Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sawmill - Edmonton South Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Sawmill - Edmonton South

This location began a trend over 35 years ago serving the best quality product available at a very reasonable price. "AAA" Alberta Prime Rib and Certified Angus Steaks are the two staples that have made the Sawmill Restaurants the most popular dining establishments in the city. This location is divided into a dining room and pub. The dining room is like no other in the city, first class dining in a rustic Sawmill atmosphere. Surrounded by old sawmill blades measuring 5 feet in diameter and photographs as large as 30 square feet featuring sawmills over a hundred years ago. The pub is reminiscent of an English style with half its draught beer imported from the United Kingdom. Try one or sample them all to decide which will be your pint of choice!
41 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
(41 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(20)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
3.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(23)
  • good for groups(19)
  • fit for foodies(10)
  • great for lunch(10)
  • romantic(7)
  • late-night find(4)
Sawmill - Edmonton South Reviews List
Review 1 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 15/05/2014
 2012
Dined on 15/05/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 15/05/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I prefer not to make a formal review, see below for my concerns."
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Sawmill NY Eve

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Made reservation for supper for 6 for NY eve. Food was excellent however our waiter was rather busy and took nearly 30 minutes to even get our drinks. So service this night was not up to participate."
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was good but the service was lacking. As this was New Year's eve I would have thought they would have had more staff working. The dinging room was only half full (6:00) but it took over 20 min. to get service. I have eaten their many times before and I will go again."
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2014
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were especially happy to be seated in a quiet nook, it was very busy new years eve, service was slow due to volume, but we were not in a hurry. The food was good everyone enjoyed their meals and dessert. We'd go back"
Dined on 31/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great lobster and steak special on Mondays

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We went to the Southside Sawmill on Monday for their steak and lobster special. I like my steaks very well done and most restaurants cannot seem to get it right. The Sawmill however had my steak perfectly done, no pink. The lobster tail was quite large and I was pleasantly surprised with the size of it. The accompanying vegetables were done perfectly and were ones I like. It was a very enjoyable dining experience. Will definitely be back."
Dined on 22/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

What a bunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The Sunday brunch before Christmas is wow what a lot of choices! From Maui ribs to the roasts, lobster pasta, fish,chicken, raw oysters, shrimp, breakfast foods and even eggnog. The desert went on and on. Omelettes made to your liking, chocolate waterfall. Asparagus , sweet baby carrots and vegetarian selections. It was great!"
Dined on 21/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Sketchy Start

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food was great but when we arrived the gates were locked and we thought we were in the wrong place. When we did get in we had to go find someone to help us. It was like they were surprised they had guests."
Dined on 17/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"A good restaurant over the years. Service was excellent."
Dined on 15/12/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Its too pricey and quite bland tasting.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We took our employees here for Christmas dinner. The portions for the rib-eye steaks didn't look right and the vegetables consisted of two pieces of asparagus and three peppers with your choice of potato (twice baked or baked). The waitress was pushy. The dinner took some time to arrive but she kept pushing the wine and assumed we wanted more without asking me or my husband if we even wanted more. I'm not sure she even realized who was paying for the dinner, she was one of the worst waitresses I've ever had. She made a comment to my husband about her gratuity as well, very poor taste on her part to even mention that."
Dined on 13/12/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great service and food. Enjoyed our time there.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our area was very chilly until we put menus over the vents. Music was a bit loud for conversation. Food was great and quick - we were there for a lunch and time was important. Service was good - very thoughtful server."
Dined on 02/12/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/11/2014
 2014
Dined on 30/11/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Please find the name of the waitress and the cook we had as I want to make sure to ask for both of them on my next reservation.From the moment we walked in ,I was impress.professional.The waitress was experienced ,friendly and knew her menu and wine list well.When I asked her what she liked and what she would recommend ,she didn't hesitate to answer my question.The food on the plate was all just perfect.The 3 of us all had steaks and they were all done just right the way we asked.The veggies were also perfect not over or undercook.I'm originally from New Brunswick and I've been in Alberta for 35 years but I go back east for my seafood feast often so I know how difficult it is to cook just a lobster tail without undercooking or overcooking it which leaves it dry and rubbery.That lobster was also done to perfection.Its not cheap by any means but the portions were plentiful for that quality of food and I felt that it was worth every penny.I've ate in some of the best top ten rated restaurant in Edmonton and this was right up there with any of them and better than some. I never posted a review about any business in the past but I felt I needed to do this.I went there on a Sunday with a reservation for 5pm.If you want a flawless meal with top notch customer service and get your moneys worth.Go there.
Dan"
Dined on 30/11/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Nice Experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2014
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The restaurant was close to our hotel so we decided to try it. The reviews have been good so we wanted to try something new. Our waiter was wonderful and very attentive. The food was delivered quickly and hot. The taste was amazing. I would definitely recommend the restaurant."
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Service was great, food was wonderful. My only complaint is that I was sitting near the front where they have booths, usually a booth is my preference; however, the seats are connected to the booth seat behind you, every time the person behind you moves or shifts you move with them, was a bit annoying. Other than that, all was great."
Dined on 29/11/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sawmill - Edmonton South
Based on the average of (27) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
22 out of 25 recommend this product
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
3.2 / 3
Energetic