Restaurant Reservations - Free • Instant • Confirmed
Reserve now:

Chef Tony's - Bethesda Reviews List

This restaurant is no longer available. Continue your search at OpenTable.

Chef Tony's - Bethesda

Daily changing Market Driven menu incorporates Fresh Seafood & Locally Farmed Foods when possible into a creative blend of Mediterranean specialties. Enjoy full size Entrees, Tapas plates & creative Vegetarian/Gluten Free offerings. In house desserts daily round out your experience.


In the pursuit of culinary excellence, expect the Chefs to play with flavors, textures & seasonal offerings to challenge your expectations while keeping value in mind. We offer Special Event Services and Banquets. A full bar complements the meal and plan your weekend to include the Bottomless Mimosa Brunch every Sunday featuring Farm Stand Egg Dishes

Chef Tony’s also hosts many specialty events in Bethesda including Business Mixers, Social Media Events, Rehearsal Dinners & themed dinner parties.

After 26 years of procuring top quality products, Chef Tony’s is a unassuming restaurant that continues to impress local diners and travelers.
168 Current Reviews
Summary of Diner Ratings & Reviews
Overall 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
(168 Reviews)
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 168 reviews
5 stars
(88)
4 stars
(54)
3 stars
(20)
2 stars
(3)
1 star
(3)
Food 
4.4 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.4 / 5
Service 
4.3 / 5
(Outstanding) 4.3 / 5
Ambiance 
3.9 / 5
(Very Good) 3.9 / 5
Noise Level
1.9 / 3
Moderate
Filter Reviews By:
Diners classify this restaurant as:
  • neighborhood gem(101)
  • fit for foodies(92)
  • special occasion(46)
  • romantic(38)
  • good for groups(34)
  • great for lunch(24)
Chef Tony's - Bethesda Reviews List
Review 1 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/16/2014
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 10/03/2012
 2012
Dined on 10/03/2012
 2012
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 10/03/2012
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Chef Tony's is consistently great!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Chef Tony's never disappoints! From the calamari to the wonderful choices for entrees to the delicious desserts, you will have a great experience at Chef Tony's!"
Dined on 12/21/2014
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/11/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/31/2015
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 12/07/2014
 2013
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 7/11/2014
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Best experience yet...

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"We have eaten at Chef Tony's many times and our experience on this occasion was the best so far.
We were waited on by Stan, who really did everything he could to make sure every aspect of our visit was perfect.
I started with my favorite appetizer, the mussels. Cooked in a white wine sauce with tomatoes, bacon, and white beans, it was absolutely delicious. My wife had the calamari, and it was very good as well. Highly recommend both choices.
I had a caesar salad for my next choice and my wife took advantage of a special salad they were offering, tomato, house-made mozzarella and watermelon with basil and balsamic vinaigrette. It was very good. The watermelon with the basil was a fantastic combination. Plus, the tomatoes were grown by Stan.
For our entrees, I had the Chicken Antonio, which was pan-seared chicken cutlets served with bacon, mushrooms, fresh spinach and a garlic cream sauce served over penne pasta. It is the best entree I have had at Chef Tony's.
My wife had the whole freshwater trout, which was split and then grilled. It had a great smoky flavor from the grill and the flesh was very tender and flavorful. Highly recommend both dishes.
For dessert, I had the tiramisu which was very good and my wife had the strawberry cheesecake, another hit.
This was a great night to go Chef Tony's. Parking is free on the weekends at the garage across the street, another bonus.
Can't wait to head back for another dinner."
Dined on 8/01/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 1/31/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2010
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2010
Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/19/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Just okay.

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"They coated my monk fish with flour which made if very heavy. Not to my liking at all. They responded with, " you should have told us ahead of time that you don't like it that way." How was I to know that they would cook it like they do in a diner."
Dined on 6/13/2015
 2010
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

One of Bethesda's best secrets

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Chef Tony's is a neighborhood gem indeed. Creative dishes nicely prepared. Friendly and highly competent service. Our most recent visit reinforced the fact that this is a place to keep on your list of regular trips. And half-price wine on Sundays, to boot!"
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Great food, especially the seafood

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Always a great experience, good service and your feel welcomed. The seafood is their specialty so I generally stick with those dishes."
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/15/2015
 2015
Dined on 6/15/2015
 2015
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/15/2015
 2015
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

food, service, and aviator martini are fantastic!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/14/2015
 2006
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2007
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2014
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2014
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
Dined on 6/12/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Just Perfect!

