2013
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, but slow service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was rather slow. They seemed to be short staffed. We had to wait both at the bar, even though we were the only ones there, and for our waiter at dinner. Service was fine once it got there. Food was excellent."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2008
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not Good

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2002
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2002
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is an example of a once great restaurant that has been ignored by management. I used to regularly, tried it a year ago, and again tonite. Inattentive waitstaff who was just doing his job. No energy, no sense of humor, no recommendations, no dialogue. They need to hire wait staff who wants to be there....someone who smiles and who cares about the restaurant.
Not a good experience and I don't think I'll go back.
Management needs to pay attention to how their waitstaff interacts with customers. Michael is much better than this"
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2006
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant was fairly empty especially for a Thursday night. As a result, the wait staff had too much time to devote to our table and repeatedly interrupted us asking if we were a) ready to order, b) done eating, c) in need of anything at all. My pasta was fine but my colleague said their food, a different pasta dish, was salty."
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Okay...nothing extraordinary

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Nice ambience, but our server was not attentive. We wanted to make I to a play however, he seemed too busy at other tables. Food was okay."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"What a disappointment. When we got there, on time for our reservation, we were told our table wasn't ready, so we took a seat at the bar. Waited an extremely long time to get the bar tenders attention and even longer for our drinks. Then as our drinks arrived (almost 40$ for just 2 drinks) we were told our table was ready. As we entered the near empty dinning room (so we were put on a false wait in order to sell overpriced drinks) took our seats and ounce again waited for service. Our server was inattentive, barley spent anytime explaining the menu and rarely checked back with us. Again it was very slow. Food was ok, definitely didn't live up to its reputation. Will not be going back, this place seems to be living off its reputation."
Dined on 8/21/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

great as always

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2008
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"once again the meal was fantastic with very good service. I visit Boston every year and this is one of the best Italian restaurants in the Northeast. Their bread and appetizers are great !!!!"
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I love Via Matta - been coming here for years. The food is great, wonderful wait staff, and great wine list."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

The one sore spot of an otherwise fantastic trip

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"On February 28, 2015, I surprised my girlfriend with a trip to Boston to propose on the common where we had our first date. Because she loves italian and we were staying on the common I made a reservation at Via Matta for dinner. I called ahead and let them know that we would be coming straight from getting engaged and noted that I would be very apprecaitive if they could make the night special in anyway. Upon checking in it was clear that no message had been relayed to the hostess regarding the special occasion. As they sat us in the rear of an otherwise empty restaurant it felt as though we were bothering our server as we asked her to take a picture upon recieving the glasses of champagne that we ordered to celebrate. She mumbled a quick congratulations and headed off. The manager did stop by to ask how we were enjoying our meal and offered a quick congratulations upon hearing of the news. That was the last we had heard on the issue. Overall the meal was good, though a little over priced for italian by Boston standards, and we were certainly too happy to let this ruin our evening. While I didn't expect fireworks or anything I was more than a little dissapointed that the event went virtually unmarked. Thankfully the Taj Boston more than made up for it."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Continuous Good Spot

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"With all the new spots popping up in Boston, Via Matta has continued to hold it's own as great food, good ambiance and great service. It's never easy to keep up with competition and new spots, but somehow they have been able to survive. Have always loved the bolognese and the chicken under the brick and once again, they were outstanding. Service was excellent and loved having the opinion reinforce our decisions on what to get. Can't wait to go back again, it had been too long!"
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Smallest pours in Boston

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food here is always good, but they've become stingy on their drink pours. I have no issue paying the $$$ for a nice glass of scotch, but pour some in the glass folks! Standard cruise ship pour here!
I also called and told them I'd be a few min late. They conveinently neglected to tell me there was no valet service. Were they afraid of loosing the reservation. I know everybody is snowed in, but a little courtesy would have gone a long way."
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food And service were fantastic!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had the creamy burrata and meatballs to start. Both were wonderful. The mushroom pasta dish was the most amazing thing ever! Service was perfect. Will definitely return."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Tasty Italian Food near the Boston Garden

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Via Matta is a little gem tucked away one block away from the Boston Garden. The ambience and service is great. We had the calamari in a puttanesca sauce and arugala/truffle salad as appetizers, both were tasty and good but maybe a bit too much salt. We then split the salmon dish and the pasta with Wild Boar and again, tasty but too much salt. The Chianti was smooth and wonderful Overall great place, and the best Italian food in the area."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bad service

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2007
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great restaurant for lunch but staff needs to be better trained"
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

New Year's dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been to Via Matta before and always have a good dining experience. This visit we elected to try the six course tasting menu with wine pairings. The food was delicious and wine pairings terrific. We had a time constraint, it being New Year's Eve, and they timed things perfectly."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Enjoyed!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Had a great meal. In our neighborhood and we will return often. We read the reviews before dining here and noted how quickly the food is brought out. Since we prefer a leisurely pace, we ordered with this in mind. Chose drinks and apps, then waited, and chose main course. Perfect!"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great spot before the Theatre

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Yes, that title is a bit preposterous...but the food / service here is truly great, and it is a short walk to any of the shows. Don't expect to be rushed here, service / food comes out a very nice cadence. Quality is evident in the food - so much better than anything I've had in the North End."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Off night

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Indifferent hostess, greasy menu, uninspired menu additions. This visit was not like ealier ones at all. Our waiter was very good but otherwise things seemed off this time around."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

NOT SO GREAT

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2005
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We found the staff to be confused about what kind of cocktails they served to the size of our water glasses...short for bubbly tall for tap, did not want to confuse water pouters. Had to order our entrees when we ordered our apps so not to mess up the kitchen.
Very unprofessional and loud to boot! Just a big room with little to offer
Would not return or recommend.
They barely had time to remove appt dishes when they were replacing them with entree dishes.
Not worth ant money.
"
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2005
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Via Matta
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Used to be better....

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Live close by and have always loved going to Via. First time back since changing management. Service and atmosphere are still wonderful, however, our meals were disappointing. I ordered their salad with fricco chips, but what I got was an overflowing bowl of lettuce, no dressing or chips. They brought me another with everything on the side. Weird. Our special pasta with truffles was dry and bland. Our friends meat sauce pasta was wonderful, so I'm glad that has remained the great dish it's always been. Not sure I'll be rushing back, sadly."
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>