Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville Reviews List

Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville

Reminiscent of the classic restaurants & clubs of Chicago & New York in the late fifties & early sixties, Timpano Italian Chophouse revives the big city dining experience. A selection of full-bodied red wines compliment big flavor steaks & chops. Chef Jerome Dorsch's culinary creativity offers featured dishes including bone-in Filet Mignon, Strip Steaks & one pound Center Cut Pork Chops prepared in the exhibition kitchen. The Starlight Lounge provide comfortable sofa seating, a fireplace, a baby grand piano & premium pour cocktails. Timpano Chophouse is designed to satisfy a variety of dining needs and appetites from power lunches to intimate romantic dinners & the many occasions in between!
See more Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville details
203 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
(203 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 203 reviews
5 stars
(66)
4 stars
(82)
3 stars
(33)
2 stars
(16)
1 star
(6)
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4 / 5
Noise Level
2.1 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(83)
  • good for groups(50)
  • romantic(47)
  • fit for foodies(38)
  • neighborhood gem(30)
  • notable wine list(28)
Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville Reviews List
Review 1 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2012
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/08/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/05/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/06/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Pricey food but great service.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Great restaurant. The food was a little pricey and there isn't much choice for entrees. But what makes this place nice is the atmosphere, the friendly and attentive service, and the taste of the food."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2015
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Awesome food and atmosphere!!! I was server was terrific. We will revisit often."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Reliable Meeting Spot

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Timpano has been our "go to" spot for business lunch for many years. The staff there newver disappoints."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Overpriced for what you get.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The noise level was way too high, I could barely hear what my friend at the table was saying. The food was good, but way overpriced for what it was. We ordered cappuccino and they came out luke warm, and with lipstick on the cups. All in all, it was not a bad experience, but one I am likely not to repeat any time soon."
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Delicious but Pricey & Long wait for orders

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We went on a Saturday night as we had a couple of gift cards we were given on our last visit. The restaurant had steady business but was not full or people waiting, there were plenty of open tables.
Our waiter was fantastic and working hard but as I noted at the previous visit everything moves slow. I did not see in any way this was his fault, just the overall way the restaurant seems to work. We ordered our drinks and those took at least 15 minutes to arrive. Then everything just seemed to arrive slowly after that. Most of the food we ordered was delicious especially the mussels. My husband also loved his spaghetti with meatballs. The mushroom rigatoni I had was average - I would not order it again. But I wanted to try something different so I took a chance. The bread was not as I remembered if from my previous visit, seemed to be store bought rolls not the delicious loaf bread I remember. My husband asked the person who delivered our food for fresh pepper for his spaghetti, they said yes but never brought it. He asked for a spoon for his coffee that took at least 10 minutes to get. Just little things that make the price questionable.
Then we went to use the two gift cards we were given by the manager before Christmas and they would only let us use one. Nowhere on the card did it mention one per visit, per check, per person or anything. Likely we won't use the 2nd one as it is quite a drive from our house to go there and it probably won't be worth the trip and cost again.
I would recommend trying it and sitting at the bar and getting a couple of appetizers - the mussels for sure and drink. The food is very very good, the waiter was delightful but the cost and little miscues make me wonder about the overall experience."
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

birthday celebration

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"Deconstructed bruschetta looked odd when it arrived - looked like cottage cheese, but it was excellent.
Filet steaks and daily special - mahi mahi, and mushroom side were excellent.
Friends found wine selection very good.
Great espresso.
Service very good - they were very busy - reservations were for Saturday evening.
$240 for 3 of us.
Have been for lunch which is a steal - great food at a good price.
Tables are a little close together - navigating to restrooms complex!
Overall excellent experience.
"
Dined on 1/30/2016
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 1/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food but service needs work

