Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

HONGAS Reviews List

HONGAS

Located in beautiful downtown Telluride, Colorado, HONGAS offers an eclectic variety of new age Japanese/American fare in a fun yet sophisticated atmosphere. Known for creative combinations with an emphasis on quality ingredients and impeccable preparation, Chef Erich Owen's cuisine can be described as new American with a French technique combined with Japanese influences, creating a truly unique experience in elegant fine dining.

With fresh, sustainable fish flown in daily from Hawaii and locally sourced cuts of delectable steak, there is something for everyone’s palette to enjoy. To compliment your meal, HONGAS boasts a comprehensive sake and wine list as well as an extensive cocktail list.
See more HONGAS details
90 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(90 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 90 reviews
5 stars
(32)
4 stars
(28)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(6)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.2 / 5
(Very Good) 3.2 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(38)
  • good for groups(32)
  • hot spot(18)
  • neighborhood gem(18)
  • special occasion(16)
  • kid-friendly(11)
HONGAS Reviews List
Review 1 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/21/2016
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Comparable or better than cosmos for sushi

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"fantastic sushi--lived in Maui and I was in heaven here as I don't get that very often--comparable or better than Cosmo believe it or not!"
Dined on 2/15/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Eaten here for over 15 years. Was good especially for sushi and rolls. This time not good and prices are over the top and not worth it. Be careful, or you will lose your regulars"
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great evening

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"THe power went out in Telluride for 24 hours, beginning mid-afternoon. What would become of our 6 p.m. reservation? Hongas broke out the candles and opened anyway. The menu was only slightly abbreviated, and the sushi and mojitos were as delicious as ever. The staff really went the extra mile to make this happen. We thorougly enjoyed the evening."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2007
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2004
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2004
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 2/09/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2009
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/09/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Our food was not very good. We had a great dinner last summer but this time it was not very tasty. We had the kobe beef."
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dissappointed long-time patron

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We arrived and were seated. Nobody told us that this was their last day before closing for the fall break, and that service and food would suffer. Even though the place was relatively empty, we waited a long time for drinks, then again for food. We never were asked how the food was (it was good). We asked for a refill on our cocktails; they never came, and we sat for a long time with empty glasses. When we asked where the drinks were, the waiter gave us an excuse and never offered to get us the drinks we had originally requested. We've frequented Hongas for a long time and were very disappointed. I looked for a manager to express my concerns to, but I could only find a waitress (nobody thanking us on our way out). I told the waitress about our mediocre experience and she said she was sorry, and told me that it was the last day and there was nothing she could do about it. We never received notification that the service was going to be poor because it was the last day before the fall break; if we had, we would have gone to another of the numerous restaurants in Telluride. Sorry; why stay open if you can't put your best product on the table?"
Dined on 9/20/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Limited menu not good"
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, service was not what is used to be.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Quality/variety WAY down over past year.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 9/17/2015
 2011
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Too much attitude

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our dinner was largely spoiled by our waiter who tried to upsell the menu from the start without learning anything about our tastes. His face visibly dropped when we didn't leap after his suggestions, picking instead what met our fancy. Then he forgot us. We lacked a water glass. He never brought it. We ordered oysters on the half shell, they never arrived. I tend to be curious about local wines and so chose a Colorado Petit Verdit from Sutcliffe. He denigrated my order but the wine proved decent. Fruity but with some tight structure.
So if we excerpt the waiter from the experience, we did receive good food. We had the mussaman curry, the ramen, and the black rice dish. We were eating light and the food satisfied with good flavor.
I could imagine going back and having an amazing experience. Just not with that waiter."
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2012
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good for a change of pace

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a fabulous window table. The pomegranate mojito was yummy. We ordered several apps and asked that they be brought out in stages but initially they came crashing out together but we were able to slow down the last two. The spring rolls were interesting but a bit heavy on the cilantro. Shrimp were by far our favorite . Special sushi was too heavy on rice and light on fish. Potstickers which we were craving were disappointing . I'd certainly go back to try some other things.. Really ."
Dined on 9/05/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Really disappointed

