Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Vail Chophouse Reviews List

Vail Chophouse

Located slopeside, at the base of the Gondola in Lionshead, the Vail Chophouse sits amidst all of the action and all of the beauty of Vail Mountain. Serving a comprehensive lunch menu, featuring an assortment of soups, salads, sandwiches, and hot entrees, in addition to an incomparable dinner selection filled with fantastic steaks and fresh seafood; this restaurant melds delicious cuisine with stunning views, a welcoming staff and a luxurious atmosphere to create an unparalleled dining experience.
See more Vail Chophouse details
75 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(75 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
5 stars
(21)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(14)
2 stars
(13)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Moderate
Value 
2.7 / 5
(Good) 2.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(13)
  • scenic view(12)
  • notable wine list(8)
  • great for outdoor dining(7)
  • kid-friendly(7)
  • fit for foodies(6)
Vail Chophouse Reviews List
Review 1 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/04/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/04/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 4/04/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/26/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 3/24/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Awesome filet, loud but fun atmosphere."
Dined on 3/22/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/24/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/19/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/18/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

place has gone downhill!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2005
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We visit here each year we come to Vail and always look forward to it however we were very disappointed this time. Service has seriously gone downhill. While the steak and the lamb chops were delicious the service ruined the experience. Staff was unprofessional and not up to par with the location and prices. Will not visit next time. So many other restaurants to choose from this one is not worth it."
Dined on 3/16/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Loud and Expensive

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2012
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Although a great location right next to the Lionshead Gondola, the Chophouse disappointed. Be ready for a loud and boisterous venue coupled with lots of TV screens to ensure that almost no extended dinner conversation can happen. The food is ok but the prices (especially the steak menu) torpedo the value equation and portion sizes are small to boot. Service was decent."
Dined on 3/13/2016
 2012
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 3/15/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Food was ok. Weird ambience. The server was terrific. I'm not eager to go back."
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2016
 2007
Dined on 3/07/2016
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/07/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Dined on 3/06/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Avoid this place

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2008
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Vail CH falls way short of the mark for a Steak House with a premium price point.
Waiter told the group that all meat was USDA prime. The steaks we received were certainly below standard. Meat quality was poor and there was no seasoning on anything ordered (NY Strip, Rib Eye & Lamp Chops).
Sever vanished after delivering our meals and never returned. We had to request that our plates be cleared and for the bill from the bus boy. Overall our group felt we were paying a 5 star price for a 2 star meal. Many better options for Steak in Vail."
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Marginal steak house

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The chop house ? The meat was marginal at best along with the sides just a great location with average food wish they would improve the kitchen"
Dined on 3/03/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 3/02/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2011
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great food and service!!! A little loud but fun. Lighting good be better... Very "bright" for a steakhouse..."
Dined on 3/05/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/02/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/02/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/02/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 3/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/24/2016
 2009
Dined on 2/24/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/24/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

It May Be a "Chophouse" but the fish is great too!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Late night dining with reservations made online were perfect. Service by Huey was
on point and not overly solicitous. The seafood and trout were nicely prepared and presented.
The wine-by-the-glass menu was very good but maybe a few more options would have been nice.
Will definitely return to this scenic restaurant."
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/27/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Average!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"just about everything was average....except the price. The food was overall good enough. The service was just ok and the drinks were adequate. For the price I would have expected more. the ambiance is not good. The dining room is basically an oversized bar. Very loud. Our waiter had to yell to give us the specials. The price tag was over the top, but then again everything in Vail is. one specific comment about the Food. The steak (NY strip) was very good. Cooked the way I wanted it and a good quality cut. All of our meals where consistently good. What was disappointing was the appetisers. I got a wedge salad with blue cheese. It came with hardly a hint of Blue Cheese dressing (but lots of crumbles) When I requested some blue cheese dressing on the side I was brought something that had the consistency of water with no obvious clues that any blue cheese was in the container. Next, we ordered the Lobster mac and cheese. The "shells" were cooked correctly and there was a sufficient amount of lobtser on the dish. However, like the blue cheese, the "Cheese" sauce on the Mac was at the bottom of the plate and was so thin the pasta could not hold it. Essentially we ate Shell pasta with pieces of lobster.
Would try another before I went back."
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

