Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Sascha's Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Sascha's

Sascha's 527 Cafe is the creation of Sascha Wolhandler and Steve Suser. After more than 20 years as Baltimore's stylish boutique caterer, they have taken a charming 19th century Mt. Vernon townhouse topped with an antique crystal chandelier, dramatic 16' ceilings, warm lighting and candlelit tables and presented a look and a feel that Style Magazine has called "drop dead sexy". Sascha's menu is a comfortable blend of great flavors, both local and global. Organic and natural ingredients are used extensively to bring only the best and healthiest to the table. Small plates, called taste plates, offer a wide selection of grilled, pan seared and lightly fried foods, from bison to lobster, Mediterranean to Deep South. Large plates, from Free Range to Filet and freshly created and prepared specials of the day, compliment the dinner menu. It's a feast for the senses.
84 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(84 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 84 reviews
5 stars
(35)
4 stars
(33)
3 stars
(11)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.2 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(48)
  • fit for foodies(46)
  • romantic(33)
  • special occasion(32)
  • good for groups(20)
  • late-night find(12)
Sascha's Reviews List
Review 1 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Our favorite restaurant week place

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"It was our last restaurant for restaurant week and by far the best food. My husband said it was the best duck he has ever eaten. Good wine selections. Dessert was to die for."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/16/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great before the theater. The calamari was yummy!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/09/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Neighborhood gem that is not fully discovered

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2012
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Sascha's has a huge lunch crowd. Always does. It has a great lunch menu. But dinner is where I feel that they shine the best. It is never terribly crowded or loud, but has a great menu with ever-changing items and specials that are always enjoyable. You can show up unannounced and likely won't have trouble getting a table (for a reasonable sized group) but you can also use OpenTable to book yourself a table to be sure."
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/29/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/22/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food was just OK and service was hit and miss.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2013
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sascha's Restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Sascha's menu is not overwhelming with just four entre but plenty of sliders and appetizers. The food was outstanding. My friend got the fried chicken and it was the best in town. Take a ride to Mount Vernon and try this eatery. You won't regret it."
Dined on 5/23/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent dining choice in Mount Vernon

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We enjoyed dinner here prior to a Centerstage production, and wish we had allowed more time. We enjoyed the entrees (I had braised short ribs), but didn't have time for the appetizers or dessert. The bill for 4 people was $150, including drinks, tax, and tip. The restaurant is located right in Mount Vernon, the art, music, and cultural center of Baltimore around the Peabody Institute. We are already planning a return visit to Sascha's for a more complete experience."
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 5/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, great for outdoor dining, notable wine list, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"If the duck confit quesadilla is on the menu, order it! It was the first dish we tasted, and we are still talking about how good it was."
Dined on 5/15/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/05/2015
 2004
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2009
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/03/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 4/24/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great food but service was not up to par

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food was great, served fresh and hot. On a Saturday, they were moderately busy, but the service was not adequate. we were promtly seated, but then waited for 10 minutes before we were asked if we would like a beverage. These delays occurred throughout the entire experience. This ruined an otherwise pleasant experience."
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2005
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/18/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A very pleaseant meal

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"my daughter and I ate here on a Saturday night before a show. The menu had may choices. We ended up with shrimp and grits, and the short beef sliders, in addition to a side order of fries and two salads. All very good and we both agreed we would like to come back again. The service was a little slow but we had plenty of time to get to our show."
Dined on 4/11/2015
 2007
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, good location

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I had the shrimp with Grits and my wife the chicken. Both were very good. Their salad are also very good with a variety of flavors. The restaurant is in a good spot for a pre or post concert at Peabody or a visit to the Walters gallery."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2012
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Solid

