Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center

The signature dish at Legal Sea Foods – really fresh fish.

Come aboard for seafood or make waves in our buzz-worthy bar. We are conveniently located inside The Shops at the Prudential Center, within steps of the Hynes Convention Center and Newbury Street.

Legal Sea Foods has long proven that a consistent, high quality dining experience never goes out of style. With over 40 varieties of fresh fish and shellfish available throughout the year as well as an award-winning wine list, there’s no doubt why legions of fans have fallen hook, line and sinker.

We’ve received a boatload of accolades including “#1 Best Seafood Restaurant” (USA Today, 2013), “Most Popular Boston Restaurant” (Zagat, 2012/2013), “Best Seafood Restaurant” (Improper Bostonian, 2010), “Best Chowder” (Boston Magazine, 2010) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.
61 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
(61 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
5 stars
(32)
4 stars
(22)
3 stars
(5)
2 stars
(1)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.9 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(27)
  • great for lunch(17)
  • fit for foodies(15)
  • special occasion(14)
  • kid-friendly(12)
  • notable wine list(7)
Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center Reviews List
Review 1 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2013
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"The food and service was incredible."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Everything was great and our server was quite personable and very attentive. He was always there when we needed him. The food was awesome!"
Dined on 12/17/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Poor service

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I ordered the special Mai mai, but the waitress brought me a different version of the dish. Even when I complained that it wasn't the special, but she insisted that was what I ordered and didn't offer to replace it. When I ordered the special, I even pointed to it on the menu!"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

.Fabulous evening!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food and service were great, actually outstanding. Brittney was very attentive and professional! Warm & friendly. The main restaraunt was pretty busy and noisy so the fact that we were in a smaller room was much appreciated!"
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food, service was spotty

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Been to this restaurant location many times before and the service has always been good. This last visit however was a different story. We never got silverware (had to grab it off of a nearby table) and our food came out at vastly different times. Our server was very nice and apologized and said they were under staffed that day."
Dined on 12/13/2014
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Amazing

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Soooooo good. From the appetizer to the drinks, everything was amazing. Servers were very friendly."
Dined on 12/10/2014
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Mike

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We attended in a group of 12 and were served great food and drinks."
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

You won't be disappointed...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Had lunch with a friend on Sunday after spending the morning at Craft Boston. We had made a reservation so even though there was a substantial line, we were taken right away. There are so many choices on the lunch menu, you couldn't go wrong with any pick! We both had wood-grilled entrees,haddock with a skewer of shrimp and scallops and they were all perfectly prepared BUT the real star of the plate was the baked delicata squash with a fennel stuffing !! The food was just so "clean",no heavy sauces or gravies. A perfect mid-day meal!"
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2008
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

xmas rush

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"A little problem with appetizers - some cold and others not delivered at same time to everyone. Otherwise - entrees were terrific and service improved after the appetizers."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We arrived early but they sited us without a wait. My wife uses a walker and they were very helpful in getting us a table that was comfortable for her. After our drink orders, two dry martians which were outstanding we ordered the seafood combine and told the waitress we wanted to split that between us. When the food came she had asked the kitchen to split it there and they served it to us in two separate dishes. Everything was perfect from start to finish and we highly recommend this establishment. We have been there before when in Boston and are never disappointed."
Dined on 11/28/2014
 2006
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Poor meal and service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/05/2014
 2011
Dined on 10/05/2014
 2011
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Ate here after seeing many recommendations online. I would not recommend this restaurant on the basis of my experience. The service was very poor (the waitress said she was new, but even taking this into account the service was very slow), when the bill arrived we had been overcharged and then it took an age before the correct bill was produced. We had clam chowder for first course which was OK but nowhere near as good as the one we had in Ned Devine's a couple of days previously. I had the scrod for main course which was very bland and of poor consistency.
Overall, not impressed.
"
Dined on 10/05/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Solidly good seafood

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Amazing operation...efficient, professional and great seafood"
Dined on 11/08/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Went there with my family and it was most enjoyable! Everyone at the host stand was inviting and friendly. Our server was fantastic and so was the food. Could not of asked for a better evening."
Dined on 11/07/2014
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Legal Sea Foods - Prudential Center
Based on the average of (47) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
38 out of 41 recommend this product
Food 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
3 / 3
Energetic