Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Lockwood Restaurant and Bar Reviews List

Lockwood Restaurant and Bar

Lockwood Restaurant & Bar is an ideal dining destination offering a chef inspired, modern American menu highlighting locally and seasonally influenced fare. An extensive wine program is also available for guests to select the perfect vintage to complement their meal. Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and afternoon tea, Lockwood Restaurant provides a comfortably elegant setting for any and all occasions—including private events and receptions.
See more Lockwood Restaurant and Bar details
304 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
(304 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 304 reviews
5 stars
(97)
4 stars
(108)
3 stars
(52)
2 stars
(36)
1 star
(11)
Food 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Service 
3.8 / 5
(Very Good) 3.8 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Value 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • special occasion(95)
  • fit for foodies(62)
  • romantic(62)
  • good for groups(41)
  • vibrant bar scene(36)
  • great for lunch(33)
Lockwood Restaurant and Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/23/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2006
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2006
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/26/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 4/22/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good Restaurant in Historic Hotel

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I had to stay in downtown Chicago last weekend and decided to try Lockwood. I am a Chicagoan but I had never eaten there before. The ambiance was pleasant and the service was efficient and friendly. The menu was a bit unusual. There were many appetizers, but fewer entrees. However, you only need one and they had skatewing, one of my favorites. It was as good as I have ever eaten and served with a cabbage side dish which was delicious (I don't usually like cabbage). My companion had the same thing, so I can't comment on the other dishes. For appetizer I had potato leek soup. It sounds routine, but it was excellent. The dessert menu was the major disappointment. There were only 4 choices, two of them the mundane creme brulee and sorbet selections. We had bread pudding and it was good, but I don't think the desserts were up to the remainder of the menu.
Prices for the premier restaurant in a major hotel were quite reasonable if you avoid the beef, which was quite expensive by any standard.
I would go there again. It has a very convenient Loop location and the public spaces of the hotel are worth a visit in their own right."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2003
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Inventive Menu

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2001
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2001
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"The menu was creative, and all the food was delicious, including the warm bread with whipped herb butter. My scallops were done perfectly, my husband's pork dish had a delicious combination of flavors, and my son ate his entire bowl of spaghetti bolognese, even after enjoying a delicious steak tartare appetizer."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2001
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Palmer House

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I had forgotten about this place and honestly, didn't remember the name. Lockwood was very quiet and well appointed. The food was excellent! However, the portions were not large and we found ourselves ordering dessert as a result."
Dined on 4/23/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 4/23/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/21/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Never disappoiting

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Worthwhile repeated visits.Good service,good food and wine list"
Dined on 4/18/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, hot spot, great for lunch, scenic view, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2013
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/19/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 4/13/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 4/12/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2012
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 4/09/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/04/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Staff staff staff

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2015
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Good people can make your experience memorable.
Excellent service -- very attentive staff. Food was good - but the service was more memorable. Friendly - but not overly attentive.
"
Dined on 4/03/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/04/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Not what it used to be

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2011
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"We planned a night out at Lockwood and we surprised that the level of service and for quality has diminished since we last went a few years ago. It took 22 minutes from the time we were seated until we were offered a drink. We then got them 9 minutes later. We were early in the evening and there were very few people there. The menu selection was fair. The food quality was good. The desert menu was weak and the creme brûlée was not up to par. Overall it seems Lockwood has gone from a top shelf establishment to another hotel restaurant."
Dined on 4/01/2016
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/02/2016
 2002
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2016
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/29/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/28/2016
 2014
Dined on 3/28/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/28/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Pleasant Experience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"If you are staying in the hotel this is a convenient choice with very good food and adequate service. There are many choices in Chicago for fine dining and this is not a standout however, we enjoyed our food very much. The cocktails offered are really very good so a visit to the bar to experience this beautiful lobby would suffice."
Dined on 3/23/2016
 2004
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2015
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 3/27/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Poor Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2013
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2013
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"I felt like our waiter was either too overloaded or didn't care about us. We waited forever to order drinks, then it was a very long time until we got them. I ran out of water and could never catch our waiter's eye to signal him over so I could ask for more. I finally got the attention of a busboy and was finally able to get my water. There were 3 of us and 1 person loved her meal - scallops - my pasta dish was just mediocre and I had to add salt and pepper to give it a little flavor. I had to get the salt and pepper off another table or I would still be there waiting on it. The other person in our group got some kind of shaved beef dish and she didn't like it at all so she sent it back and just decided not to get anything else because we knew the wait would be really long. On a positive note- the bread was delicious. We stay at this hotel every time we come to Chicago, but we won't eat here again even though its so convenient."
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Mediocre Food, Inattentive Service

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2010
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2010
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Our waiter was very inattentive - we sat for 10 minutes without water or a hello, drinks remained unfilled throughout the meal, and no visit to see if our food was OK.
The food was mediocre at best - the Pasta Chitarra was basically some pasta, olive oil, soggy mushrooms and parsley. The buratta appetizer was decent although the peaches (in March) were hard and lacked any flavor.
"
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 3/12/2016
 2007
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 3/10/2016
 2007
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, special occasion, notable wine list, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

the server got lost - couldn't find him to order

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"the server got lost - couldn't find him to take our order - and there were only 2 tables in use. hostess came to help.
great ambience
"
Dined on 3/07/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 2/25/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 3/01/2016
 2015
Dined on 3/01/2016
 2015
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 3/01/2016
 2015
Special Features: hot spot, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/27/2016
 2014
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great kids menu with affordable options."
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/26/2016
 2012
Special Features: vibrant bar scene, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Dined on 2/25/2016
 2016
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good restaurant in a historic hotel

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We had an excellent meal in this restaurant right off the majestic lobby of the Palmer House Hotel. The food was excellent and the service attentive."
Dined on 2/24/2016
 2005
Special Features: special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/24/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/24/2016
 2016
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/24/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/25/2016
 2006
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/24/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Dined on 2/20/2016
 2005
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Back in time to a grand hotel restaurant, sort of

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The title sort of sums it up. Felt like walking back in time, the hotel its self and the displays of old china adding to that feel of course. The food was very good. The salmon was excellent, surprisingly so, I thought. Not large portions. Nice that a salad came on the plate with the salmon, so you really don't need to order an additional one. Nice and quiet for talk. A good couple place. The only downsides were the service was good, but not outstanding, especially for the price."
Dined on 2/19/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Service was slow server not very attentive

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2003
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2003
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 2/18/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Subtle Surprise

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"My biggest rave here isn't for the food - although it's delicious - it's for the service. Mamun is one of the best waiter's I've ever had. He was extremely polite, and very knowledgeable about the menu, but also soft-spoken. I wish we had challenged him more on his knowledge but we were already familiar with the menu. However, I heard him answer others' questions with ease.
Even if the food had not been very good, I probably would still go back just because of Mamun.
My butter lettuce salad was delicious and well dressed. The pasta and pork shoulder were delicious, as well as the French toast pudding and creme brulee.
"
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2011
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2010
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2010
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 2/14/2016
 2010
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

I would recommend this place for tasty food

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2013
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"The food here was really good and different. I am not sure about the value though and IMO it was more expensive than it needed to be. For the valentine's day menu, it said wine pairing and you usually assume that is a different wine per course, but here they just gave us a bottle of rose. It was good rose, but they should make their clearer on their menu next time."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2013
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

solid pre-concert choice

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Near to orchestra hall and reliable for a decent meal. Service varies but was excellent on this visit. Busy lobby location is just a bit distracting. Does exceed slightly the standard hotel formula: slap 'em a steak at a big margin."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

High quality food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Food was excellent. Scallops melted in mouth. Small portions. Brought 10 and 11 yr old. Nice kids selection. Kids brownie should be labeled "lots of nuts". My kids aren't allergic but dislike nuts with chocolate and had to peel off 50% of brownie to rid it of the offensive nuts. Service was excellent and seated within 10 minutes of reservation on day before Valentine's Day."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We had a reservation for Lockwood before attending the Chicago Symphony which is just a short 4 minute walk away. The restaurant was the perfect setting for our classy evening. The Lockwood is a place that you must have a reservation for because it fills up quickly with all of the guests staying in the hotel. You will be treated to the aura of the stunning historic hotel lobby of the Palmer while dining at this modern restaurant with something for everyone. We loved the mussels and scallops! The cocktail specials were also very tasty. It's hard to find an authentic place to dine on the heart of the loop, although I would surely return one night that we wanted to step it up a notch again and feel like tourists in our own city."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A must go, but double check reservations.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Besides the food, wine, ambiance, and location being perfect...my only complaint is the service. Not of the waiter, of the hostess. I called to switch my reservation from 7:15 to 7:30, which the hostess stated was perfectly fine. I was not from Chicago so I was in the wrong part of town and would not be able to make it. She stressed she would take care of t and so I planned to be there at 7:30. Although I understated the parking situation of Chicago and having to pay 40$ for a parking spot... I then called back to tell her we would be 10 mins late because we parked far and had to walk. So we then showed up exhausted as freezing, only to find out she never changed my appointment and we lost our table in Valentine's Day. I was extremely disappointed and expected more from this restaurant."
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, great for brunch, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Lockwood Restaurant and Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 2/13/2016
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>