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2009
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I have been to Sasha's several times over the year. After an afternoon at the Walters, or dinner before An Die Musik or CenterStage. Found memories. Nice food. And never noisy - even when crowded (and noise has become a real pet peeve for me). This night, just appetizers. I remembered the edamame being better before. Fish tacos were OK, but fish should have been crispier. Duck Confit quesadilla was the highlight. Service is always pleasant (though every time I go, there's a different bartender). Wine list is OK. But $10 for a glass of Liberty School Cab and $9 for Bonny Doon Riesling? Still, a solid place for a decent meal before the show."
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have been coming to Sasha's for a number of years. We have Center Stage tickets and it is always a treat to come with our friends (we are a group of six) and have dinner before theater. We love Beth who is the waitress we always request."
Dined on 3/27/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Perfect for a pre-theater dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We ate dinner at Sascha's with another couple prior to the theater at the recommendation of a friend. It was delightful! We loved the ambiance and the decor was very current. The cocktail and beverage menu was creative. The fried pickle appetizer is not to be missed. Our dinners ranged from a selection of sliders, to a filet mignon and the vegetarian entree, which on this night was a root vegetable cassoulet. Everyone's expectations were exceeded. Our server was very friendly and gave good recommendations, and the staff was expert at keeping glasses filled and plates moving while being pleasantly discreet. We were surprised the place wasn't packed, but plan to share our good experience with friends and look forward to our next visit."
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, delicious drinks!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Came here for dinner on a weeknight. The place was practically empty but everything else about the visit was fantastic. The food was delicious (we had the fried pickles and fries, which came with an awesome truffle aioli), sliders, and I had the mental greens salad (large) with grilled chicken. The portions were generous and the wait time was decent. I had a gin-based cocktail which was fun and a little different than what I usually have. Overall, it was a great meal. Perhaps the weather was keeping other customers away, it certainly wasn't the food or service!"
Dined on 3/04/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent food at good value

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Sascha's is located downtown in a row house on Charles Street. As soon as you walk into the restaurant, the lights are low and provide a cozy and an enticing atmosphere. The noise level is a little high, but manageable. The tables are close together, but we found that our neighboring diners were friendly and offered good suggestions....which we in turn passed on to others as tables were turning over. There were plenty of great choices on the menu and everything we choose was delicious. We each had a drink which was very reasonably priced. Our waiter was attentive and personable and added to a delightful experience. We will definitely return to Sascha's again."
Dined on 2/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

disappointing visit

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2010
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"My husband and I have visited Sascha's on several other occasions and have always enjoyed both the food and atmosphere. However, this time we were disappointed. In years past this restaurant has continued to serve from it's regular menu during restaurant week, but this time we were forced to order from the limited menu. The food was just not as good as it usually is. The shrimp in the shrimp and grits was a bit rubbery and the beef short ribs were really fatty. They were unable to accommodate a special request because we were told everything was pre-portioned. Also, the carrot cake we ordered for desssert, which is usually great, seemed dried out and stale."
Dined on 2/17/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Lovely Valentine's Dinner!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I have made Sascha's our tradition for Valentine's day for the past three years. It was a snowy, windy night, but the restaurant was still full enthusiastic patrons. It was a limited prix fixe menu, but there were plenty of choices. I had the scallop appetizer and it was amazing, but I would have also loved the baked oysters I think. My Filet Mignon was perfect, tender and tasty. We'll go back for sure. Great bar too."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sascha's valentines romantic dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wow what can I say about this place since I'm at a loss for words how great everything was. Made valentine's dinner reservations for two at 5:30 pm arrived 30 minutes before was greeted by hostess and owners personally with a basket of Hersey kisses and seated at a candle lit table. Ambiance was very romantic dim lighting and sweet r&b songs playing in the background not overbearing but jus enough to add flavor to environment. There was a valentine's pre fix three course meal menu which our waiter explained it was per person and started attending to us as soon as we were seated. We started out with drinks a glass of Merlot and signature drink Bow and arrow which were very good no later then two sips later our appetizers were out and oh so delicious! Beef wellington was juicy and tender/ duck was sublime so much I ordered it for dinner. As soon as we finished main course was on its way out. Had duck with pear sauce reduction, jasmine rice and spinach/ fillet mignon,lobster fritter,roasted potatoes topped with a parsnip sauce. Plating was excellent and so was presentation and taste was icing on the cake. Speaking of which desert had the chocolate trio of chocolate mousse, dark chocolate and chocolate cake with a cocoa powdered heart engraved between the deserts/ Budino Italian custard with caramel sauce which was simply out of this world. In between each course and during our waiter did check to make sure everything was to our liking. Sadly we were preparing to leave but not before the owners personally checked to see if our experience was to our liking. Sascha herself wished me and my girlfriend a happy valentine's day and gave us a parting chocolate cupcake gift each. This place is amazing if you really want to impress, romance, rekindle or spark someones interest this is definitely the place. They say cooking is the language of love and if so Sascha's speaks volumes. Will be returning again!"
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dinner before the BSO.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our 8:00 PM concert tickets mandated that we be finished dinner by 7:30 to have time to park and to get to our seats. No problem there. The tomato bisque was great. The Beast (burger) was delicious as was the steak frites. Our coffee hit the spot. Desserts were nothing special. The bread pudding looked more like a commercial store bought coffee cake and the flan was oddly liquidy. This was far from our first visit and it won't be our last."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great customer service, food and ambiance

