Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's

Celebrated Chef Charlie Palmer has received critical acclaim for his signature progressive American cooking, a style built on rambunctious flavors and unexpected combinations. The seasonally-inspired menu spotlights regional ingredients and is complemented by a diverse wine list highlighting an impressive collection of small artisan producers.

The social lounge is ideal for shared small plates and fun whimsical cocktails. The dining room features a la carte menu selections as well as prix fixe menus for lunch and dinner. The private dining room, accented by a massive wine wall, offers weekly wine tastings and monthly wine dinners, and can be reserved for private events.

Located inside the restaurant is Next Vintage wine shop, which allows shoppers to select from the restaurant's trademark, eclectic lists of food forward wines at retail pricing.
85 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(85 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 85 reviews
5 stars
(27)
4 stars
(33)
3 stars
(12)
2 stars
(9)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(39)
  • fit for foodies(31)
  • notable wine list(29)
  • vibrant bar scene(24)
  • great for lunch(22)
  • romantic(19)
Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's Reviews List
Review 1 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2013
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2013
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/14/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/06/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I took my girlfriend there for dinner on a Saturday night. It was very noisy and not very romantic. We were seated at a table just a few inches from other diners. They only offered us one small piece of bread at a time and had to ask for another one. My girlfriend ordered the $48 Filet Mignon medium well and it showed up on her plate burned to a crisp on the outside even though I told the waiter to tell the chef not to do that. The grilled wild mushrooms recommended by our waiter were very bland. I ordered the chicken with risotto. The Chicken breast was very small and was mostly skin. The risotto was tasty but drowning in oil. The service was okay at first but then our waiter disappeared and it took forever to get our plates cleared. We left without ordering dessert. High-end, premium priced restaurants like this need to realize that diners have a lot of choices so the restaurant had better deliver on the quality of the food and service or people won't come back. We definitely will not be back."
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Close now - slow death is unpleasant

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"What was once a great restaurant is now an empty shell that is open but at a very reduced capacity - the wine list is comparable to an inexpensive chain restaurant, the menu is bereft of many of the old standards, and the quality was just plain MEH. Lots of nerve to charge the prices for mediocre fare. Should just close the place now and start the rennovations. What a wasted evening!"
Dined on 4/20/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I love the chicken dish. The best on the menu."
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always a great meal

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"So sad about our " go to" place closing. Thanks for making us feel special and for great meals each time we come! We will miss you, Charlie Palmers, chef Kim and Dan."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

NOT IMPRESSED

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was great, not satisfied with the food. The lobster was more like a crab leg, not a tail and the filet was a little chewy. Won't be back."
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2012
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sad

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"It is too bad that the Restaurant is closing in May.
It is one of our favorite restaurant.
The food is good and the service is impeccable.
Wine list is to die for and we sure are going to miss this Special eating spot!
"
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

treated like second-class

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"we were given stale bread, waiter never returned to get order for drinks. Food not memorable. Green beignet included"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Definitely changed since my last visit. No more amuse bouche, food portions shrunk in half - the lobster looked like the size of a shrimp! Prices have gone way up. Also did not have the original "farm to table" taste to the dishes or menu that made me come back to CP over the years. So very disappointed!"
Dined on 3/10/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Superb for Special occaisions

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is my third visit to Charlie Palmers and we were not disappointed. We decided to go as it was OC Restaurant week and wanted to try something a little different. We actually opted for the set menu as we do not like large portions but preferred the variety. My braised cheek was superb with plenty of flavor. The meal was topped off with an excellent wine. Definitely with a visit at some time if you live in the OC!"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sadly, closing May 2

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food here always has been competent and precise, if not bold. Our best course was dessert. The entrees (meatballs and a deconstructed chicken pot pie) were tasty, but lacked pizzazz.
The bar side of CP always outshone the restaurant."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Meal

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"All was good, menu is a bit limited (especially for a fish eater). Service was a bit "cool". I don't think our server appreciated that we didnt have any alcohol or dessert. The restaurant is lovely but the curtains in the back room are SHREDDED! We certainly expected better from this caliber of restaurant as we were seated in the back room and had to stare a them all night... Please replace those curtains!"
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2005
Special Features: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OC Dine Week

