Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar) Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)

dive {fish house} is a wonderful seafood centric oyster + crudo bar...
opening october 2014
45 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(45 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
(16)
4 stars
(13)
3 stars
(9)
2 stars
(4)
1 star
(3)
Food 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • fit for foodies(20)
  • neighborhood gem(16)
  • notable wine list(10)
  • special occasion(9)
  • good for groups(8)
  • romantic(8)
dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar) Reviews List
Review 1 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/18/2013
 2008
Dined on 6/18/2013
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/18/2013
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great seafood in the mountains!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Take advantage of Dive while they are offer 50% deals!"
Dined on 5/06/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/21/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

wonderful experience at the "new" dive

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2007
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"we always cherish our times at dish restaurant, and the new version dive did not disappoint! it's the same chef and owners Pollyanna and Chris, and we enjoyed seeing them all. The seafood was so fresh we felt like we were on a coast, and the options for meat eaters, steak, chicken lamb were perfect for our group.
many things haven't changed like the personable service, the quality of ingredients, and the passion behind it, but the interior and concept are freshed up and well designed.
we are planning two more epic dinners at dive before spring break is over!
"
Dined on 4/07/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Enjoyed the atmosphere and food at Dive!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Our server Makinzee was very attentive and informative about the menu options...she definitely steered us in the right direction! I loved the salmon entree....cooked to perfection...and wine paired perfectly (suggested by Makinzee).... the chocolate ganache cake was scrumptious!! We enjoyed the soothing aqua interior....goes well with the seafood theme. We are locals and will be back again!"
Dined on 3/28/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2006
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was great, but the service was extremely slow. The bar was very crowded with folks who had obviously been there a while & the noise level made it hard to have a conversation if you were sitting adjacent to the bar, as we were.
Prices are now higher than they were at Dish, which was disappointing, too.
We had rolls ( $6 for 4), 2 entrees, 1 side dish and 1 cocktail and it was $70 before the tip.
"
Dined on 3/23/2015
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Deep Dive into a tasteless abyss

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Decided to try Dive on a Friday night. The setting is nice but the food was mediocre at best. Started with the clam chowder – lots of potatoes almost no clams with the exception of the two clams in shells. There was so much butter on the chowder that it really detracted from the soup, granted a pad of butter to finish off the chowder is traditional but only a pad not a half stick. Someone should introduce the chef and staff to seasoning, every dish was bland, starting from the chowder, to the cioppino, to the shrimp and grits. The king crab in the cioppino was inedible, looked like it was freezer burned and then just disintegrated. To top it off the wine markup is simply ridiculous, some of the wines are 4 times retail. Spend your money at many of the better establishments in the valley."
Dined on 3/20/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

wonderful re-incarnation to dive

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2007
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"This was our second time to dive (formerly dish) and it was spectacular!
Sit at the end of the bar with Scott or John, and they will treat you amazing.
We had 24 oysters which were briny fresh, and described perfectly by Scott.
Next was the saltcod brandade, which was perfect and so nice for a chilly night, followed by the crab louie which was blugging with crab.
The highlights of our mains where the dayboat scallops with a farro risooto and spring peas and shrimp n'grits..so good.
We finished with macaroons and had two great bottles of burgundy!
Well done! well done!
"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2011
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"It was a slow night and the server, Scott, had time to talk with us which made us feel welcome. The food was very good."
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2011
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

So-So

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We've never been fans of the ambiance at this location, but we decided to give this a try in its new iteration, since it's not far from where we live. We were disappointed. My scallops were mediocre. The opah was fair. My husband liked the brussels sprouts, but I thought they were too sweet. The beet and potato gratin was delicious and different. The waiter didn't seem like he really wanted to be there and was not knowledgable about the wines. Probably won't go back. Hooked in Beaver Creek is way better if you're looking for a fish restaurant."
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

What a Gem!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We stumbled upon dive through Open Table and glad we did! Very well conceived and executed culinary concept and a wonderful alternative to the more chic restaurants in Vail.
Dive does seafood very well offering a truly unique menu - tough to choose. We went with the beet salad, fritto misto and opah. Every dish was perfectly prepared.
The menu and wine list is innovative and a bit different from the norm. What was especially notable was the detailed knowledge of our waitress on both the food and wine. Nice selection of beers, as well, carefully selected to pair up with the predominantly seafood menu.
Had the chance to meet restaurant operators Pollyanna and Chris who clearly are putting passion into their new endeavor.
The restaurant is in a small shopping complex in the heard of Edwards, just 10 minutes from Beaver Creek and maybe 15-20 from Vail. Well worth the trip. It's upstairs with huge west facing windows that offer a nice sunset view.
While I'm in the area on business, somehow we missed its predecessor Dish over the years. Glad we found dive. We'll for sure put it on our list for future visits."
Dined on 2/14/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, scenic view, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Was Dish - repainted new chandliers some fish decorations, but still nice ambiance. Food was really tasty. Small potions, so not a good choice if you have a hearty appetite. Service was slow."
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2009
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

confused

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Loved the previous version of this restaurant, DISH. It was unique and fun ordering from food specialties from different countries. The service at DIVE was good but the food was mediocor.
The lamb and the curried shrimp were served only luke warm--we sent them back to be heated--when they returned they were much warmer -- the curried shrimp was low on sauce and it was rather bland.
Oh for the good old DISH days!"
Dined on 2/02/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Seafood

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2010
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Great seafood. Unique plates and flavors, could probably use a couple of simple fish dishes for the less adventurous."
Dined on 1/01/2015
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Bad service

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2007
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2007
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Terrible service, disorganized. We didn't get our wine until halfway through dinner because it wasn't chilled which they didn't tell us."
Dined on 12/29/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Special Occasion

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We loved Dish and miss it tremendously. This was our first time at the new restaurant. I had made reservations and a note that we were celebrating a birthday. Service was a little slow. Food was very good. They had some items that were not available, which was disappointing as it was two days before christmas. We were disappointed that there was no recognition of the birthday."
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Black Cod

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2010
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We like Black Cod to be prepared in a sweet miso sauce. this was not and was not good for three of us."
Dined on 12/22/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dish was better.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The former restaurant, Dish, was one of our favorites in the valley. The food was always outstanding. We are very disappointed in the menu at Dive - the selections and the presentations are simply not as good as they were. Sorry to say that we have crossed Dive off our list, and do not plan to return. Bring back Dish, please."
Dined on 12/18/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Enjoyed!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Loved the re-invention of the former "Dish", food consisted of updated interpretations of old seafood classics and new delights. We are adventurous eaters and love to go to a restaurant where you can sample a wine from Macedonia and have the chef send you his complimentary experiments from the kitchen."
Dined on 12/14/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Very disappointing.

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was awful. I haven't said that for years. I'm not sure what the problem was but I could only eat the raw fish. Everything we ordered that was cooked was full of salt. I was a fan of the previous restaurant - Dish - where the food was generally really good. I would not go back here."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good spot for oysters and a drink

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Ambiance is maybe a little brighter and more nautical decor than the previous restaurant. The oysters were very good, crabcakes good, the dessert was sublime. The entrees are a little pricey for the actual taste and presentation, and the wines by the glass were extremely limited unless you really like chardonnay. I think it would be a good spot to hit up for a drink and oysters followed by dessert."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2010
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for dive {fish house} (fka dish restaurant + bar)
Based on the average of (24) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
18 out of 21 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Noise Level
2.4 / 3
Energetic