Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Current Reviews List

Current

Situated on the edge of Lake Michigan inside the stunning W Hotel on Lakeshore Drive, you will find inspiring bites, craft cocktails and beers, approachable wines and unforgettable views that attract tourists and locals alike. Come to enjoy a meal not to forget or sip on a cocktail to unwind.
Simple, ingredient driven, Italian inspired: true to its name, the menus at Current will feature a seasonal undertone, executed with a Midwestern sensibility while paying respect and honoring the tradition and simplicity of Italian food. Chef Todd Wiss creates inspired dishes that are hand crafted, soulful, and rustic- sourcing the best local produce, fish, meat and dairy. Current has a little something for everyone.
See more Current details
40 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
2.9 / 5
(Good) 2.9 / 5
(40 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
(5)
4 stars
(5)
3 stars
(15)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(5)
Food 
2.9 / 5
(Good) 2.9 / 5
Service 
2.9 / 5
(Good) 2.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
2.5 / 5
(Good) 2.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • scenic view(10)
  • romantic(6)
  • special occasion(6)
  • good for groups(5)
  • fit for foodies(4)
  • vibrant bar scene(4)
Current Reviews List
Review 1 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

We miss you, Wave. Loud music, mediocre food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2005
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"This was out first time at Current and the food was just ok, the service was pretty poor, the lighting was blaring and so was the music. They now treat the restaurant as almost an extension of the bar, rather than intimate and distinct. First and last time."
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Current
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/11/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/11/2016
 2014
Dined on 4/11/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Current
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

FANTASTIC LOCATION!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Current has a perfect location in the Streeterville neighborhood overlooking The Lake. The croissants were on the skimpy side for the price."
Dined on 3/20/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Current
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/28/2016
 2001
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Current
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"For a W Hotel I expected more. Very poor food and hectic service. A high price for a very mediocre experience. A disappointment for a W Hotel:"
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Current
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Ate at Current on Valentines Day because we were staying at the W hotel for the night. The menu looked promising along with the pictures posted online.
When we got there, the staff seemed surprised that there were a lot of people in the hotel and restaurant and seemed overworked/understaffed. Aside from that, they were very polite even when we had to wait a while for drinks and food.
Food was unspectacular and surprising. A few of the additional ingredients to our dinner (Roasted Chicken and Prosciutto Pizza) were not on the menu.
A few people left before ordering anything and I think we should have followed them out
"
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Current
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2008
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This is a hotel lobby cafe. Locals, don't waste your time. The food was nothing special."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Dined here for lunch on a Sunday. Service was just ok. We had to ask for the Restaurant Week menu and they took a while to "find" it. Also had to ask for the cocktail menu. Drinks took a long time even though the place was practically empty.
Food was also just ok. Both my friend's salad and my sandwich were lacking in their respective sauces/dressings. Polenta fries were very good. Chocolate peanut butter dessert was also good.
Ambiance was definitely that of a restaurant inside a hotel.
Good place for a bite if you're staying at the W or are in the vacinity, but I wouldn't make a special trip to come here.
"
Dined on 1/31/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Current
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I visit Chicago often and stay at the W Lakeshore regularly. This particular evening a had a business meeting and choose to dine at Current which is located in the hotel. I actually choose Current often when dining myself as I've always enjoyed the food and the service, but this was more business oriented. I can't say enough about the of the food as well as the service. Armand our waiter was simply amazing as was the restaurant manager who went out of his way to say hello and check in on us.
My guest was so happy with the experience that he made it a point to call the manager over after the meal and nite his observations.
Current was definitely a wonderful experience and one that I will make again for pleasure as well as business.
Many thanks.
Tom L.
"
Dined on 1/07/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Not What I Expected

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"With this being the W Chicago, I thought the restaurant would be on an upper floor so you had a better view of Lake Shore Drive and Navy Pier. Instead, it was located right next to the front lobby and check-in/out. It made for a very busy spot with the front desk, bar, and restaurant all cluttered together. I felt the prices were a bit much with most alcoholic beverages priced at $14. The food was good, but not enough to rave over. One experience is good enough for me."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Current
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Current
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Thanksgiving Buffet