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Hongas was recently purchased, however was told there would not be many changes except for an expanded sushi bar (was told this by someone who worked there). Took my parents there and were SO disappointed by the tiny menu, even tinier sushi option which omitted several of the rolls Honga's is known for, and bottom line, we all left very unimpressed. Was told the next day (hopefully rumor) that they are planning on turning it into a steakhouse - we already have a steakhouse , however we will no longer have a Thai/ Sushi restaurant. Hope they figure out what they are doing soon, have a feeling this will be the next restaurant to go out of business."
Dined on 8/24/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Everything delicious!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Asian food is not my first choice, but absolutely everything we ordered, which was a lot in a party of 6 hungry hikers, was surprisingly delicious. We'll definitely go back as one of my top choices."
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 8/14/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Service needs help.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"New ownership has not changed the old Honga's service routing, which needs help.
Ordered Edaname as an appetizer and it was the last dish to the table. The system Honga's used has never worked and it is still broken. One appetizer was disappointing, but the sushi roll was very good.
"
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

New owners but still great!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I did not know that Honga's had changed owners but was pleasantly surprised that the quality of the food had not changed a bit since the last time I had been. I heard someone say they had kept all the cooks. Very fresh and inventive flavors. Still a favorite of mine!"
Dined on 8/11/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/07/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This place changed owners. As a result it is no longer a true sushi restaurant which I think is a mistake. Last year the place was packed. This year there were only a few tables. Sushi menu was short and too limited."
Dined on 8/10/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/08/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/28/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Birthday Party Review

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Love the food and drinks at Honga's! But don't plan to dine here in the evening during a festival in Telluride - if you want to have an intimate conversation with friends that is...Honga's rocks but the whole restaurant has very little sound buffering. With a gorgeous large open environment, and hopping music on the sound system, we had to nearly shout across the table to hear our friends in our party of 8. The food cannot be beat, and the drinks are divine, so best to enjoy Honga's at lunch, during the off season, or if you are up for a spunky dinner without conversation. Honga's - ever consider some sound proofed fold out walls to create a quiet zone or to box in parties that want to toast...and be heard?"
Dined on 7/12/2015
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Upon arrival no receptionist. I had to tell a waiter at the bar that I had a reservation. While about 75% full, the restaurant was grossly understaffed. The staff tried hard but they were just overwhelmed. Long waits and the food was very average. I am a local in Telluride. I have visited Honga's many times over the years. The direction has been consistently down hill. The new owner has not yet found a way to reverse the direction.
I can not recommend Honga's or the Roma Bar.
"
Dined on 7/06/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

fun and fab but spendy

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our fave is the blackened tofu-- and we're not vegetarians! We love the menu and the mojitos!"
Dined on 9/10/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/03/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

always fresh, sustainable, delicious and beautiful

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

iluvtoeat

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was good but not great. Had appetizers and they were good. Overpriced but that's Telluride. Service was attentive."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Honga's always delivers!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been dining at Honga's for many many years and it always is a spectacular dining experience! It is one of our absolute favorites in Telluride! Blackened tofu, Potstickers, Tom Kha Gai, sushi rolls are all incredible! Don't miss this one of a kind restaurants!"
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Food Good Time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Friendly, smiling and helpful wait staff. Great selection of Asian Cuisine, great value compared to other local spots and of course super mojitos."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent food and wine, cosy atmosphere, freshly cooked food and very tasty. Our server was extremely knowledgeable. We will return."
Dined on 3/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

another place to eat in Telluride

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service is ok. Food is spotty. Sometimes good. Sometimes ok and some times not so good. This time not so good. Will come again but not too soon,"
Dined on 3/01/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great place in Telluride

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always a great dinner in Telluride. One of our favorites! Definitely a change of pace from typical mountain fare."
Dined on 2/09/2015
 2012
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Reluctant recommendation.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Most everything we ordered was very good, however their sushi menu is down to only a few items and seems some of the local favorites (crunchy shrimp?? Seriously??) are missing. I ordered the special Tempura roll, assuming it would be similar, but it was undercooked and there was no crunch to it at all, just soggy Tempura batter around a salmon roll. YUCK. I miss the crunch. The pork soup was good and some of the old favorites are still on there like the blackened tofu, but where did the spring rolls go? Seems like almost everything I went there for was now off the menu. I appreciate the effort that goes into sustainable menus but shrimp was still being served elsewhere on the menu, so I couldn't figure out why the old favorites were tossed aside. Bottom line I guess, is you don't go to Hongas for sushi anymore."
Dined on 2/10/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for HONGAS
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

what's happened to Honga's?

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food has gotten worse here; Honga's used to be our favorite restaurant in Telluride, but all the family agrees that the new menu and seemingly new recipes or execution aren't as good as they were a couple of years ago. It's not bad, understand, but not up to the always great quality we used to expect from this restaurant. The service remains very slow, and without really great food.....it's just not the attraction it used to be."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>