Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Avenue Grill Reviews List

Avenue Grill

Avenue Grill is located at the corner of 14th St. & Pennsylvania Avenue inside the JW Marriott. Its design celebrates the history of America’s Main Street & its cuisine features classic American food & wine. Angus steaks & fresh seafood accompanied by creative appetizers & great salads are complimented by an extensive wine list prepared by our J.W. Wine Ambassadors.

The restaurant offers a 20% discount on food between 5 pm and 6.45 pm if you present your theater ticket from the same day to the server.
See more Avenue Grill details
139 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(139 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 139 reviews
5 stars
(44)
4 stars
(51)
3 stars
(30)
2 stars
(12)
1 star
(2)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
1.8 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(39)
  • good for groups(29)
  • kid-friendly(18)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • special occasion(15)
  • late-night find(13)
Avenue Grill Reviews List
Review 1 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/30/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2016
 2006
Dined on 4/11/2016
 2006
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/11/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Service, Food and Drink

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We had a wonderful dinner after attending the matinee show at the National Theater. The service was outstanding, friendly and very prompt. I had one of the best cosmopolitans ever! The menu was new and our choices were delicious - crab cakes and salmon. We were allowed to make a substitution for the salad that came with the crab cakes. We were served a variety of breads that were very tasty. We ended our meal with bread pudding and coffee. The coffee tasted as if the beans had been pressed right before brewing and served to us. No need to wait on the coffee cup to be refilled as we were given a carafe of coffee that kept the coffee very hot. The atmosphere was very quiet and not rushed. To top it of, we got a 20% discount off on our dinner for telling our waiter that we had attended the show at the National Theater."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2008
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good hotel restaurant. Location trumps food.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We were looking specifically for an above-average restaurant within a few blocks of Metro Centre, so we checked availability via OpenTable. Avenue Grill appeared to be a nice choice and we had not been there. It's not easy to see from the street - as it's inside the massive JW Marriott.
They were very quiet the evening we dined. Our server was very courteous and accommodating.
I did enjoy the Block Island grilled swordfish. It was a large, meaty portion. But the rest of the food was uninspired and not at all memorable. My salad was overly saturated with dressing. Asparagus was limp. My husband's steak was over done. Overall, a bit of a disappointment.
For a fairly pricey dinner, there are much better choices in the District."
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/20/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Easy spot to meet before the theater"
Dined on 4/10/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Service was first class."
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Terrific for pre-theater dining ........... excellent food and service, and very quiet. Will certainly return."
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Perfect before going to National Theater

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Perfect spot before going to the National Theater. The food was quite good with vegan options. The service was friendly. We even got a discount for going to the theater! Can't beat that."
Dined on 4/14/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/15/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/15/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Super adequate.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The food was fine. The server we had looked like she wandered in by mistake. She was fine except difficult to find when we wanted our bill. The food was good. It was nice to be served and get a nice burger and fries.
Leave extra time to get the bill. Don't be in a hurry."
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Good option before going to theaters in the area. The waitress disappeared around the time we were ready to leave and we had to get her. Otherwise good experience."
Dined on 4/08/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

great burger!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"visiting DC for Cherry Blossom Festival and not that we don't love great food...but DC is FULL of froofroo restaurants that just overdo being creative....felt like every meal we had was an episode of Chopped :) until we got to Avenue Grill....we just wanted some simple classic food...crazy us, a normal burger and they delivered. It was juicy and sloppy and perfectly what we wanted. The bar lounge area was a nice place to pop in, sit by the fire, watch the Masters tourny and grab a quick bite before hitting the museums.
We tease that of the several 5 star restaurants in DC we tried....our favorite meal was the burger (and crab/corn chowder) at Avenue Grill.
"
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just okay, close to theatre

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2004
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2004
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We chose Avenue Grill because it was right next door to the National Theatre. That, along with the quick service, were the best things about it.
The ambiance is very cafeteria-like, the food is mediocre. It's inside a large hotel, and it feels like it.
I wouldn't return unless I was really pressed for time."
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2004
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pre-show dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We had dinner at Avenue Grill before seeing Jersey Boys at National Theatre. Service was great, food was pretty good and the restaurant is steps away from the theatre."
Dined on 4/06/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/05/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/05/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/07/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/28/2016
 2004
Dined on 3/28/2016
 2004
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/28/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good but Not memorable

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2006
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Fries were the best part of the meal. Steak was good too. Dessert was a disappointment as the bread pudding arrived cold and when we mentioned it the waiter did take them back but instead of giving us new ones we got the same old ones that were thrown in the microwave and still came out cold in the center. Not the best way to end a birthday meal."
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2006
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/25/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"great place to dine if you are taking in a show, otherwise DC has got lots of other places to dine. Waitress was quite nice and did a great job."
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Loved The Avenue

