Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Bierstube German Tavern Reviews List

Bierstube German Tavern

Bierstube serves enhanced recipes of the typical German meal,
mostly of the Rhineland region and bordering Wallonia (French/German).
The typical German restaurant in the United States limits itself to the food
of Bavaria and older times. Bierstube expands it's offering to the other
regions of Germany and neighboring Belgium Our chefs have culinary
degrees having studied at Le Cordon Bleu, apprenticed under former head chefs of Le Bec-Fin
and have lived and worked throughout Germany.

In addition to high end cuisine we feature tavern food with Philly's Best
Burgers, Brats and Beers. Our chefs prepare the majority of our items
from scratch relying on local butchers and farmers to supply the finest
ingredients of the seasons.

We have a full liquor selection, several hand selected wines and
Philadelphia's Largest and Highest Ranked German Beer Selection

Prost and Bon Appétit!
See more Bierstube German Tavern details
56 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
(56 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 56 reviews
5 stars
(9)
4 stars
(23)
3 stars
(16)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(5)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Ambiance 
2.9 / 5
(Good) 2.9 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • vibrant bar scene(18)
  • good for groups(15)
  • neighborhood gem(13)
  • fit for foodies(10)
  • late-night find(10)
  • great for lunch(8)
Bierstube German Tavern Reviews List
Review 1 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/17/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Food was very good. They were very accommodating for our large group. Only dissappointment was the downstairs. Multiple TVs did not work, while we were hoping to watch a Flyers game. Service was very good at our table even though our server was also bar tending."
Dined on 4/16/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2009
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2009
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 3/17/2016
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Beer and Hoops

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Solid service, vast beer list, and staff was very eager to put TV on the NCAA games we wanted to see. One complaint is server didn't mention the gratuity was added to our bill so we tipped on top of the gratuity. I probably should have noticed but on a bill for 2 people it was not something that would typically cross my mind."
Dined on 3/19/2016
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Advertised as current German food. Really a bar.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This is a nice bar that serves some traditional German food. Good beer selection. Has a down stairs part that was not observed. Wait staff was very nice but was serving everyone, so it was nice that the place was not overly crowded.
We had the snit zeal which was good ( veal). And the worst which was three types, was good. So had we been looking for a bar that served food it would have been a better fit. Limited menu on food side. Lots of tap selections and more in bottles. Tap beer at happy hour 5 to 7 was 3.99 for 14 oz glass."
Dined on 3/08/2016
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Taste and Quality of Food will Please You

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Meal began with pretzel bites with separate mustard and cheese sauces. Delicious - I'm thinking about them days later. I'm usually disappointed with restaurant Minestrone soup, but not here - it's also delicious and not too salty. Grilled Chicken Sandwich featured a tender grilled breast with about the best barbeque sauce I've had. Raucus atmosphere, but the food's great. The server was polite and efficient despite the ambient activity."
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was abhorrent. Waited 25 minutes for my first drink. Total check time in excess of 90 minutes. They "ran out" of smoked salmon, and saw fit to tell us this when the rest of our food came out, took 15 more minutes to replace those items, and then had the audacity to charge us for them. Waitress did not once apologize. Manager was nice and took a sizeable chunk off the bill in the end, but likely will not return."
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 10/24/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice and above average

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The ambiance was nice, good music, not too loud, good fast service and fast dinner timing from the order. Cons: is supposed to be German but the food was not entirely strictly German; my girlfriend is German and came along and we ordered 2 classic German dishes and she spotted some ingredients were 'changed' from the original recipes and used alternative products. not nice."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Counseled by the host nott to eat here!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We made a reservation for a Saturday night, and when we arrived, there was music blaring and no open tables. The host explained that there was a bar crawl going on, and we could sit at a bar table next to the door if we wanted, but that he didn't recommend it due to the noise (smokers were also parked next to the door and it was very cold outside). We left and ended up at a lovely little sushi place in the neighborhood.
We were walking past the next day, and decided to stop in for lunch to give it a second chance. The restaurant was freezing --- the doors were propped open --- and strongly smelled of bleach.
The food was decent, but having to wear my coat indoors and still being cold plus making a reservation and arriving to find an atmosphere inhospitable for dining means we will not return."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Spaetzle were great. burger was undercooked

