Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Vail Chophouse Reviews List

Vail Chophouse

Located slopeside, at the base of the Gondola in Lionshead, the Vail Chophouse sits amidst all of the action and all of the beauty of Vail Mountain. Serving a comprehensive lunch menu, featuring an assortment of soups, salads, sandwiches, and hot entrees, in addition to an incomparable dinner selection filled with fantastic steaks and fresh seafood; this restaurant melds delicious cuisine with stunning views, a welcoming staff and a luxurious atmosphere to create an unparalleled dining experience.
See more Vail Chophouse details
34 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
(34 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
(11)
4 stars
(11)
3 stars
(4)
2 stars
(5)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Noise Level
1.7 / 3
Moderate
Value 
2.7 / 5
(Good) 2.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(7)
  • good for groups(6)
  • notable wine list(6)
  • fit for foodies(5)
  • late-night find(5)
  • great for outdoor dining(4)
Vail Chophouse Reviews List
Review 1 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2012
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Steak is more of a Dry Rub Style. Good but what I would call a Dry Texture. Elways had a much better Filet.
The Salmon here was amazing.
"
Dined on 1/26/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/25/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2014
Special Features: hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2016
Special Features: notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

worst experience by hostess

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We had a reservation on January 8 2016 and we were there early. The hostess escorted us to a two seater table without taking care of our long coats . We asked for a better table since there was an empty 4 seats table next to us but she told us that it was reserved. We understand that restaurants do not like to occupy four seats with two people. What upset us was that 2 minutes later she sat a couple in that table. When my husband complained she said that she did not know the number of persons in that reservation. Now that is an insult to our intelligences. She told us a table was being prepared for us. 15 minutes later we were still waiting, even our waiter knew we were waiting for a new table and I saw the hostess looking at us waiting. Nobody came to escort us to the new table and we checked out without eating. We saw the empty table when we walked out. We have been going to that restaurant every year for more than 15 years and this is the first time we felt like second class citizens. We are not going back. We know we can get excellent service and great bone in rib eyes in Flame restaurant."
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"This restaurant, at which I've dined on several prior occasions and had always enjoyed, has changed a lot, and not for the better. The food: (1) had a bland and wilted Caesar salad; and (2) crab cakes that were over-spiced (too hot - and I like spicy food as a rule) and otherwise tasteless. The ambiance: the bar area has now become a loud "entertainment" bar with way too-loud live mediocre music that just doesn't work well with a fine dining restaurant. The cost: Even for Vail, it's way too expensive, and that's really saying something. The service: food service was slow, and seemed be distracted by some kind of issues among the wait staff that should not have been allowed to be obvious to customers like me, and adversely affected customer service. Overall, very disappointed and won't go back unless things change."
Dined on 1/05/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Steakhouse or sports bar?

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"We booked this restaurant for our last night in Vail thinking that it would be a peaceful, luxurious finish to the week. Yikes. The hostess sat us first at the table closest to the door. Since the temperature outside was below zero, and the cold breeze shot through every time anyone opened the door, we asked to be seated elsewhere. The hostess scowled at us, went back to the stand, helped another group (while we were still standing there waiting for her) and then sat us two tables over, still in the path of the wind. I got annoyed when I saw a walk-in group 30 minutes later get seated at a much better table, well away from the front door.
The Rose Bowl was showing on multiple giant TV screens all around the table, and 70s rock music was blaring. Two members of our family do not eat red meat, so there was not much on the menu for them. We liked the signature salad. This restaurant felt like a sports bar to me, with casual service and lots of noise. I have heard that it is fun for apres ski, but I wouldn't eat here again when I am hoping for an elegant dinner.
"
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2006
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Simple but good

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2010
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Customer Service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Upon arriving at the Chophouse we were told that the people who had the reservation prior to ours was an hour and a half late which would push our reservation back 40 minutes. This was upsetting because we had small children for whom 7:30 Mountain Time was late as it was. The manager was wonderful and found a place for usafter about a 20 minute wait despite the fact that the place was packed. He was also accommodating in that he kindly and appropriately comped us for putting us out. When we got the food, we were very pleased as everything was so tasty. We would definitely return."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/02/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dined on 12/30/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was mediocre at best. Service was great. Not worth the money."
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/22/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/26/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Very over priced: the quality of service was lacking and the food presentation was poor. The filet and lamb were delicious, but way more expensive than high quality restaurants I've been to in San Francisco, Los Angeles and Paris!"
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Had one of first reservations if he night. First thing they told us was that they were of of green beens. Surprised that they would be out at the start of they evening. Wife and I ordered squash as substitute for asparagus , then told they were out of squash. Gave us another vegetable as substitute. Even though the vegetable was a substitute for asparagus they charged us $9 each for side orders of vegetables without telling us there would be a charge. Eventually took charge off after we noticed it on the bill."
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/23/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great place in Lions Head area, just off the Gondola. Nice restaurant with TVs for sporting events."
Dined on 12/19/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2007
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/23/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/21/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Ehh,

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 11/14/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fantastic dinner, apps, wine, desert and view

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Expensive Sides

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Absolutely amazing garlic mashed potatoes, although they are a little pricy."
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Surprise gem in ski country

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were pleasantly surprised that the Chop House was not a run of the mill tourist destination. Great food. Great service. Lovely atmosphere. Highly recommend. Menu was somewhat limited, but met the taste needs of our party."
Dined on 10/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Vail Chophouse
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/30/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.