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I took my girlfriend here for her birthday and wasn't blown away. The food was amazing and so juicy. Wine was excellent. The server seemed like she was not happy and could care less that we were there. The food runner who brought the food couldn't answer a single question on the food and replied with, " I don't know what's in the food I just drop it off." That's odd being a food runner and not knowing the food. I wish they would have done something for my girlfriend to make her feel even more special on her birthday. Overall the food and atmosphere were amazing but the service could use some work. I just wish they made us feel more welcome."
Dined on 1/27/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"My husband and I came for happy hour and we loved the mussels. We'll be back for sure!"
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Dined on 1/24/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2007
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2007
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great Service, Great Food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"I'm never disappointed when I eat at Timpano and last Saturday for lunch was no exception. They easily accommodated a last minute request to increase our number. The waiter exhibited excellent customer service skills, deftly handling all our special requests (and everyone in my party had some sort of special request). Due to gastric bypass surgery, I still can't eat breads, pastas, or solid/hard meat proteins. Our waiter worked with the kitchen staff to serve me a bowl of Minestrone (which was delicious and full of beans) without any pasta. That means someone pulled every bit of pasta from a soup that generally has a lot of pasta. And although cooked spinach is not a menu item on its own, they do serve spinach salad and spinach in some dishes. So the waiter again worked with the kitchen staff to get me a plate of perfectly cooked and well seasoned spinach, with lots of roasted garlic. Note that I said "perfectly cooked and well seasoned", because so many places don't know how to get this just right - - Timpano does. The Minestrone was also fantastic - - rich with beans and the tomato base was home made. So my companions ate up their special order meals of Mahi Mahi with a variety of sides; and for once, I didn't feel out of place because I had a lovely and perfectly prepared dish that I could eat and enjoy."
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"One other night i think on a Thursday they had live music. It was so loud you could not talk to your table guests but any other bight that i have been there has been excellent. B"
Dined on 1/17/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great fir Business Lunch

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Timpano is a consistently dependable restaurant for business lunches. Servers are regularly attentive. Table density is gratifying low allowing for conversation."
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2007
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2013
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/08/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2011
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/04/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/30/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Reliable but not extraordinary

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Always good but after taking my significant there on NYE I realized it was a good every day restaurant and perhaps a bit over priced for the quality. My friend ordered the linguine with clam sauce and it was kinda sad, small portion and forgettable clam sauce.
The mussels were great and so was my veal piccata. Service was slow and the gentleman told us it was his first day. Overall I would definitely eat there again since I have had some yummy lunches but they could use a makeover in service and quality of food.
We have had similar experiences during our lunch service over the last year."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dinner was outstanding !

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Added benefit of live music at the bar on New Years eve was perfect!"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I made a reservation for New Years eve dinner based on the high reviews. I was totally disappointed. The band playing in the adjacent lounge to the main restaurant was so loud we had to shout our orders at the waiter. In hopes that it was just that song we placed our orders anyway. The band continued to play so loudly conversation was impossible. While the waiter was friendly and tried to engage when taking our orders my water glass was left empty for 20 minutes before I finally flagged him down and got a refill. Despite sitting there for 45 minutes we never got the bread as promised and our appetizer was soggy when it arrived. We requested our meals to go, which were pretty good as leftovers but I will never be going back. The atmosphere was that of a rowdy bar, not a nice restaurant."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent food & service but not for quiet dinners

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Timpano has a large variety of offerings for an Italian chop house. Our food was delicious and presented beautifully, and the wait and bussing staff was very attentive. The menu is a la carte, which allows diners a lot of flexibility, but definitely drives up check. While we enjoy dining here, it is always very noisy, even if the dining room is not full, so you may not enjoy eating here if you were looking for a quiet dinner and conversation."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

The music is too loud almost imposible to talk.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2014
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/22/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best spot on the Rockville Pike!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"There's no place in Rockville that beats Timpano for steaks, fish, chicken, pasta specialties and appetizers - and we've tried many places. I, we, have never had Mussels or Calamari appetizers so tender, and the bone in Ribeye and Chicken Marsala are our most frequent entrees. We visit Timpano at least three times a month, and more frequently when we have out of area visitors. Service is always impeccable and bar service produces the best Martinis and mixed drinks. Servers are familiar with the wine list and always recommends the appropriate wine for entree selections, although we have three or four favorites. Dessert? Try the Tiramisu, or Cookie, or Choco Cake. Try it - you'll love it, as well as the prices. We've never hung out, but the bar seems to always be busy and live music is always varied. Oh yeah, this is one of only three places where I enjoy the chopped salad."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2014
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very Good but a little pricey

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2011
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 12/26/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food but they were out of a lot of things.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Timpano Italian Chophouse - Rockville
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2008
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 11/02/2015
 2008
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>