Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Bangkok Garden Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Bangkok Garden

Bangkok Garden has been acclaimed as one of North America’s premier Thai restaurants. The food is authentic, based on centuries of Thai culinary tradition.
***ALERT***
PLEASE RESERVE ONLINE AT BANGKOKGARDEN.CA AS WE NO LONGER USE OPENTABLE.COM
166 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(166 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 166 reviews
5 stars
(47)
4 stars
(80)
3 stars
(21)
2 stars
(10)
1 star
(8)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
2.7 / 5
(Good) 2.7 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(68)
  • great for lunch(65)
  • fit for foodies(64)
  • special occasion(58)
  • neighborhood gem(39)
  • romantic(36)
Bangkok Garden Reviews List
Review 1 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/07/2014
 2014
Dined on 16/07/2014
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Food was good. Wait staff was great. Great summerlicious menu."
Dined on 16/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

food not upto par

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"the fish dish that was part of summerlicious was actually inedible. they really need to work on the food."
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Thai Adventure

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"The food was average but the service was pretty fast. You got quite a bit of food and the ambience was nice. The decor was amazing and great if you want to go on a date."
Dined on 01/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 26/03/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 23/03/2015
 2011
Dined on 23/03/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 23/03/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/05/2013
 2012
Dined on 30/05/2013
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 30/05/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 25/05/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 25/05/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 26/06/2015
 2005
Special Features: notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 22/06/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 22/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/06/2015
 2009
Dined on 16/06/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 16/06/2015
 2009
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2011
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food was ok.Service not good.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 11/06/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2015
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 05/06/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wednesday lunch.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 03/06/2015
 2014
Dined on 03/06/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Heard so much about this place and had to try it. This Thai restaurant was everything and more. Outstanding food !!! My wife and I were extremely impressed with the freshness. We will be back soon!!!"
Dined on 03/06/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dinner on Elm Street

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The ambience and quiet atmosphere of the restaurant was a plus. The Pad Thai and Sea Bass were served promptly, was tasty and hot as in temperature. The servers were pleasant and unobtrusive. I would recommend this restaurant."
Dined on 01/06/2015
 2012
Special Features: great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 30/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 30/05/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 30/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, hot spot, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 27/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 22/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 22/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 22/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

food is bland

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 14/05/2015
 2015
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Great ambience, good service, convenient location, but the food was very bland. I ordered a three chili pepper entrée and was told it was not really that hot but they could spice it up. It was still not spicy. Both our dishes were bland. Our server Jeremy was very helpful, and pleasant."
Dined on 14/05/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 14/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 14/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 16/05/2015
 2015
Dined on 16/05/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 16/05/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pricey but good Thai food

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Nice decor and attentive service. The food was decent. Creative names for the dishes which made the food more interesting e.g. 'Demon's Dare' instead of 'spicy thai beef'. Dishes are overpriced though - would probably only go again if there was a promotion or discount of some kind."
Dined on 02/05/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2011
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 25/04/2015
 2008
Dined on 25/04/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"They have an extensive gluten-free menu. Or waitress also had the chef adjust another dish so it would be gluten free."
Dined on 25/04/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Sauce on fresh bring rolls not enough and runny

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Too much sodium , sauce for fresh spring rolls not enough and two running"
Dined on 24/04/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2014
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 17/04/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Lunch Buffet at The Bangkok Garden

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The buffet has enough variety for lunch. What I most enjoyed was the request-to-order Thai soup. The lady was very nice and provides good suggestions. Our two servers were also very attentive and personable. We were slightly disappointed about our table location. We were smacked right beside a big retirement party and it was quite a noisy experience to say the least. We thought we could have been accommodated on the 2nd floor, where it is a bit peaceful or the party could have been there while the rest stayed downstairs. In my opinion (and because of the noise), I see a lot of customers leave and not bother with desserts or coffee. Perhaps the host(s) could have planned this a little better."
Dined on 14/04/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 18/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent Thai Dinner

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My wife I and went to this restaurant for dinner. The service & food quality were excellent. The set menu let us try several dishes even though it was just the two of us."
Dined on 12/04/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Yummy

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This is my second time visiting Bangkok Garden and it was as enjoyable as the first visit. The food was very tasty, great spicing/flavour and nice presentation of the meal. The staff is very friendly, attentive, diligent and accommodating. The lighting in the restaurant gives a nice ambiance to the place (not too bright or dark). This is a great place to visit whether on a date or spending time with friends!"
Dined on 11/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful place.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great service, fabulous food. Exceeded our expectations"
Dined on 28/03/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, great service, too bad about the fish

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We visit Bangkok Gardens often, because of its tranquil oasis-in-the-city atmosphere, and (usually) excellent food and service. On our most recent visit, last weekend, however, we ordered one of our favourite dishes, the steamed ginger fish -- and were disappointed. Instead of the fresh fish that has usually been served, our rainbow trout turned out to be frozen, without the delicate flavour and texture of the fresh fish.
We asked the waiter to pass our critique on to the manager, and hope he did. This is a high-standard restaurant that shouldn't let itself down by cutting corners. (It's also not that far from the St. Lawrence market, where some of the best fish in the city is easily available.)
This isn't the first time we were disappointed in this dish, which began on the menu as a delicious fillet of fresh salmon. That, for a time was replaced by farmed tilapia, a very unhealthy choice that we avoided. We had high hopes that the trout would be a return to its original form.
Otherwise, the restaurant is as charming as ever, with outstanding and helpful service. It is also one of the few in Toronto where you can reserve a table on a weekend, and spend a relaxing evening in lovely surroundings without having to shout above obnoxious music or compete with people at nearby tables out-screaming the din.
We ended dinner by sharing scoops of creamy coconut and mango ice cream and choosing from their bevy of exotic teas.
We hope by our next visit that the fish is back to its fine standard."
Dined on 21/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2011
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were there for winterlicious and upon arrival the hostess informed us that we had limited time for dinner due to many upcoming reservations. I understand it was busy but that's something they should tell you at the reservation not as soon as you arrive! Our server was friendly but forgot water, cutlery, glass for one of us. Food was ok."
Dined on 31/01/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice hideaway