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We found this spot after leaving the theater. The food was greaat!! The service was outstanding. I would come back simply based on the service and the attentiveness of the staff. Definitely a spot I would return to."
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2004
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Loved menu, timeframe, and staff

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"loved the menu selections, timeframe of service, and friendly and accommodating staff! Plan on returning this week for another crab cake sandwich!!!"
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2016
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 3/11/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have gluten allergies and the staff was great at offering advice for the menu. The also brought out gluten free bread with the other bread, which was a very nice touch. Overall great experience."
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/29/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

we made a point to come back to this restaurant!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Hit and miss

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I'm torn writing this review, since some aspects of my visit to Avenue Grill were good, and others not so good.
Service: We were not greeted at the host stand when we arrived. We ended up waiting around for about 5 minutes before a server walked by in the restaurant and saw us standing there. He promptly seated us, though. The waitress was nice, though - nothing spectacular, but nothing bad either.
Food: Our mussels appetizer was fabulous! The scallops were cooked very well, but the salads left much to be desired as the whole thing was doused in dressing, and there was little-to-no flavor overall. One thing we did enjoy was the bread!
Price: A little steep for the quality of the food, but not unreasonable for a hotel in DC.
Overall: I was generally unimpressed by the restaurant, but there were a few redeeming qualities, so I think I won't come back unless I'm staying at the hotel again, and in that respect, just out of convenience.
This all being said, the breakfast buffet here is great!! I would definitely recommend Avenue Grill for breakfast over their dinner service and room service of the hotel!"
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Favorite!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Consistently excellent! Happy hour appetizers of mussels and potstickers were great and priced right. Entrees of Alamosa Bass and Ham and Swiss Gratin were delicious! Service was paced just right. We dined early, so the noise level was much reduced which made for a wonderful evening of conversation. Avenue Grill is one of our go-to restaurants."
Dined on 2/22/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 2/18/2016
 1999
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dinner - poor to fair, Breakfast excellent

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We spent Saturday night at the Marriott and ate at the Avenue Grill before going to the theater. The dinner salads we ordered were excellent. My friend ordered one of the pasta entrees and I ordered the chicken. The chicken was small and came with green beans, but was quite edible but was very plain. The pasta dish was inedible. The waitress called the chef out to talk to us and he told us the pasta was braised. The bottom line is it was so tough that it couldn't even be cut with a knife. To his credit, the chef took it off the bill.
The following morning we had the breakfast buffet and it was quite good. Great omelet/waffle station and many breakfast options at the buffet. We would definitely go for breakfast again.
Service for both meals was excellent. The restaurant was mostly empty at 6:00 pm on a Saturday night and was moderately busy on Sunday morning around 10:00."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Birthday Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"The evening was perfect from beginning to end! Food, wine, service...everything was perfect!"
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful moment with parents

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2009
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Convenient and Good

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We chose Avenue a Grill mostly because of its convenience and location, close to many Washington DC theaters. We do not usually eat in Hotel restaurants.
The food was good, as was the service with good flexibility on the part of the kitchen to accommodate some requests that we had (lentils with no onion for my wife).
We came back after our theater (New Years Eve) and our same waiter made us some espresso even though the restaurant was technically closed and the final patrons were finishing their meals.
"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Spot for the Theater

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Booked a reservation for 6:30 PM on a Friday night since we had tickets to National Theater and this restaurant is steps away. Prompt service, good food, a bit pricey but the convenience was worth it. The restaurant is located inside a hotel, and next time we have theater tickets, we will either eat here again, or at the bar directly across the lobby from the restaurant that has a busy bar scene, and what looks to be great bar food and nibbles."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good for pre-theater

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"We chose Avenue Grill because of its proximity to National Theater. The food was excellent. The service, while friendly, was quite slow. We would consider returning in the future for the food, keeping in mind that we need to allow plenty of time."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good for pre-theater dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Adjacent to the National Theater, the Avenue Grill in the Marriott hotel serves good food in a pleasant atmosphere. The wait staff is very courteous and attentive. The restaurant opens to the elegant lobby of the hotel which is currently filled with Christmas decorations. In addition theater goers receive a 20% discount on their check."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Avenue Grill
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Decent Hotel Food

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We've eaten at the hotel when we stayed at the hotel before. Very little ambiance like you are sitting in the late lobby. Nit a separate restaurant. Waitstaff was friendly but hard to catch when we were there before a show this time. However, it is very convenient for Warner and National Theatres and they do offer 20% off if you have theatre tickets. I like my salmon medium rare but it came out barely warm in the middle. They were very accomodating and took it off the bill even though I told them not to. Would recommend for drinks and a quick bite before a show."
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>