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"1. Great price for lunch, 2. Delightful seafood gumbo. Will come back just for this dish, 3. Awesome spaghetti sauce with buratta cheese. However, meatballs not that exciting."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Restaurant week

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A co worker and I deceided to take advantage of the restaurant week menu showcased this year for lunch. We came early for lunch, 12:45 pm for a 1:00 pm reservation , and booked through Open Table. We got seated right away and the staff accommodated to the last minute reservation change party number of 3, down to 2. We ordered quickly and apologetically let the waitress know we were actually on a tight schedule and hoped to leave in an hour to get back to the office for a meeting. She let us know she would do her best. And she did! She brought out the courses as quickly as we finished the previous one, on request, and they all were great, artfully presented and delicious."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, great service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Love this restaurant. Comfortable seating, big tables, widely enough spaced so that you can have a conversation without hearing other diners.
As always, very friendly professional service.
The Restaurant Week lunch special -- appetizer, main and dessert -- was delicious and an amazing bargain at $20. The matcha beignets for dessert were lovely."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Food around

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Every time we eat here it never disappoints. food is the best and service is wonderful. staff very friendly and attentive."
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Exception steak and royal mushroom!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"New York bone-in steak was seasoned and cooked to perfection as requested - medium rare! The royal mushroom side dish was hearty and scrumptious.
Very chic and modern environment with very high ceiling and spacing between tables created a vibrant and happening environment, yet quiet enough to have a normal dinner conversation.
Would definitely return again."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Memorable and lovely.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Started off with cocktails and was wowed by the Vino Fresca. Our table of four enjoyed our beet salad, lobster ravioli, a lovely cesear, surf and turf, and the porterhouse for two, topped off with a chocolate molten cake for dessert. Sides we had were potatoes au gratin and spinach. The garlic was burnt in our spinach and the cake wasn't very "molten" but these were small problems in an overall superb meal. It was very pricey but a special splash-out. The french-speaking waiter was an absolute delight."
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The mgr on Valentine's Day was super nice!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The waiter, old man not so much! He was a bit to stress out. Delish food :)"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sweet Valentine's Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The Valentine's Dinner created just for Valentine's Day was a great prix fixe menu. The caviar in a heart shaped potato chip was a nice amuse bouche. The green asparagus salad with the mustard vinaigrette was a refreshing salad course. The red snapper course in the soy lime consomme was cooked perfectly and tender. The lobster ravioli in the uni cream had just enough sauce. The Chateaubriand for two paired with the creamed spinach gratin was just the right amount. The rhubarb custard tart with strawberry jam and dark chocolate gelato was a good finish to the prix fixe. Service was great for a busy evening."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

I was soo disappointed

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I took my friend for her birthday and find out the fux menu is now only $20 and no dessert. I order corn beef and the plate look i was eating at a farmers restaurant nothing fancy for what i was ysed to in this fancy place. Bad foid nad presentation . Not going there anymore"
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food and Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been coming here for years, mostly to share small plates. They have changed from that format to a traditional memu and maintained the same high standards. We had a wonderful meal sharing 2 appetizers, steak tartare and yellowtail tartare, and both were delicious. We had 2 different salmon entrees and shared wild mushroom and spinach sides, again terrific. The trio of creme brullee and coffee finished the meal. Of course, a great bottle of wine made everything perfect. The service, waiters and the wine director were top notch with the chef also stopping by to see how things were going. As always, we look forward to our next visit. We may order entrees or possibly share a flight of appetiziers with salad and dessert."
Dined on 1/28/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Birthday

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went to this restaurant because I heard good things about it. I ordered the Lamb and it was excellent. The French Onion Soup was good, but i have had better ones. My wife ordered the chicken on the risotto and it was just okay. Overall, it was very good."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Will not return

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Terrible service, overpriced for what we received. As a side note the "mashed potato" side dish were the consistency of pureed potatoes and tasted like they were from a box. We will not return."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great place to dine

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food and service was great. We will definitely be back"
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

18s3g2

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our group has lunch at Charlie Palmer's often. During our last visit some of us enjoyed the prefix lunch. The presentation was outstanding as well as the excellent food. Needless to say, Charlie Palmer's will continue to be one of our favorites."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointing and overpriced

