Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar

Since 1980, La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar has been well known in Manhattan for traditional French cuisine and contemporary specialties served in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere.
La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar is a French Bistro carrying not only the gastronomic traditions of Provence and Cote D' Azur, but also those of other regions of France, represented in our daily specials such as: Bouillabaisse, Pot au feu and Cassoulet. We offer an array of fresh seafood, with a great emphasis on mussels, including five different recipes. The Italian influence in the South of France is of course manifested in our pastas prepared with our family recipes.
56 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(56 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
5 stars
(23)
4 stars
(21)
3 stars
(10)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(33)
  • romantic(28)
  • fit for foodies(17)
  • special occasion(15)
  • great for lunch(11)
  • late-night find(8)
La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We loved our dinners at La Mediterranee and will definitely return. Lovely piano with a fellow singing at one point. Festive yet cozy and intimate. Would have given five stars if they weren't out of TWO menu items at the beginning of the evening."
Dined on 9/25/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 9/24/2015
 2009
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/24/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/22/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/22/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Have been coming to La Mediterranee for years and have never been disappointed."
Dined on 9/22/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We always enjoy having dinner at this restautant. It has been a neighborhood staple for many years. The menu is varied and the food is nicely prepared. The restaurant is decorated tastfully."
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Charming , lovely surrounding , excellent service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My experience at La Mediterranee in September 18 was wonderful ! I took my friend visiting from California to La Mediterranee for lunch.
The atmosphere was wonderful , we felt like we were transported to France) Bartender made for us so good drinks, he was professional and attentive. The girl waitress was very friendly, fast and just an amazing server.
Food was excellent. I had the best omelette ever, and my friend enjoyed her fish special.
La Mediterranee is lovely in every way!
"
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Highly Recommend - Classic French

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2012
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We have been at this restaurant at least 10 times in the last couple of years. We have always found the ambiance to be wonderful, the food fantastic, and the staff very refreshing. We have never felt rushed and they value a couple taking a night out.
Food - TOP NOTCH! I have never had a bad meal. However, the food the last time I ate there (9/18/15) was the best ever. I don't if they have a new chef or not; however, everything was amazing. We had the French Onion Soup - with the right mixture of onions, cheese, broth, and fresh thyme; the coq au vin - which melted in our mouths; and the chocolate soufflé - a must every visit.
Staff - Always helpful. Very attentive.
Ambiance - having just been in France in August, it feels as if you are in a French Bistro!
We highly recommend this restaurant. We will go back."
Dined on 9/18/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/01/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2006
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/06/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

An Oasis in the Chaos of 'Hip' NYC Restaurants.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It is an old-fashioned French restaurant. Traditional recipes, good service, QUIET so that one may hear one's dining companion speak.
My guest and I both partook of one of the appetizer specials, vichyssoise. Not the rich bleach-white vichyssoise of Carême but a pale green, refreshing but nonetheless hearty concoction.
My guest (himself a noted chef) chose the Coq au vin from the regular menu and declared it the best he had eaten in the last twenty years. He particularly extolled the reduction of the sauce to an almost molé consistency.
I chose another special of the day, the striped bass. Two generous fillets were presented on a mound of lightly cooked julienned vegetables, crowned by two fresh shrimps. Heaven!
As host, I perspicaciously eyed the soufflés listed on the dessert menu as we were first ordering. I chose the Grand Marnier, he the chocolate. (I believe those are the only two flavors offered.)
The wines that we ordered by the glass were quite good. My guest ordered his traditional Chardonnay and I a Mâcon. We both started with kirs.
NO TYPICAL 'NEW YORKER' (MEANING THOSE BORN AND BROUGHT UP IN 'BROKEN NECK, IDAHO', CLUTCHING COPIES OF 'NEW YORK' (NOT ‘THE NEW YORKER’) and 'TIME OUT' MAGAZINES IN THEIR SWEATY LITTLE PAWS) AND UNDER THE AGE OF FORTY NEED COME HERE.
Please leave it to us fourth generation NATIVE New Yorkers to enjoy.
The rest of you, go to Balthazar where you may enjoy the noise and confusion and, if you are lucky, you will be hit by a mirror falling off the wall.
"
Dined on 7/15/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Vital & Charismatic

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I came to this restaurant before but didn't get to review it. I still love the atmosphere of the restaurant, the same way I loved it back then. I hope the restaurant will survive for a long long time. My girlfriends and I had a wonderful dinner while we enjoyed our prefix priced-menu . We went during the restaurant's 35th anniversary, what a coincidence. We all ordered trout entree from the menu and everyone was happy with her appetizer, entree and dessert. I had an endive salad dish, trout entree and creamer brûlée. In addition to that we were entertained by a charming singer, as always. The best part is when most crowd said goodbye to us on the way out to make sure we had a great time. Yes we did, indeed. A lovely dinner accompanied by good friends is hard to find. Thank You for making our evening another chapter to remember."
Dined on 8/22/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely spot.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Loved the cozy atmosphere, flowers on the table, and the painting on the walls. Felt like we were in a lovely café in France. The food was delicious and they give you a very nice size glass of wine, which is not the case in so many places these days. Good selection of items on the menu To add to the ambiance, they had a piano player. Our waiter was friendly and welcoming. We look forward to our next visit."
Dined on 8/20/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Excellent food ,great service and enjoyed the ambiance"
Dined on 8/18/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Good atmosphere , friendly staff

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/15/2015
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2007
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/13/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food very good but not too many choices in the menu., and some choices were not available."
Dined on 7/26/2015
 2001
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

welcoming charming centrally located french bistro

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"warm welcome to french bistro for lunch on east side of NYC/Manhattan, 2nd & 50th. Prix fix menu and great hors'doeuvres and desserts. Met manager/owner upon arrival. Held our reservation when we were late due to traffic. Courteous waiter. modest prices. great location."
Dined on 6/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The piano music was a nice touch and having smaller portions was a definite plus."
Dined on 6/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

