Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Legal Sea Foods - Huntington Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Legal Sea Foods - Huntington

The signature dish at Legal Sea Foods – really fresh fish.
Long Islanders know oysters and they eat them at Legal Sea Foods. Come for the seafood and stay to shop. We are conveniently located in the Walt Whitman Shops. Eat fish, live longer. Eat oysters, love longer.

Legal Sea Foods has long proven that a consistent, high quality dining experience never goes out of style. With over 40 varieties of fresh fish and shellfish available throughout the year as well as an award-winning wine list, there’s no doubt why legions of fans have fallen hook, line and sinker.

We’ve received a boatload of accolades including being named “#1 Best Seafood Restaurant” in a nationwide poll by USA Today (2013) and the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.
28 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(28 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
(14)
4 stars
(8)
3 stars
(3)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(0)
Food 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Service 
4.1 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.1 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
3.1 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • great for lunch(12)
  • fit for foodies(11)
  • good for groups(9)
  • special occasion(8)
  • neighborhood gem(5)
  • romantic(4)
Legal Sea Foods - Huntington Reviews List
Review 1 for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 3/21/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/24/2014
 2010
Dined on 1/24/2014
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/24/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Typical service and food you would expect from a chain"
Dined on 5/19/2013
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Fond farewell

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We are very sorry to see this restaurant close. It has been a favorite of our for many years"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The fish is always fresh and always cooked properly. Sadly it is closing at this location. A big loss."
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2005
Special Features: great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Will miss this hotspot!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"While the restaurant closed its doors yesterday at 7:00 pm, it will always hold a special place in my heart.
Best seafood on the Island with the most intelligent servers out there. Will be missed!"
Dined on 9/26/2014
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

presentation

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My order consisted of three items, They came on a bare large plate , Scallops , shrimp , crab cake .That's it ,no bed of anything . I felt at least a little rice . Plate was cool so it was eat fast or food would get cold since there was nothing to help keep food warm such as rice . Also never got my salad that I had ordered."
Dined on 12/24/2014
 2012
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"So delicious each and every time. I will miss everything about this place- friendly staff, great food. Very sad to see it go!"
Dined on 12/15/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lov2eatout

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Always good food. We love to order fried oysters and savor them for a while with a glass of wine. No pressure to order the main, which we often share ( and they split it in the kitchen)."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2012
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The food was not as good as it was on previous visits. For the prices the restaurant charges I expected better."
Dined on 12/03/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Always Wonderful

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2012
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2012
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"I dine at this restaurant often being that I live and work in the neighborhood, Its great to take clients & family, The service is always spot on and the food is absolutely the best around. This past visit I had the Lobster Special, it tender & delicious, cooked to perfection. My wife had the swordfish with the onion jam on top and ate the entire thing because it was so good. We were very upset to learn that they are closing. Have been coming here for many years."
Dined on 12/01/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Limited menu, overcooked food, but nice ambience

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Had no idea I was at the mall! Great atmosphere, amazing service. Menu was limited, and some of the food was a bit overdone, but we still were very happy and would go back"
Dined on 11/29/2014
 2004
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Legal Sea Foods - Huntington
Based on the average of (16) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
12 out of 14 recommend this product
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.7 / 5
(Very Good) 3.7 / 5
Noise Level
3.1 / 3
Energetic