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great German Pub

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We made reservations for New Year's Eve with our kids for after the 6:00 fireworks and I am so glad I did. They sat us right away even though there was quite a line for stand-by. It was very loud and crowded, which was a little hard for one of my kids to deal with, but it was New Year's Eve and crowding and noise was to be expected. The food was excellent and the beer list very extensive. There was some confusion with two of our orders, but they were dealt with fairly quickly and considering how busy they were it was not unexpected. I definitely want to go back during a slower time to see if the few hiccups disappear, because the food was excellent and a very good value for the price."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great ambience. Nice beer.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

New Years Eve Outing

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Considering the occasion, the place was understandably loud and the service spotty. However, we were shocked to hear before 7 pm that the kitchen had run out of chicken and mussels, staple items to their menu. The food that was available was great though. Loved the vegetarian spaetzel."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great service, food ok."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2013
"Made a reservation on open table for a Christmas Day brunch but when we got to the restaurant it wasn't even open for the time of our reservation."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was alright!"
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/12/2015
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/28/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2004
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2004
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 11/27/2015
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

My reservation was not honored.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2015
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Open Table accepted and confirmed my reservation for lunch on a Wednesday. Bierstube does not open until 5pm on Wednesday. My friends and I went there in the rain and then had to trudge around and find an alternative place for lunch. It is ridiculous that Open Table does not have the correct hours for this restaurant."
Dined on 10/28/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Almost nothing German about it

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My buddy and I went here for what we thought would be an assortment of great German beers and some authentic German food, all as advertised. The schnitzel was ok and we had a couple of good beers. However, between them being tapped out of several beers and a draught selection that was uninspiring and didn't even include as many German beers as you'd expect at a German pub, I was unimpressed. As far as the service, she was attentive to the point of being pesky, asking us every three minutes if we were ready to order. We'll try Brauhaus Schmitz next time and hopefully have a better experience."
Dined on 10/27/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Basic German Schitzel but done very well.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 10/09/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/03/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2015
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 9/11/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2013
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 6/27/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2014
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 7/18/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2007
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Not what I was expecting compared to every other Open Table restaurant I have visited. It's a neighborhood bar, like what I would hang out at in college. Nice people and food was good - just not the "restaurant experience" we wanted."
Dined on 7/11/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/06/2013
 2013
Dined on 4/06/2013
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/06/2013
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2011
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good Tavern

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and beer!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was great and the beer list was spectacular! We went to Bierstube before going to a play at a nearby theater so we couldn't take the time to try more of the beer selection but I can easily picture myself eating and drinking for awhile at the Tavern.
The service was slow, but since it was our first time there, I'll withhold judgment as it was a Saturday night.
My only complaint was the music was loud and annoying, it didn't set any sort of mood or ambiance. There were also multiple monitors showing sporting events which contrasting sharply with the music."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous beer list and amazing food.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Fabulous beer list and amazing food. We tried a variety of food items and everyone LOVED the food. Awesome mussels in mustard sauce and (of course) the spaetzles. The waiter was very knowledgeable about the various beers too. It is not a fancy place, very comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. Come for the food and the beer."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Empty at lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our lunch was excellent, but the place needs a renovation."
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Not open for LUNCH!

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I made reservations online and they were accepted and I even received a reminder via e-mail that I had a reservation. So just IMAGINE my surprise when we get there and the restaurant has a sign that says IT DOESN'T OPEN UP UNTIL FIVE!!!!! We ended up going to Cuba Libre around the corner."
Dined on 4/22/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Our trip to Philly was amazing. This place was perfect spot on for their service. The food was fabulous. I came with my significant other who doesn't drink so the waiter made him feel comfortable and helped him order something he'd enjoy. I made myself at home and we had a wonderful time. I'd recommend the Bacon and Cheese Spatzel and Mussles in a smoky Tomatoe sauce with a couple of good brews. Can't go wrong."
Dined on 3/21/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great for my 21st

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I had made a reservation on Opentable, but the restaurant didn't seem to know anything about it. They were very accommodating, and they got us drinks while we waited especially since happy hour was about to end.
As it was my 21st birthday, I got an excellent beer from Munich in a boot of beer, and it was only $8. Beer not in a boot was only $3. For the beer, it was well worth it. Also, the food was excellent as well. I would probably recommend this place to someone who wants a good beer. The reason is that the beer menu was three pages single spaced while the food menu was much shorter. Don't get me wrong. The food is excellent, but, if you want a great beer, come to this place."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Bierstube German Tavern
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good overall - could use some love

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The building itself was a little beat up, but the beer list was fantastic and the food was delicious and not over priced.
Our open table reservation didn't actually go through.. If you're reserving it the same day may be worth just calling since we ended up having to wait 30+min. It was worth it though.
"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2013
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>