Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Tryg's Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Tryg's

Tryg’s is the complete dining experience! It embodies both the comforts of Minnesota and the urban chic of its surroundings through unique touches evident in the physical space and American fare with a unique twist. Upon arriving, dining guests are greeted by impressive architecture and innovative design that is capable of providing each diner with the dining experience they desire. The blazing fireplace in the entrance will make every guest feel at home. Whether you are the culinary critic, a wine aficionado, a private party or semi-private diner, Tryg’s has the setting to accommodate you, and the food to keep you coming back. Tryg’s menu is carefully considered with both recognizable and exceptional cuisine, prepared with the freshest ingredients and tantalizing sauces. We have a beautiful wood-burning rotisserie and grill which is the focus of the menu. There is also an outdoor fire pit overlooking Lake Calhoun that highlights Tryg’s casual, relaxed atmosphere.
16 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
(16 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 16 reviews
5 stars
(6)
4 stars
(4)
3 stars
(0)
2 stars
(2)
1 star
(4)
Food 
3.1 / 5
(Very Good) 3.1 / 5
Service 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Ambiance 
3.6 / 5
(Very Good) 3.6 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • good for groups(7)
  • late-night find(5)
  • neighborhood gem(5)
  • fit for foodies(4)
  • great for brunch(4)
  • great for lunch(4)
Tryg's Reviews List
Review 1 for Tryg's
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Disapointed

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"They bill themselves as a steak house, one day before New Years Eve, reservations for 6 PM and are out of rib eye and New York steaks. Had to settle for ribs which were just ok. We'll give them another shot but it was disappointing."
Dined on 12/30/2014
 2007
Special Features: late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Tryg's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

We Love Tryg's!

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"We Love Tryg's, we have been going there for a few years. Rumored they are closing, such a great place and we really hage to ser it close it's doors."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2012
Special Features: romantic, good for groups, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Tryg's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Not a great spot for holiday meals

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2004
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2004
Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Their food is normally fantastic but their New Years Eve Menu fell way short of their usual standards."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2004
Special Features: good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Tryg's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

Mediocre at best

Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I used to frequent Tryg's when I lived in the neighborhood. I wanted to take my family to experience a place I used to love. What a disappointment! Food was mediocre at best for a $207/4 person tab on NYE. Pork chop was tough and unseasoned, veggies limp and rice uncooked. Server couldn't hear us and kept away with other tables. For the money, I was highly disappointed. My fond memories of Tryg's are going to remain memories."
Dined on 12/31/2014
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Tryg's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous! Food, atmosphere, staff!!!!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2009
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"We went here after seeing Cirque de Soleil. The atmosphere was hopping yet warm a cozy. The restaurant was not crowded (probably too early) and our waiter was great; very attentive. Food was great! I had beef tenderloin bites, kids had edamame & garden flatbread. It was just very very pleasant and good!"
Dined on 12/27/2014
 2009
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, fit for foodies, late-night find
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Tryg's
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Good food, good music

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"This is the first time I've been to Trygs for dinner. We also planned to stay at the bar and listen to the "old school" music. The service was good; the food was fine. The baby back ribs were excellent--meaty with an interesting sauce that was a little sweet/tart. The fries, unfortunately, weren't crispy at all. The coleslaw was excellent.
The old school,music started about 8:30 with a really good selection of tunes, several of which aren't the same old picks, so I appreciated that. The bar was packed with no place to sit although there were tables and railing type areas to lean on. I was disappointed that there was very little room to dance, and most of the crowd seemed less likely to mingle than to stay with their respective groups. The age range appeared to be 30s and up which was appealing to me.
I'd return to give the food another try and perhaps for a happy hour. The bar? Maybe. It could be a good place for a date night."
Dined on 12/05/2014
 2011
Special Features: good for groups, great for lunch, great for outdoor dining
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Tryg's
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

excellent Thanksgiving buffet

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"Absolutely excellent. The buffet had lots of selections and the food delicious, good service, nice atmosphere. We were a party of 4, seated in a booth, able to easily talk and hear. I've always wanted to eat out on Thanksgiving and never have before. It was wonderful, we all enjoyed!"
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Tryg's
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

VERY DISAPPOINTING

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2013
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2013
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Energetic
Energetic
"The only thing this experience had going for it was the friendly staff. They were great. I felt bad for them that they had to serve the food, AWFUL FOOD! Not the Tryg's I remember from a years ago. Will never eat there again."
Dined on 11/27/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Tryg's
Based on the average of (8) ratings-only reviews
Overall 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
5 out of 7 recommend this product
Food 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Service 
3.4 / 5
(Very Good) 3.4 / 5
Ambiance 
3.3 / 5
(Very Good) 3.3 / 5
Noise Level
2.8 / 3
Energetic