A nice change French dinner on the east side.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The restaurant is nice, the food is good, and the portions are large. The $35. Price fixed dinner is very good with nice choices. I would have liked beef bourgenion, but it was not on the price fixed menu . The coq au vin was and was good.
My only complaints are that the temperature in the restaurant was too hot and it took forty minutes for someone to turn on the air conditioning.
The $9.00 for a glass of Pinot Grigio was okay, but the wine wasn't' chilled enough. To charge $4.50 per cup of warm not hot coffee , without asking if the customer wants more is wrong.
The service was a bit hap hazard.
The older gentleman playing piano is probably the best part of the place.
"
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

good french bistro at respectable prices.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great little neighberhood find

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Was going to the theatre and did not want to dine in the district. Came across this lovely little neighborhood gem on 2nd Ave.. Great food and service. Reasonable prices. Sat at the front overloooking the outdoor seating. As the place filled up, many of the people were regulars as the staff seemed to know everyone by name. Can't wait to go back again."
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/20/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A delightful evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Frequent visitors to France, we found the food at La Mediterranee to be excellent, authentic, and well-priced. The service was attentive and professional. The atmosphere was quiet and comfortable. The piano player was a surprise treat. He had an extensive repertoire and played with great skill, but kept it unobtrusive. Mediterranee is the kind of place you dream of just stumbling upon as you wander the streets of a big city. (We found it through Open Table, and it was an easy stroll from our Midtown hotel.) Can't wait to return."
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2009
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

dinner

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We had a lovely dinner in one of our favorite neighborhood restaurants. The food was as good as usual. The piano player played a medley of songs to accompany the meal. The owner greeted us in his charming way. It was a nice evening.."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

ever charming and delicious ...lunch or dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/03/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

One of the most ambient meals we've ever had...

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The lobster ravioli, thoughtful waiting, and an incredible piano in the middle of the room played by a maestro. This is a spectacular restaurant, so don't be put off by any amateur food critics who misunderstand what this website is for. Don't think, just go."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Lunch Boring; Dinner Better

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had been about a year ago for dinner with five friends ad enjoyed it quite a bit. Might have been the company. Recently went for lunch and chicken paillard was dry and tough. It was on the prix fixe special, so maybe ordering from regular menu is the way to go, but I won't be back any time soon to see if this is true. Room is quite lovely; service unobtrusive and professional, French style."
Dined on 4/08/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A wonderful dinner in quiet, quaint surroundings

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Still is and always has been a place to have a delicious dinner in a quiet surrounding;
a quiet oasis in which to enjoy conversation with friends accompanied by soft and
soothing live piano music. Don't miss the chance to enjoy it.
"
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great service from the staff but food so so...

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were a group of 6 persons celebrating a birthday. The restaurant was almost empty that day so we had great attention of the staff. The service was excellent, filling up our glasses, removing empty plates, being around at all times. Being a French native, I certainly have tasted better French food, that was just OK but my group seems to have rather enjoyed it ! Dessert, profiteroles, was good and the staff even put a candle on top of the strawberry for the celebration. Like I said, very nice staff !"
Dined on 4/02/2015
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Neighborhood gem

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2010
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Have gone here a number of times with my wife, and it gets better all the time. Very authentic French bistro. Good to great, simple but classic French. The profiteroles might be the best in the city and my friends consider me to be a profiteroles aficionado."
Dined on 3/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Looking for a hidden gem in NYC

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Beautiful restaurant with fabulous food and excellent service. Just what we were looking for in NYC. Live piano music with suprise guest singing some, loved it!"
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Food!!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food was good but not my favorite. I have had better food in other French restaurants in the city. However it was ok overall."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great Manhattan Gem

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Quite enjoyable. A delightful Manhattan gem. The old guy at the piano was awesome."
Dined on 2/04/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

"Cozy bistro" is the right phrase

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had lunch here during Christmas Week. If what you're looking for is a cozy, comfortable, neighborhood bistro with very good service, this is it! Traditional bistro faire (eggs benedict, pate, etc) but food was very tasty and service very accommodating; at no point did we feel rushed, and the staff was very good. We were even offered the soup d'jour "just to try it". Would we go back again? Definitely, for a comfy and tasty lunch or dinner!"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Quite gem in a bustling city.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were looking for a place for dinner on our mother/ daughters annual holiday getaway. Every place we inquired had over an hour wait, so I used m open table app and that suggested this Bistro near by, I am so thrilled we did. All apects friendly and excellent Highly recommend"
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Live music at a neighborhood bistro

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"For our final dinner in Manhattan, we picked La Mediterranee because it has live music in the dining room. It actually was a return visit for us; we ate there a year ago on our first trip to New York. We enjoyed the food and the music the first time and decided to try again. We encountered a slight cultural clash with the server. We wanted to enjoy our cocktails and listen to the music before placing our dinner order. That made her very uncomfortable. Finally we placed the order. From then on, she was very careful to pace the meal according to our preference. We had a similar experience last spring in Italy. There they really wanted us to order everything right away. But then they never rushed us and didn't seem to care however long we chose to linger after we were done eating. Same at La Mediterranee. Other than that minor clash, we had a very pleasant evening. The ambiance of the bistro is very comfortable and relaxing - nice wall murals of French fishing villages. The food was very good. We both ordered the prix fixe and thought that was a great value. The piano player was very good and had an extensive repertoire. He also was very personable, and we found him to be very entertaining."
Dined on 11/10/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for La Mediterranee Bistro & Wine Bar
Based on the average of (15) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
12 out of 12 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic