Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Funky Monkey Mills Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Funky Monkey Mills

Restaurant Description: Funky Monkey Mills Ave. is a neighborhood gem located in the Mills 50 District of Downtown Orlando. Beautiful hardwood floors. Crystal Glasses, Wines, Sake, beer including draft.
Our menu reflects Asian American Influences includes award winning Sushi, Steak, Seafood and other creative dishes. Join us for the most romantic restaurant in Downtown Orlando's trendy Mills 50 district
beautiful artwork and a hidden oasis awaits you.
30 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
(30 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 30 reviews
5 stars
(10)
4 stars
(7)
3 stars
(7)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(1)
Food 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(15)
  • neighborhood gem(12)
  • notable wine list(12)
  • fit for foodies(11)
  • special occasion(10)
  • late-night find(4)
Funky Monkey Mills Reviews List
Review 1 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/20/2011
 2011
Dined on 8/20/2011
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/20/2011
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We love the food & service provided by here!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

What happened to this place?

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My wife and I moved out of Orlando a few years ago. We were I'm town for a show and I suggested what use to be my favorite menu. Some things were the same. Food though was not one of them.
The menus which use to be highlighted with great dishes only had 6 or 7 entrees with most being seafood. The sushi was very mediocre. Not sure what happened here but it just seemed like this place stopped trying. What a shame."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2009
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing decline

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It's been a few years since I last visited Funky Monkey, and I regret to report it seems to have declined both in popularity and quality. It used to be very busy and quite good, but we were 1 of 2 tables occupied Saturday evening. Perhaps we were too early at 6:30, but when we left at 7:30, no one else had come in either. My first wine selection was not on hand, but the substitute was very good. My appetizer of stuffed avocado (ahi tuna, spicy majo, eel sauce) had to be returned - the cook had microwaved the tuna to the point it had the consistency of cooked pork - still don't know why it was cooked at all. In fact, I thought at first it was cooked pork and asked the waitress to double check with the kitchen. She took it off the bill. We had a couple sushi rolls and they were unremarkable. On a positive note, Natasha, the waitress was very attentive and professional."
Dined on 3/14/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Not only was the food fabulous our server was very accommodating and very beautiful"
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great foo. Great atmosphere! Nobody there!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Great food and cozy atmosphere! A little pricey but we were happy with the quality. There was NOONE else in the restaraunt on a Friday night though."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Sync up service with food levels

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food was very good once we got it. I'm not sure if it was the server or the kitchen. My gut tells me it was the server. One of our dishes had to be sent back to be reheated. The lasagna and cheese plate was great. Oh, and our reservation was for 7:30 and we were sat at 8:15. The wine was nice to help pass the time. I would give them another try."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Long waiting and food was not worth the price

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We got there at 7 and were seated right away. Took 20 min to even be seen by our waiter. 40 min in between courses while people that showed before us were getting theirs faster. Got the shrimp scampi and was like biting into a lemon. Was horrible. When all said and done with the valentine's day 4 course meal and some wine plus a tip it was around 200 dollars. I've never felt like it was such a waste in my life. I would never return. Just totally ruined our valentine's dinner and mood. I would not recommend this place to anyone"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Waited almost 90 minutes after being seated to get food and they never came up to ask how we were doing or apologize for the wait. They forgot to serve us the starter amuse bouche. The food was sub par....the grouper looked and tasted like tilapia. The lasagna was average at best (I was expecting Nicks Italian Kitchen to have great lasagna, especially for $59! Olive Garden has way better lasagna). The deserts were terrible...if they aren't going to make their own desserts they should at least spend the money to get them from an actual bakery.
$59 per person for a prefix Valentines dinner... I expect very good service and great food...we got neither. The quality of food aside, given the extraordinarily long wait for food and the fact that they forgot to give us the starter, one would think that they would have offered to do something to compensate us (discount the meal, comp the wine,etc) but nothing was done except give us the $176 bill and bid us farewell.
"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2009
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had a enjoyable dining experience. The food was excellent, the service was quick. We will return and make sure we spread the word"
Dined on 1/20/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

One of the worst meals I have ever had.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We walked in to am empty restaurant on a Saturday night, that should have been our first clue. The server tried his hardest and was super sweet but that could not help this restaurant. They were out of the first 3 bottles of wine we tried to order. The clam pasta did not taste like it was made from fresh ingredients and honestly a canned pasta sauce would have been better. Very poor product from the the funky monkey wine company!! Don't waste your time, taste buds or money!!"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2011
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Funky Monkey Mills
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Experience was satisfactory at best.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2014
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our reservation was for 5pm (the time that the restaurant opens) but the door was still locked at 5pm. Once the server saw us at the door he came and unlocked it stating that they open at 5pm but no one ever comes that early, but we had a reservation??? The server seated us and said he would be running around setting things up because they just opened at 5pm and people don't start coming in until 8pm...didn't you just tell us that at the door? The restaurant was warm and stuffy and about mid was through our meal we felt and heard the air conditioner come on, I guess turning on the air was part of the setting up process. We wanted to order the goat cheese appetizer but were told the owner had just gone out to purchase supplies because they just opened at 5pm but no one comes in that early...seems like we'd already heard that? I would also like to add that a family of four came into the restaurant around 5:15 so we were not the only early patrons. We skipped an appetizer since we were too early to get any goat cheese and just had entrees which were just mediocre and nothing worthy of a return visit or a recommendation."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2014
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Funky Monkey Mills
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
10 out of 14 recommend this product
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate