Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Luciana's Ristorante Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Luciana's Ristorante

Located in a historical home in the resort town of Dana Point, Luciana's Ristorante has been serving the Orange County community for over 30 years. The decor is reminiscent of a cozy European-style inn, establishing it as one of Orange County's most romantic restaurants. Awarded the Southern California Restaurant Writers gold medal since 1996, three stars from the California Restaurant Writers, Zagat Survey, Zagat's Top Italian Restaurants of North America and an Award of Excellence for its wine list, Luciana's has been setting the standard for classic as well as innovative Italian cuisine. Whether visiting our cozy restaurant or our Bed and Breakfast and Cooking School in Tuscany, Italy, you are sure to experience the best and freshest combination of the old and new worlds.
151 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(151 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 151 reviews
5 stars
(79)
4 stars
(47)
3 stars
(22)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(1)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • romantic(73)
  • special occasion(72)
  • neighborhood gem(71)
  • fit for foodies(41)
  • good for groups(36)
  • notable wine list(30)
Luciana's Ristorante Reviews List
Review 1 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2013
 2015
Dined on 4/09/2013
 2015
Dined on 4/09/2013
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 9/14/2012
 2015
Dined on 9/14/2012
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 9/14/2012
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We hadn't been to Luciana's in years

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We don't live around the block from Luciana's so it doesn't come to mind that often. We were trying to find a nice place to take my in-laws and so we came upon Luciana's again, and so glad we did. It was nice and quiet and quaint, just like we remembered it. And the food was excellent. Will definitely be going there again."
Dined on 5/02/2014
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2011
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/11/2013
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Lovely setting

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The restaurant is set up in an old house and it is just a lovely place to have dinner ... the food is good, the drinks are good and the service is okay. Nothing struck me as outstanding but we will probably give it another try."
Dined on 11/18/2014
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 7/18/2014
 2011
Dined on 7/18/2014
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/18/2014
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 8/17/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2007
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/19/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food!
Great prices!
Great staff!
"
Dined on 1/22/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Italian Food

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2015
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a party of four & our 1st time dining here...we all loved the food & atmosphere. We all would definitely come here again & strongly recommend to our friends!"
Dined on 3/26/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We dine there often and the food is consistently good. Nice wine list, full bar and outdoor dining in season."
Dined on 3/17/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best Italian Restaurant in Southern California!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We were in Southern California for two weeks, and Luciana's Ristoriante was our very best Italian dining experience during our visit: THE BEST food along with attentive and professional service --- all in a beautiful and romantic setting! The wine recommended by our server was also excellent! My husband had the Veal Scallopine; I had the Veal Ravioli --- both were HEAVENLY! Thanks you so much for a MOST wonderful evening!"
Dined on 3/16/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Evening

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We went to dinner at Luciana's to thank our accountant for tax season assistance. He thought his chicken dinner was among the best he has ever had. We loved our food, wine and the delicate cheesecake. The food preparation and wait staff could not have been better. Also, we appreciate that it does not overcharge for delicious food and charming atmosphere as do other restaurants in the coastal region of Orange County. If you are dining anywhere near beautiful Dana Point, Luciana's is a most try location."
Dined on 3/08/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

consistently great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Once again this restaurant comes through with a great meal and great service!
Always a favorite for the consistent food and nice ambiance.
"
Dined on 3/07/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

service was rushed, food was fair at best

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I have eaten there a half dozen times in the past - we are big fans. Still, this time service was rushed, and our food was very, very marginal. Timing was not great - our meals had been sitting under a heat lamp for some time - all had a warmed over look and texture. It will be some time before thinking of returning."
Dined on 3/06/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Delicious food and great service made this a highlight of our trip to Dana Point, California! The menu variety is WOW and each dish came out hot and delicious! I would definitely go back if in the area again!"
Dined on 3/03/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Luciana's Restorante is Wonderful!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Luciana's Restorante is a quaint neighborhood find, that mixes seafood with pasta wonderfully. Most restaurants don't get that seafood and pasta/sauce have to be cooked separately because the fish can get overcooked when cooked together, causing it to be tasteless. The cook here WOW, does he get it! I had the Luciana's Linguini and seafood. The best I have ever had. Very knowlegeable waiter. The only thing I would ask them to do better is to have a screen available for decanting delicate wines. I brought a 30 year old red, that needed a screen, though the waiter did his best without one. Great individual salads, and bread. Very romantic setting. I recommend this restaurant highly."
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Poor manager

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Although food, service, and atmosphere is good, our party of four waited 45 min to be seated with a reservation. The manager on duty did not offer a complimentary cocktail or desert or apology,"
Dined on 2/28/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Too noisy

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was good but expensive, as expected. I used to come here a lot and always enjoyed the dining experience.
The noise level was very high and the addition of an accordion player took it over the top. They need to deal with the noise before I return.
Too bad, I used to like it and they're aren't many "table cloth" restaurants left."
Dined on 2/27/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Saturday, Feb.21st, dinner for 4

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We were disappointed this time at the restaurant. We had 7:30 reservations and had to wait until
8:25 to be seated. We were told that a party of 20 came in, said they had reservations, and turned out they did not have reservations but were seated anyway. This was not acceptable as it made everyone else wait. It was our anniversary, and we were not happy with the wait, the service, or the noise level. It was a disappointing evening, not to mention we brought another couple for their first time there. We come to Dana Point every year and love your restaurant, but even our dinners were not as good as usual. It was an unfortunate evening. Sorry to have to write this review.
"
Dined on 2/21/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I still love the over experience - but the one AC vent blows right on you in a couple tables.
Also the bus boys should not double stack when they clear - and dropping all those dishes in a plastic bucket? TACKY
Plus they rush you.
Why not have a nice stainless cart and TRAIN them on this.
"
Dined on 2/13/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

30 minute wait even with reservations

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I truly love this restaurant. I've been here before and my boyfriend and I love spending our special occasions with Luciana's. Our previous experience was perfectly fine, made reservations and sat within 10 minutes of arriving. Our most recent experience was a bit disappointing. I made reservations for 6:30pm and was told there was going to be a 10 minute wait due to a large party arriving. I don't mind that, but we ended up waiting 30 minutes and didn't receive menus until 7:07 (happened to be seated right next to where the waiters constantly bumped us and entered the orders on the computer). Not only that, but I had requested a table in a corner where there was a bit more privacy since it was a special occasion for the two of us, but we were sat directly between two very large tables. If someone makes a reservation for 6:30 they expect a table to be waiting for them, or at least to be sat within 10 minute of arriving. Especially since I made reservations WEEKS ago. I also didn't appreciate the hostess giving me endless excuses about why we hadn't been sat yet. I will return if we stay in Dana Point again. I really liked our waiter and the food never disappoints, but I hope this situation won't happen again. I wouldn't write about this kind of thing unless I truly loved a place."
Dined on 2/16/2015
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food. Bad service.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We had a reservation but yet had to wait for 20 minutes beyond our reservation time. When we were lead to our table it was next to a large party that was very loud. I requested to have a different table if possible. A server walking by said in very rude tone "NO there are no other tables". We were eventually seated at a different, quieter table. We ordered drinks that took a long time to receive. Our food order was not taken for a considerable time after that. Our food took a long time to receive and then one of our 4 dinners took an additional 10 minutes - which the other 3 waited for so our food was cold by the time it arrived. Our water glasses were refilled 1 time in the 2 hours our meal took from start to finish. And then the check . . . took forever to receive and pay. If you have no where to go and don't mind waiting and feeling ignored. The food is good."
Dined on 2/08/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Kisho

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We enjoyed the ambiance it is very romantic but we were seated near a large party and unfortunately they were extremely loud and rude- behaving like they were the only people dining there. The service was excellent and our waiter was very charming. We ordered 3 entrees that will be on our menu for our rehearsal dinner that we are having there and 2 of the pasta dishes were very bland. It was extremely crowded so we did not send them back but are hoping after we speak to the manager our dishes for the rehearsal dinner will be much more flavorful. Also the crime brûlée was delicious but the chocolate cake was flavorless. We will not be including it in the rehearsal dinner menu."
Dined on 2/07/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Memorable Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"I brought my grandson and his girlfriend here for dinner and we received a genuine Italian experience. The decor in this place is warm and lush. I felt I just stepped into Tuscany. Our pinot griggio was delightful and caprese salad a perfect appetizer. I ordered the house made ravioli which had the flavor of ragout. The other dishes were well received. Halfway through our meal, we were serenaded by the sounds of an accordion weaving their way from the bar. At this point, I expected Perry Como to burst out in song, but alas, it wasn't to be."
Dined on 2/06/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We have visited this restaurant numerous times and always requested the same table, Sorry To report that our requested table was not available due to a set up for a large group. This restaurant has a special large room to accommodate large parties. We were not happy with the assigned table and were reseated in a larger and noisier room. For the first time we felt that the waiters pushed us thru the meal and out the door to make room for the next party."
Dined on 2/05/2015
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Great Food! Unprofessional service...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We have been to Luciano's four times now and the food is always wonderful, unfortunatly the service is not. There is no management in site, 3 out of the 4 server we have had were burn outs, we did have one server( female) that was very good. Too bad for the burn out waiters its kinda of a slap in the face to the Chef, bus staff and hostess that are really good."
Dined on 2/01/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"There was a musty smell when we entered. We were seated right away and the dining room was busy for a random weeknight. The salad was fine but the veal parm and chicken dish were just very ordinary. I think this place has a local following but think there are many more choices out there."
Dined on 2/02/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Excellent

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"One of the best restaurants in South Orange County"
Dined on 1/30/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Nice atmosphere and delicious food.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"If you make a reservation on Open Table, make sure the host seating you knows to mark it as such!"
Dined on 1/29/2015
 2010
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"In from NYC and we felt courageous desiring Italian food. Well courageousness turned into lackluster service and less than stellar food. We were very disappointed by the bland food. I have to say though the restaurant was very quaint and the lady playing the accordion was a nice touch. That's about it. A measly two stars."
Dined on 1/24/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great place

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The food was excellent. And the portions were great in proportion to the price. The service was great. I tried a Chamay beer and didnt like it. Our server replaced it at no charge."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2010
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely restaurant

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This is a very charming restaurant with two separate dining areas and a small bar. Their food prices are very reasonable as is their wine list. The service was excellent as was our food."
Dined on 1/16/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Wonderful!!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"This was our second time eating at Luciana's. Both occasions were wonderful!!! I love this restaurant. The food is great. The service is great. The ambiance is great. I also enjoy that Luciana's does not have loud music playing. It's just a wonderful place to get great food. :)"
Dined on 1/12/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious family dinner!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had a wonderful evening at Luciana's with our family as we were in Dana Point for a few nights on vacation. Service was outstanding, food was wonderful, and ambience was perfect for a small Italian restaurant."
Dined on 1/02/2015
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Bad ambience, rude staff.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Food, wait staff, and prices were good. Front-desk staff was rude and disinterested. Overall experience depends on the room where you are seated."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food very good. Service slow. Tables too close.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"Food was very good and worth a return visit. Service however was on the slow side. Waited for waiter to take our drink request and food order. I had to ask for refills on water (glasses were clearly empty) as well as bill at the end of the evening. In the section of the restaurant tables were placed way to close. Other dinners were inches away."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We were a group of 8 and, through Open Table, we had requested a 'round' table to make convesation easier. When we arrived our table was ready and it was round!
We were very happy our request had been honored.
"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Long time favorite never disappoints

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We've dined here many times over the years, and the entire experience never disappoints. The food, wine, service, ambiance - all provides a consistently special evening. We love it!"
Dined on 12/26/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We continue to enjoy the food and ambiance each time we go .
This time was no different, it was outstanding again.
Monica our waitress was right on with great service too!
Check them out !"
Dined on 12/23/2014
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Outstanding Sevice and Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Been going here for 15 plus years and we are always thrilled with the food and the service is outstanding"
Dined on 12/19/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Neighborhood Gem That We'll be Returning to.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Luciana's has a "homey" feel. It's almost like going out to eat at a friend's house. The staff seems to treat everyone like family. The food is good home style Italian cooking. We had the Scampi appetizer which was a great starter. For our main course we selected the meat lasagna. It was a substantial portion and ranked as one of the better lasagna dishes we've had anywhere. Good food, in a homey atmosphere, at reasonable prices. It's no wonder this restaurant has been around since the early 1980s and is still drawing big crowds."
Dined on 12/20/2014
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great restaurant for a group of ladies!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We had great service and a great meal. The ambiance is cozy and we were treated like family. Sometimes 5 ladies can get a little noisy laughing but it wasn't a problem. We would definitely go back here again."
Dined on 12/16/2014
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Will be Back

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"A nice dinner at Luciana's is a must if you are in the area. Great food and great service! Recommend making reservations as many people already know what a great restaurant Luciana's is and the tables do not take long to fill."
Dined on 12/12/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Suberb

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"The menu is excellent, the food superb, and the service stellar. We arrived early at 5:30 p.m., and the restaurant was already busy. There were no reservations to be had after 5:30 until 9:00, so I would recommend making reservations well in advance. This is clearly a popular restaurant, and for good reason. My wife and I ordered the same items, starting with an outstanding Caesar salad with anchovies (which no longer included at many restaurants) and a steak dish that was heavenly. The prices are very reasonable. We plan to come back many times."
Dined on 12/06/2014
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

LUCIANI'S REST

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2009
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"HAD TO WAIT OVER AN HOUR TO BE SEATED--FAR TO LONG! rEST. SHOULD OPEN 2 4:00P RATHER THAN 5:30P AND OFFER AN HAPPY HOUR."
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Luciana's Ristorante
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Could have been a disaster

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"I made reservations at Luciana's for a quiet, romantic anniversary dinner that was close to home. We live in Dana Point. When we were seated at our table, the room was so noisy I couldn't even hear my husband who was just across the table from me. I thought... so much for the quiet romantic dinner. I was so uncomfortable in the noise that I asked the waiter if there was another table we could move to. He led us to another table that was no better. We then asked if they were seating dinner on the patio. They said yes. We ended up sitting on the heated patio for dinner. The table and couch wasn't really designed for dinner but it was fine. It ended up being a very nice evening that was quiet and romantic. I loved it. What started out to be a potential disaster ended up to be a fabulous, fun evening with good food, wine and ambiance on the patio at Lucianas."
Dined on 11/22/2014
 2008
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Luciana's Ristorante
Based on the average of (103) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
85 out of 88 recommend this product
Food 
4.5 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.5 / 5
Service 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Ambiance 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Noise Level
2.5 / 3
Energetic