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Our second visit to Charlie Palmers and we left with mixed feelings. The tuna tartare was a low point, disappointing flavor and the won-tons were so hard we worried about breaking a tooth. My bone in rib eye steak was OK but for the price it should have been exceptional.
The best parts of the meal were the bread basket and sides - which is a sad statement about the meal. I would have been happy if we had had this meal in a Yard House but for a Charlie Palmer restaurant it was unacceptably average.
On a plus note service was friendly and attentive."
Dined on 1/10/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

First time here

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Was a bit hesitant because I thought it might actually be in Bloomingdales but it isn't and the food is incredible! Great service, great wine....I would definitely recommend."
Dined on 1/09/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

disappointing, expensive

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"What a disappointment! I've been before & enjoyed it, not so now. The waiter's English was poor, his knowledge of the food abominable. I wanted grass-fed meat. He needed to ask the chef, returning to say the steaks were, & and then said the were not. I asked if the lamb was; he had to return to ask. This time he said clearly that they were grass-fed. When the arrived, the $54 lamb was fatty, so I asked the floor mgr if they were, and he said no. The waiter lied to make his sale. Too late to order send it back. A short pour glass of red wine was $24, nothing special. They did a nice birthday dessert, the only saving grace for a pricey meal. Will not return."
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2004
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lunch was good, nice to have champagne by the glas

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I would eat here again before the theatre or while shopping it was fast service and delicious"
Dined on 1/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was not my first visit to the restaurant. I had a great dining experience there; however, this time was different. We ask if they serve soufflé, and the waiter replied: "it is a French dish and we are not a French restaurant, plus you don't want to wait for 40 minutes"
I like to take my time & enjoy my meal so if I wanted to wait for 40 minutes why not? After that the waiter was no where to be seen.
Our dish is still great, but the service really needs improvement."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"very good food and service.
Definetely will come again
"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I haven't been to Charlie Palmer's since the menu changed and now I know I don't need to return. I liked the old menu that had a side selection of small plates of interesting dishes and playful ingredients. CP is now like every other steakhouse restaurant, with a selection of beef options, two fish and a chicken. Standard sides and appetizers. The food is good, just mainstream. It is a disappointment only because I enjoyed what was. For those new to the place, it will feel less stuffy than a Morton's. I had the oysters to start and the pork chop, dining partner had the shrimp cocktail and a steak, we shared the wild mushrooms as a side. All prepared very nicely.
The service is good. We had an array of troubles the night we went, but once the Manager was made aware (not by us), he was attentive and really tried to turn the night around. I give them extra credit for that!
"
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2007
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Experience!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The lighting and seating was very comfortable. Was able to take my friend and customer for a wonderful meal and take our time and enjoy. The filet mignon was cooked to perfection with a delicious tab of savory butter and a side of creamy horseradish sauce. Sides of potato au gratin and "creamed" spinach were wonderful."
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Horrible service. This place has gone down hill.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This restaurant used to be great. The last two times I have eaten here, the service has been atrocious and the food has gone from great to decent. Given the many great options in Orange County now, I don't expect this CP to be in business much longer. Thank God I was here with my employees, and not clients. THAT would've been a real disaster."
Dined on 12/11/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food was Good, Service was Poor

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My wife chose Charlie Palmer for her Birthday. Although the food was quite good, the service ruined the experience. It stared when we arrived and there was no one at the hostess station to seat us. Servers would come up, asked if we had been help and then disappear. Finally, we were showed to our table. We sat at our table for quite sometime before anyone came for our drink order. When the drinks finally did arrived, the server brought two drinks when we clearly ordered one. We sat even longer waiting for the dinner menu. As you might expect, service continued to poor throughout the evening. And then finally, given my wife's birthday, the server usually brings out a piece of cake that says Happy Birthday, e.g. Mastro's and Fleming's. At Charlie Palmer, nothing. Poor experience overall."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Disappointed with the menu change. Just another steak house now."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2005
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Charlie Palmer at Bloomingdale's
Based on the average of (46) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
30 out of 39 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic