Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

The Melting Pot - Irvine Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

The Melting Pot - Irvine

The Melting Pot is the premier fondue restaurant. Enjoy four courses of fondue, fine wine, and fun with your friends, family and colleagues. Savory cheese fondues, entrees cooked tableside that include filet mignon, lobster, and ahi just to name a few, and decadent chocolate fondue for dessert all melt into a unique dining experience. The Melting Pot has several creative martinis and a selection of over 300 fine wines to enhance your dining experience. Intimate booths for two or private rooms for 10+ are available nightly. The Melting Pot is the perfect destination for any special occasion. Whether you are celebrating a graduation, anniversary, birthday, or holiday party, a fondue dining experience is unique way to create memories with your party. Reservations recommended.
23 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(23 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(1)
2 stars
(0)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.6 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(11)
  • good for groups(10)
  • romantic(10)
  • fit for foodies(6)
  • kid-friendly(3)
  • hot spot(2)
The Melting Pot - Irvine Reviews List
Review 1 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/04/2013
 2009
Dined on 8/04/2013
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/04/2013
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/25/2014
 2012
Dined on 1/25/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/25/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/21/2014
 2012
Dined on 6/21/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/21/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/19/2014
 2012
Dined on 8/19/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/19/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2008
 2008
Dined on 5/22/2008
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/22/2008
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/27/2014
 2014
Dined on 9/27/2014
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 9/27/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Not Bad

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It wasn't the best Melting Pot I have seen, but it wasn't terrible either. Service was good, but the bar was slow and we did have some load kids next to us, but I would go back."
Dined on 8/22/2014
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/20/2014
 2012
Dined on 6/20/2014
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/20/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We always enjoy our experience at The Melting Pot!"
Dined on 5/11/2014
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/04/2014
 2008
Dined on 1/04/2014
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Fondue is always fun. The Melting Pot is reliably a great experience for everyone young and old. Came here with my family and some out of town relatives, and everyone had a great time. This is also ideal for date night!"
Dined on 1/04/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always a good time

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a special restaurant for us. The unique menu and high quality food along with consistently good service ensures a memorable evening. We have come here for years and look forward to future visits."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fun place to go for something different

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2009
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My wife and I have been here several times over the years. It is a fun experience and offers very good food. The service has always been excellent. It is a bit pricey, but worth it. Would recommend it to anyone."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Resting on their laurels

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We have been going to Melting Pot restaurants for nearly 20 years - almost always for special occasions as we find the experience to be pricey considering you are basically getting bread, cheese, and raw vegetables and meat. Melting Pot does not have to hire world class chefs to keep people coming back.
For this visit, our table of 4 ordered a Cheddar Cheese fondue for 3, and it was more than enough. I split a salad and an order of Filet Mignon with my sister, and between that and the fondue we were more than satisfied. The quality of the filet was not what I remembered, but the Mojo bouillon helped make it enjoyable. The quality, variety and quantity of dipping sauces remains good."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A great date night or special occasion restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We came here for our anniversary and everything right happened during our visit. The service was good, the server was enjoyable, but also left us alone as well. We had chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us at our table and the champagne was amazing. We were able to include our 11 year old son in on the meal as well, so it was family friendly, but not too loud. The food was amazing. It was a bit on the pricey side, as we had gotten a discount prior and it was still expensive out of pocket. I'd recommend good for special events and date nights. Would definitely eat here again."
Dined on 11/30/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for The Melting Pot - Irvine
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
8 out of 8 recommend this product
Food 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Service 
4.6 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.6 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
3.6 / 3
Energetic