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The abundance & variety of delicious food satisfied our palates & appetites.
Current is accommodating, very refreshing & upbeat. The beautiful ambience made us feel right at home.
It was our last minute decision for Thanksgiving dinner after a long day & the perfect choice.
"
Dined on 11/26/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Current
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/13/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Nothing special about this place

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"As I said on the title, nothing special but the service, our waiter was great and he explained every single item on the menu.
He was always on top and making sure we have everything we needed.
The food was OK but nothing to say WOW!!!
one more hotel restaurant in the area. Great if you are visiting Chicago and staying at the W but nothing special.
"
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Current
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2002
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2002
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Very overpriced. Weak pours of wine. Food was ok"
Dined on 10/02/2015
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Current
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2008
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2008
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/19/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Poor choice!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/14/2015
 2005
Dined on 9/14/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I am a loyal SPG member and love this hotel buf Current is not very good. Sparsely populated and still poor service. Only 4 tables were occupied and yet took over 10 min for anyone to acknowledge me. Table across from me received their food long after I did but placing their order before I sat down and after multiple aplogies for the delays.
Waitress was not able to and answer menu questions. Food was sos-so.
For a hop hotel Current is a beautiful space and a lost opportunity! Go some place else for dinner!"
Dined on 9/14/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Our server was great, food was so-so.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2009
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2009
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Food not up to our standards. Not much Italian food. Wine list so-so"
Dined on 9/09/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2007
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Crab cake was excellent. All meat, very tender and fresh. Meatballs flavorful, but lukewarm. Reuben was a little soggy. Chicken club had good flavor. Service was polite, but inattentive. We were 1 of 3 tables eating and there were 7 un-bussed tables with at least 3 servers on duty. There is no reason to leave that many used dishes and glassware out in the dining room."
Dined on 9/07/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Current
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/29/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Current
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2009
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 8/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Current
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Sunday Brunch

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Other than great server and waiting staff there is not much I can say about it
It took 45 minutes for our order a party of 4 to come
I wonder how can you botch up fried egg with sausage but they can
"
Dined on 8/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Current
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

don't go!!!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food tasted like hospital food and it was super over priced. Stay away!"
Dined on 6/28/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Current
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/21/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Current
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went there for Mothers Day brunch. The food was subpar, service was pathetic."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Current
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I made a reservation for dinner in advance, had a party of four business associates and looked forward to a delicious meal and outstanding service just to be badly let down. There was very little available from what is listed on the menu and the remaining available dish that I chose was poorly cooked and tasteless. The waitress offered nothing to make up for the deficiency."
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: scenic view
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Current
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 4/23/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good and Bad

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food and atmosphere were amazing. Our server on the other hand acted as if we were a burden; took a long time for him to come to the table and when he was there, his warm introduction of "Drinks?" and "Are you ready?" left much to be desired. I am a restaurant General Manager myself so my standards are very high, but I was still very surprised. He was rude and in the two times that he stopped at our table, treated us like we were bothering him. Never even checked back to see how the food was and the busses had to get refills on our drinks. It was unfortunate because of how good the food was."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

bad choice to celebrate with family

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Horrible food, greater than expected time to wait for the food. Fewer choices to puck from. It seems we were just another set if numbers for server to feed and get his tip. Will not visit again or recommend anyone else."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Current
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Chosen for its location, we were happy to have a lovely view of the lake and outgoing, knowledgeable waitstaff. Hotel prices for lunch."
Dined on 2/03/2015
 2003
Special Features: scenic view
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Current
Based on the average of (7) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
2.4 / 5
(Good) 2.4 / 5
1 out of 6 recommend this product
Food 
2.7 / 5
(Good) 2.7 / 5
Service 
2.3 / 5
(Good) 2.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic