Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar Reviews List

Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar

In Japan, the word Miyama means 'beautiful mountain'. Here in Colorado, it translates into a memorable dining experience in a striking aura of Japanese tradition and decor. The ambience is stepped in history-everywhere you look, you will see rare Japanese antiques and artifacts, including 200 year-old Samurai armor and priceless Japanese 'Tansu' chests. The traditional element of Miyama's decor and cuisine is further enhanced by servers wearing brilliantly colored Kimonos. Whether, you enjoy world class sushi in the Sushi Bar and Lounge; or, prefer dining on premium steak and seafood while being entertained by the Teppan Chef at one of the sixteen 'habachi'tables, Miyama guarantees a memorable dining experience for the entire family, where children are welcomed with a special kids menu and private dining rooms are available for special occasions. **Please note that you are booking for Teppan seats. Please contact the restaurant directly for Sushi reservations**
See more Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar details
217 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
(217 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 217 reviews
5 stars
(109)
4 stars
(71)
3 stars
(19)
2 stars
(14)
1 star
(4)
Food 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Service 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Ambiance 
4.2 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.2 / 5
Noise Level
2 / 3
Energetic
Value 
3.5 / 5
(Very Good) 3.5 / 5
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(134)
  • special occasion(120)
  • kid-friendly(94)
  • neighborhood gem(41)
  • fit for foodies(37)
  • great for lunch(37)
Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar Reviews List
Review 1 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

A little disappointed

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We recently visited Miyama to celebrate my husband's birthday. My family has been to Miyama many times, and we always enjoy the experience. This time, however, we were a little disappointed. Our waiter took our drink orders, I ordered tea. After it came, I asked for sweetener, and my mom asked for lemon for her water (which she asked for when she ordered the water). The sweetener did not come. We asked again and it did finally arrive. My husband ordered an appetizer, which is supposed to come with ginger and wasabi on the side, it did not. The appetizer did not come until we were eating our dinner, which is also when the salad came out. We did not have any eating utensils (either forks or chop sticks)- had to ask for them. Our waiter was very nice, but he seemed flustered and did not know what he was doing most of the time. (He told us he had only been there a week and a half). Our chef was wonderful. We also thought that our dinner came with desert, but it was never offered. We also had no soy sauce on the table and finally our chef gave us his from his prep cart. I was not impressed with the service and it did appear that we were rushed and that they were very short staffed. This is not the experience we have had in the past. My chicken was very dry."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Good food but service was only mediocre

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"We made a reservation for my son's birthday on a Saturday afternoon. When we arrived (on time for our reservation) we were told that there would be a 15-20 minute wait as a large table was seated 15 minutes earlier and the restaurant was short on cooks. We then waited 30 minutes past our reservation time. The hostess apologized for the wait time but made no attempt to "make it right". Dessert nor drinks were offered, nor was our bill comped at all. I understand that things happen. But what makes it or breaks it for me is how the restaurant attempts to fix those things. It would have gone a long way for me if drinks or dessert were offered or the birthday boy's meal was comped."
Dined on 2/06/2016
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 2/06/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 2/05/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/30/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/23/2016
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/22/2016
 2005
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2009
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2009
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/18/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"We went to Miyama's after the lunch rush was over, so the restaurant was quite. I haven't been back in the restaurant for a while; but, it was nice to see that the food and service has not changed. The staff and chef (Ricky) were awesome, and food was great. Thanks!!"
Dined on 1/16/2016
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2010
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

really enjoyed my dinner/birthda experience

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2010
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2010
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 1/15/2016
 2010
Special Features: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2016
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"Service was OK, but certainly not outstanding. Food preparation was fun. We found the steak to be chewy, not tender as expected. Shrimp and salmon were both good. Veggies excellent. Overall, a little disappointing."
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2016
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2005
Dined on 1/14/2016
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2016
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2016
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 1/12/2016
 2016
Special Features: romantic, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2007
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Outstanding Sushi!

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The sushi is outstanding along with great specials and pricing! The teppan grill is over priced and not much food for the price. Teppan shrimp is $22 for 6 to 8 shrimp, a few vegetables and a bowl of rice! You are paying for the chef to do a few tricks, but pretty boring and extremely over priced! 5 people with tip and tax was $158. Go there for Sushi and Sushi only!"
Dined on 1/11/2016
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

amazing food, nice restaurant, disorganized host

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2014
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I've been to a lot of hibachi restaurants, and this place does it right. They separated the tables around the building to keep noise down. They have a nice ambiance all around. A small but fun bar with sports on the tvs and sushi bar in the middle with some tables for non hibachi goers. The hibachi chef was awesome, had some tricks I haven't seen before and was very personable. The food was delicious. I had the miyama special- I can't remember ever having scallops that good, and I'm from florida. They have a great cold saki selection, my wife and I got a flight of saki to try 5 different ones and then had a glass of the sweet nigori (I usually like the dryer junmai personally) I didn't have any sushi this time, but it looked amazing as i wandered around waiting for the hostess to get things together...30 mins after my reservation. That was the only downside, and I get the logistical issues of trying to make hibachi tables fit fully with the different groups, but the hostess was either new or lacking some competency. We were standing at host table waiting to be acknowledged and it took a couple walking in asking me if we had checked in for her to realize she hadn't spoken with us yet. Other than that (small frustration) this place is my new favorite spot. I hope the scallops are that perfect every time."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 21 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Very good food along with a little entertainment.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Good food wi good show by the chef. Great place for special occasions."
Dined on 1/09/2016
 2016
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/20/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Dined on 1/06/2016
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Lovely restaurant with great food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We come to the restaurant regularly to get good sushi and sashimi. Food is always fresh, service fast and friendly. Recommend monkey brain, great appetizer."
Dined on 1/06/2016
 2013
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, great for lunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Dined on 1/05/2016
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/03/2016
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/02/2016
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great service and a lot of fun for our group.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 1/01/2016
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disappointed

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"I had a party of 7 come in for dinner at 7:45. When we arrived the lady at the host stand said they were cleaning our table. Not a problem. However 45 minutes later we finally got sat. It took almost ten minutes to get drinks. They had a special New Year's Eve menu. We asked if we could make a substitution and was told not tonight! Really? You change your menu and then tell us we can't make a change. Uggh..
We asked for silverware numerous times and finally got it after out food was done. They told us they didn't have enough. Needed to wait until they got some clean. Refills were slow. Just a huge disappointment for the price. The only thing that was a positive was our chef. He was Great!!
"
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Poor service, over priced and ok food.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Having eaten there multiple times, we are seated 35 minutes late with a reservation. Food was okay but aps and drinks came after main course was being served. Cocktails were late, dishes were not cleared promptly and the chef was quite messy. Will reconsider eating there again."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2011
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"Food was great here--Kobe beef and lobster were both spectacular. Service was ok--we went on New Year's Eve, which we knew would be busy, but we had a reservation and still were not seated until half an hour after our reservation time. Chef and our main waitress were great, but some of the other wait staff were pushy & rude, especially those coming to clear/set the tables. Overall good experience though, and we would consider going back simply for the quality of the food."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2005
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2005
Special Features: special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

We Will not be back!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"Food was not cooked as ordered. The chef was inexperienced. Our New York steak was cooked Medium Well not Medium Rare as everyone had asked. Shrimp was good. Fried rice had a burnt flavor due to he burned the eggs. Our vegetables were also overcooked and mushy. I brought guests from out of state and didn't want to make a scene that is why I didn't inform the manager. The extra charge for green tea ice cream is ridiculous. Very disappointed in the quality of food for the $320.00 bill."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2015
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"First and foremost have to say that out chef Marcus was great. He brought a fresh and less predictable routine to the meal, which was a nice change of pace. Otherwise, this place isn't as good as it used to be. We visited on New Year's Eve and were presented their "special" menu. Prices were jacked way up and options were limited. Virtually the only adult steak options were "Kobe" with a strip going for $60! I have no problem paying that much for a good steak, but not at a hibachi place that is only doing it to gouge people. Fried rice, normally a ripoff at $3, was $4.50. We seated 20 minutes after our reservation time in a back room that was freezing cold. When we inquired, the response was that it will heat up soon enough. Unfortunately it never did and it was all we could do to get out of there asap to warm up. It's really too bad to see this place decline because it really is a lot nicer than the other options in the area. I hope someone takes note and stops taking advantage of the very customers that allow you the privilege of being able to open your doors each day."
Dined on 12/31/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

It's a novelty restaurant, food & service is meh

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
"It's a fun night for my girls (7 & 9) because of the showmanship of the cook. But the food is bland, and the service isn't great. We've been twice recently, and both times we've had the same cook, who's a nice guy and moderately entertaining, but definitely a bit of a letdown. The first time we were headed there I taught my girls how to say hello and how are you, in Japanese. But when they tried it on the cook, he said he speaks Spanish not Japanese; just a bummer he didn't even make the effort to stick with the Japanese theme. The food is priced at a premium, but the quality isn't premium, and it has basically no flavor."
Dined on 12/30/2015
 2012
Special Features: special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/27/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, hot spot, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great food and excellent Japanese flair

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
"I took my date here for dinner and had an excellent dinner. The servers, chef, and bar tender were attentive to our needs and the food was very delicious. I would recommend this Japanese steakhouse heartily."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Boisterous and Fun Atmosphere

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"This is definitely not a quiet dining experience, so be ready for some loud noises from the presentation and from the diners around you. The food was quite good (the filet was FANTASTIC) and all the diners in our party enjoyed their meal, although the lobster was not the best."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 41 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Extreme Salt

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
"The food was so overly salty and seasoned that it made me puffy the next day. I didn't think there was value in the food. Also, when you go to hibachi, don't expect to 1) eat everything together, and 2) the food to be hot. By the time the show is over, the food is cold."
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2010
Special Features: kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Entertaining!

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
"Miyama turned out to be a very entertaining spot for our little group to celebrate Christmas!
Though I thought the approximate $30.00 per person (tip and entertainment included) was a bit steep, it was alright, in that it saved me from having to buy groceries, prepare a meal, "entertain" and clean up afterwards.
The food was "alright."
The service was excellent. Friendly, happy, efficient staff.
All and all, I give Miyama 3 1/2 stars out of five.
"
Dined on 12/25/2015
 2015
Special Features: special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Christmas Eve Dinner

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
"We had a great meal here on Christmas Eve. We were seated promptly and food came out in a steady flow. We had teppanyaki, the chef was very skilled and our food was cooked well. My salmon was cooked perfectly...I was sooo impressed! We also ordered off the sushi menu and it was good and fast!
It was a crowded night and our family of 4 was seated with another family of 5. A little bit of a tight squeeze but we managed!"
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2015
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2014
Special Features: good for groups, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Been coming here for years and will continue.

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Value 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2009
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2008
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2008
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 12/24/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2009
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2009
Special Features: good for groups
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Always great fun.

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Value 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Dined on 12/23/2015
 2013
Special Features: good for groups, special occasion, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Miyama Japanese Steak House and Sushi Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Dined on 12/19/2015
 2003
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>