Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Saffire Restaurant Reviews List

Saffire Restaurant

The bold flavors of Saffire's seasonally inspired menu reflect a belief in "the cuisine of today," healthy, eclectic, imaginative, unrestricted by ethnic boundaries...always evolving. Our chef elevates fresh, organic, carefully chosen ingredients above mere quality...to culinary artistry. Each meal is complimented by superb selections of wine. The atmosphere at Saffire restaurant and lounge is casually sophisticated, yet warm and welcoming.

Check out our Menus on our Facebook Page:
http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001471621527
See more Saffire Restaurant details
22 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(22 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
5 stars
(8)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.4 / 3
Moderate
Value 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(5)
  • great for lunch(5)
  • special occasion(4)
  • fit for foodies(3)
  • romantic(3)
  • great for brunch(2)
Saffire Restaurant Reviews List
Review 1 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was good but overpriced. Service was less then average, wait staff more concerned about the bigger tables (louder tables). Will not be going back."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/10/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Go Somewhere Else

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Thanksgiving dinner is one of my favorites of the year. For the last few years my family has vacationed Thanksgiving Week and had to rely on restaurants for the holiday meal.
This year we returned to Charleston and I found Saffire on line as a restaurant that offered a Thanksgiving Buffet. The previous trip to Charleston we dined at Blu Restaurant in Folly Beach on Thanksgiving and enjoyed it very much. This year we wanted something in Charleston Proper.
What do most people expect at a Thanksgiving Buffet? Fresh turkey with plenty of moist white and dark meat? Sapphire had only what appeared to be pressed turkey breast-and it was dry and without flavor. I love thigh meat-dark was not to be found. How about sweet potatoes? Nope. The buffet consisted of a decent soup, ham and white meat turkey, mashed potatoes, mixed veggies and salad items. Desert was all but gone at our 6:30PM seating.
The server could care less-never asked about our meal; never offered refills on our non-alcoholic drinks. He repeatedly walked over and around a fork lying on the floor near our table.
Charleston is one of the greatest food cities in the USA. One would think that a "fine restaurant" at a Marriott Hotel in this city would at the very least make an effort.
A better turkey meal would have been found at a Denny's. This was the worst Thanksgiving meal I have ever eaten---worse than the year I cooked by Turkey on "broil" instead of "bake" my accident."
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One-meal review

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I dined there for dinner only. I ate relatively early, so there was not a crowd then. The service was prompt and efficient. Appetizer and entree were not only delicious but laid out on the plates with an artistic flair that was quite pleasing. I would certainly return the next time I am in the area."
Dined on 10/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Restaurant was not serving when we got there. The info onOpen Table was incorrect"
Dined on 10/18/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/14/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2005
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2005
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Port in a storm

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We dined during the historic storm in Charleston. Despite the storm the restaurant served up a limited menu of good food. I recommend the flatbread for lunch.
I would return in fair weather."
Dined on 10/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Very nice meal!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a wonderful meal. Highly recommend the beef short ribs!"
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2014
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had a wonderful experience at this location. Have been here several times and always great food and service. Would definitely recommend this location!"
Dined on 7/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went there for lunch with three others because we were at a convention at the Marriott. Two had salads and two had oyster loaves with one she crab soup and one order of fried green tomatoes. Everyone was pleased with their choices."
Dined on 4/17/2015
 2015
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Saffire left much to be desired. The Marriott is beautiful, the outdoor seating area looked exciting and South Beach-esque, and it would have a nice view if it were near the water a little more. The food was decent but not all that great. However the overall experience was good and I would go back again for drinks and light appetizers. I would really like to sit on their patio next time."
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saffire Restaurant
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not a great choice

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We ate at Saffire because we were staying in the Marriott the night before the charleston Marathon. Only one of our group of three enjoyed his meal (the catch of the day) although he said his cocktail was poorly made. We ordered an appetizer that was brought out with the salads. The waiter forgot bread that went with one meal and we had to ask for a side salad. The wrong order was brought out for one person and it did not appear that dressing was put on one of the salads. We attempted to order creme brûlée for dessert but we're told that they were out of it (Our reservation was at 6 and we ordered dessert at the beginning of the meal.)"
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2007
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Saffire Restaurant
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
1 / 3
Quiet