NOISY

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Had dinner reservations and they sat us in the loud bar area. Not very good evening."
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2016
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Over Priced

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"This looks more like a sports bar with live music than an expensive steakhouse. The noise level is very high, impossible to talk during dinner. They seated us in the bar for dinner, and that was with a reservation at 7pm. We were required to give a credit card to secure our reservation, otherwise we would have left the second we walked in.
Disappointed!"
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Nice ambience but food is just fair

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The location is great...right off the gandola and mountain and the restaurant has a nice vibe to it, but the food is just eh. There were 4 of us and nobody really enjoyed their dinner.
We tried it for lunch, too, since it is so convenient to the mountain. The lunch menu is pretty limited, esp. for a ski location.
"
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Not worth the money! Elways was much better for the price! This is a bar, with a great location, trying to be a high end steak house...probably great for some beers after skiing, but far from "ChopHouse!""
Dined on 2/17/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

It was total let down.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2006
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2006
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"It was a let down. Over booked and bad service. ordered a fine bottle of wine and they didn't bring it until dinner had began. Normally it has time to breath and the server literally said after asking for it. I was getting ready to pop that thing. Don't think this is one of vails finest."
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/15/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 2/15/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2014
Special Features: hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

overpriced sports bar

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"When dining at a spot billing itself as a"chop house" and charging steak house prices, I expect more than televisions covering every inch of wall, and noise difficult to talk over. I have eaten there twice, and left underwhelmed each time. In a town like Vail there are much better options for the price. I won't be back."
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2008
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/12/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/10/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/28/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Brook

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This was our first visit to The Chophouse, even though we are regulars in Vail for 40 years. It was more informal than its photo lead us to believe and we think it is a good place for people who like lots of TV monitors showing all the different sports and good for a beer or two. The steak, for a chophouse, was flavorful but very fatty. Our waiter brought the totally wrong cocktail (he was quick to return with the correct one and was a pleasant person). We would not go back as the food is not exceptional and a sports bar ambiance is not our thing."
Dined on 2/03/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We skied in for lunch which was great. So we booked for dinner the next night. It was awful. The noise and rowdiness was offensive. If you are going to spend big money for a nice dinner, you can't go there. Obviously it is off our reservation list for any future dinners. Also as we stayed and didn't leave and endured that pain, we ran into a couple on our way out who had been seated and just couldn't bear it and left. That's what I should have done as my wife was insisting we get up and leave. But, in error, we stayed."
Dined on 2/04/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Steak is more of a Dry Rub Style. Good but what I would call a Dry Texture. Elways had a much better Filet.
The Salmon here was amazing.
"
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

worst experience by hostess

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We had a reservation on January 8 2016 and we were there early. The hostess escorted us to a two seater table without taking care of our long coats . We asked for a better table since there was an empty 4 seats table next to us but she told us that it was reserved. We understand that restaurants do not like to occupy four seats with two people. What upset us was that 2 minutes later she sat a couple in that table. When my husband complained she said that she did not know the number of persons in that reservation. Now that is an insult to our intelligences. She told us a table was being prepared for us. 15 minutes later we were still waiting, even our waiter knew we were waiting for a new table and I saw the hostess looking at us waiting. Nobody came to escort us to the new table and we checked out without eating. We saw the empty table when we walked out. We have been going to that restaurant every year for more than 15 years and this is the first time we felt like second class citizens. We are not going back. We know we can get excellent service and great bone in rib eyes in Flame restaurant."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"This restaurant, at which I've dined on several prior occasions and had always enjoyed, has changed a lot, and not for the better. The food: (1) had a bland and wilted Caesar salad; and (2) crab cakes that were over-spiced (too hot - and I like spicy food as a rule) and otherwise tasteless. The ambiance: the bar area has now become a loud "entertainment" bar with way too-loud live mediocre music that just doesn't work well with a fine dining restaurant. The cost: Even for Vail, it's way too expensive, and that's really saying something. The service: food service was slow, and seemed be distracted by some kind of issues among the wait staff that should not have been allowed to be obvious to customers like me, and adversely affected customer service. Overall, very disappointed and won't go back unless things change."
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>