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was good, the service excellent. A little pricy but it is downtown."
Dined on 14/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, atmosphere and excellent service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 14/03/2015
 2013
Dined on 14/03/2015
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Our server Jeremy provided excellent service and was very attentive. Would highly recommend this restaurant. The food was delicious and the restaurant ambiance was beautiful."
Dined on 14/03/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner before a show!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"This is my second time dining here, I do enjoy it and it's close to the Ed Mirvish theatre. The only thing that I had an issue was that I had asked for a mild dish and it was very spicy. The waiter had overheard me making this comment to my friend and asked if it was too spicy. I said yes, but we had limited time because we were seeing a show. I ate my food, but didn't enjoy it as much as I knew I could because it was really spicy!!!"
Dined on 14/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Old staple in neighbourhood a disappointment.

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were seated in a dark corner next to the fire door although the restaurant was virtually empty. The service was friendly and efficient. We ordered 4 dishes, but the table was so small that we had to shuffle the plates for the entire meal just to fit them on the table. The pad thai was very good and the best dish of all the ones ordered. The mango salad was awful. The mango was cut in french fry shapes and so unripe that it was not even half eaten. We complained to the server who said he would mention it to the chef. We never heard anything further. The pattaya grilled chicken and steamed ginger fish were tasty, but not something we would order again. The food is not as good as in past experiences, but the ambiance remains romantic and charming."
Dined on 14/03/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food was really substandard. Kind of weird, since the atmosphere is really quite lovely. Might I add, the food was really tasteless and there was not even much of it. The service was not what you would expect from such a nice looking, well situated, restaurant. We will not be going back."
Dined on 20/02/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointing

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Disappointing overall feeling and very expensive restaurant given the level of quality. Dishes were basic and far from being astonishing."
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great dining experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I discovered the restaurant a number of years ago when I was visiting from Montreal. I had not been back to the restaurant for some time and found that it was as good as I remembered. Now that I live in Toronto I will try to come more regularly."
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good experience

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Excellent restaurant, excellent ambient and very good dinner... It have a good selection of wines... In general, great place to share a special night"
Dined on 14/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, scenic view, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place for a date (First,second, third,etc)

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Went here on a second date with a woman I'm seeing. I read reviews about the place online and she was the one that suggested it. The place was great. There really isn't anything bad I can say about this place. I showed up and she went in first as I parked the car, the lady who had the reservations clearly knew what was going on and had her stuff in order. She showed my date to a table, when I came in I mentioned who I was and that my date had already been seated she helped me find my date and all was well. Then came the service which was amazing. Our server was constantly checking on us to make sure we were taken care of. Our orders were taken swiftly and out came the appetizers quite promptly. The main course was delicious, she had too much as was un able to finish hers so she had it boxed up and took it home. Dessert was also really good and we managed to get the final two Chocolate Mousse of the night (lucky us). We stayed till the place was pretty much closed, it was a great night. I would definitely come again and recommend to others."
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

excellent evening

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Good food and very attentive attended made it a good evening. Our server knew exactly when to come by and inquire on us, and kept the noise and intrusions to a minimum. Very impressive. The food was really good."
Dined on 12/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always Reliable

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have been to Bangkok Garden for about 25 years and I have never been dissapointed. In fact I have brought business guests from out of town (from India, China, Latin America and elsewhere) and everyone was very pleased with the ambiance and quality of the food. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to others."
Dined on 09/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our second 'reunion' dinner in as many years and we all had a great time at the Bangkok Garden...great food, great service, lovely ambiance! Thks so much!"
Dined on 07/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food had enough variety, very tasty and fresh. Great set-up with the eating area, adding a waterfall is a great addition besides the usual musical background. Server was fantastic and accomodating at all times with a smile."
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Winterlicious Lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Enjoyed a thai inspired lunch. Tucked away at Elmwood spa. It would be nice if you could dine here with your robe like you would upstairs in their other restaurant. I had the rolls to start which came with a creamy peanut sauce - really good! Followed by their spicy chicken. It was a little too hot for me however still good. Finished off with their banana fritters which hit the spot.
The restaurant was empty which was kind of awkward because we were totally alone but this is because we took the last seating at 2:15pm. I would come again and try their regular menu.
"
Dined on 06/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lunch buffet

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2015
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The lunch buffet was great. It had both a pick your ingredients hot flat noodle soup bar plus a very extensive hot/cold buffet selection. It also included a dessert table with both fresh fruit, banana fritters, rambutan and sweet coconut coated dumplings. The server (not sure if I am spelling her name correctly - Kunthista) was very good. She was attentive and there when we needed her...all in all the lunch was a very good experience both service and food wise...Thank you."
Dined on 04/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Bangkok Garden
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Went for Winterlicious and had it was yum!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Ok..Had the Mango salad but it could do with more pulled pork. Had the Pad Thai which was yummy. She had the Kingfish which was good too. For Dessert had the cassava cake and mango sticky rice, whih was meh. Cassave cake was much better. The mango sticky rice should not have full pieces of mango. I do think like a mango infused pulp in the rice would have been nicer. Good spot overall...and we would go back!"
Dined on 05/02/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>