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"From the time we entered, everyone was terrific and the service outstanding. We were running a bit late for the theater and Sascha's team made sure we were served promptly. Great meal, service and atmosphere--hope to go back soon to dine."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food, lovely atmosphere, attentive server, perfect location near Walters Art Gallery and Center Stage."
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Pre-theatre hit

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Sascha's is a short walk from Centerstage, and we enjoyed our pre-theatre dinner. All diners in our group seemed pleased with their choices: bison sliders, shrimp and grits, eggplant, and duck quesadilla. Our waitress was outstanding."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2002
Special Features: vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great for dinner before Centre Stage show!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were looking for a place close to Centre Stage for an early dinner (6pm) and a friend recommended Sacha's. We loved being able to make reservations through Open Table. The restaurant is just a short walk from the theater and easy to find. It is nicely appointed - mood lighting that is still bright enough to see your menu and your dinner plate. We were seated immediately and given homemade bread sticks and olives. They have a nice selection of wines by the glass and the menu, while limited, had enough choices for all 4 diners to find something they liked. The food took a tad longer than usual to be delivered due to many orders being sent to the kitchen at the same time (according to the waitress). The food was hot and delicious when it arrived. They have a dedicated server who comes around every few minutes to keep water glasses full and clears away any unwanted dishes. Our waitress was attentive without being hovering and got us on our way with plenty of time to walk back to the theater to make our show. I would highly recommend Sascha's for a nice evening out without having to spend a lot of money."
Dined on 1/17/2015
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Beautiful decor, friendly and attentive service

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The decor is sophisticated but warm, with deep vermillion walls, lots of tiny white lights strung through tall clusters of twigs. Our server (Friday 1/16) was very helpful and attentive.
The menu does not have a huge range of choices, but there is something for everyone (except maybe there should be a hamburger or other plain fare for incorrigble non-gourmets, like my husband, who happen to be eating out with a group of friends).
My friend had the "Mental Greens" salad and loved it. I had the bourbon brined pork rib chop, which was excellent... except that the braised greens were too spicy and were a kind of stringy mess. Better to substitute something crisper and fresher with less spice."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Quiet Comfortable Dinner

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were the only customer's in the restaurant on a Friday night which was odd but nice at the same time. Our server was helpful but not overbearing. The fried pickles appetizer was the best part of the meal. The presentation in a take out box was very fun. The Mental Greens salad was a large portion with a lot of toppings, which made it great. The steak was so-so, not cooked medium rare like requested. We will be back again for drinks and appetizers."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Sascha's never disappoints! Exquisite dining!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Sascha's does their best to accommodate your cuisine requests! If you don't find what you were wanting on their menu, ask your waiter. Their chef always comes through with exactly what you want. They are hands down the best place in the Baltimore area to get Pan Seared Scallops or Filet Mignon. Their fried green tomatoes are topped with crab meat and are outstanding.
Love, love, love Sascha's! ! Had a wonderful dining experience on New Year's Eve. Owner is a very gracious personable host."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great find

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were very happy that we chose to go to this restaurant. The sliders were delicious as was the salad that accompanied it. Don't forget to order the French fries. The carrot cake dessert was moist and very tasty. Our waitress was knowledgeable and explained the menus to us. We were not rushed. Decor was pleasing."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"First time here in a very long time. Glad we tried it again. Food was good and reasonable. Only complaint was that the shrimp and grits could have used another shrimp or two."
Dined on 12/04/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Sascha's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Unexpected

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I read about Saschas online, and thought it would be the perfect place to have a romantic dinner. I was wrong, I thought that they hadn't opened yet when we entered. There were no lights on, just the candles on the tables, it was much too dark. I had to angle the menu just right so that I could see it. There were other guest that received help with a flashlight from the server, that is ridiculous. I think the menu could have more, perhaps two or three choices of, beef, poultry, and seafood, as well as vegetables. When the food arrived, it was hard to see the food on the plates. I happen to be a chef, and the food that I prepare taste good as well as look good. It was impossible to see any food color on our plates. I ordered shrimp and grits, my shrimp were over cooked, very dry. My wife had the crab cake sliders, they were fine but were lost in the bread. The roll was way too much for this crab cake. I also think that some kind of bread, maybe focaccia would have been nice to go with my shrimp and grits dish. I was looking for something special and Saschas didn't deliver. I don't recommend this restaurant to anyone."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sascha's
Based on the average of (40) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
34 out of 37 recommend this product
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2.3 / 3
Energetic