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2007
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I don't usually dine at restaurants in Bethesda because it's just not convenient to where I live or work. However, I love good food and several friends recommended this spot. They were correct! This place is totally worth the trip and I plan to return.
We had the fixed price menu and the waiter was very helpful with the selections. His food and wine recommendations were perfect. They were out of my initial wine choice and he recommended a wine that was new to me. I loved it!!
For appetizers, I had mussels and my husband had calamari. Both were excellent, but I'll get the calamari next time because it had a nice spice to it. The entrees were the sole and the cod--just perfect! Desserts also were great!
The next day, this restaurant did something that no other place had ever done. Someone called and thanked me for dining there and expressed a desire to me soon. How nice is that?"
Dined on 6/05/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 21 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
Food 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The food ordered by three of the seven people at our table was inedible. My food left me with intestinal distress. My husband's food did not come out as ordered. We'll not be returning."
Dined on 6/06/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Delicious- fresh- tasty- must try & go back 4 more

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Wait staff knew all the dishes, the ingredients, how it was prepared and more. The food is individually prepared and absolutely delicious! They were having difficulties with their computer system, so, service was not quick- but it was ok. Everyone was very friendly. To make it even better- they called us the next day to see how our dinner was and to thank us for coming in! They will have repeat business from us!"
Dined on 6/04/2015
 2010
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2009
Special Features: special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 6/02/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/28/2015
 2014
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2015
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2008
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2008
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Great seafood

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Food great. Mussels, cod, monkfish memorable. Generous size dishes. Crem brulee exceptional. Seating in side "room" a bit cramped feeling."
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2014
Special Features: fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2005
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2005
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/19/2015
 2005
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, special occasion
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2009
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2009
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 4/09/2015
 2009
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Service was haphazard because they were short on staff. It took forever for the food to appear. The restaurant was crowded and the experience might have been better given the ratings. We were disappointed."
Dined on 5/20/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer For LIFE!!

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Thank you Chef Tony and Sonia!!! She makes THE BEST deserts in town!!! I love love love the food! The server was amazing! It's not my first time coming here and neither will it be my last.
They are so caring and polite! Even got a phone call a day later, thanking me for dining with them.
Everything on the menu looks great! I love the crab soup and the Salmon dish!!! Yum Yummy!! I could go on and on but My tummy was really happy. Very elegant spot and I had no idea they existed. Funny part was I worked a street over from them and only found out about them through livingsocial.com"
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2013
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, great for lunch, special occasion, notable wine list
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

greenie

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"consistently very good food and lots of it. Chef Tony is on the premises . The main courses are varies=d with lots of seafood. Desserts, if you have room, are terrific"
Dined on 5/18/2015
 2006
Special Features: great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Fabulous food,great service !

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
4 / 3
Energetic
"My new favorite restaurant in Bethesda! The service and fresh food is what will bring"
Dined on 5/17/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2012
Special Features: good for groups, great for brunch, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/13/2015
 2008
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/12/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Not a chain, but a real local restaurant.

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
Dined on 5/11/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2011
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for brunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Excellent food

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Quiet
Quiet
"Mother's Day Brunch was our first visit to Chef Tony's but it definitely won't be our last! The food was excellent . We were a party of 9 and all enjoyed their meals, including two children. The service was a little slow but that was understandable given the Mother's Day crowd."
Dined on 5/10/2015
 2005
Special Features: great for brunch, great for lunch, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 41 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

Food 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/27/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, special occasion, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The meal was excellent. The service could have been a bit more attentive. I asked for the wine list during the meal. The list was delivered but no one returned to take my order. The ambience is adequate but nothing special."
Dined on 5/08/2015
 2005
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2012
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Great food, great service, nice friendly neighborhood vibe. Loved the mussels, cheesecake was out of this world. Will definitely return."
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2005
Special Features: neighborhood gem, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5

Lot's of Potential But Inconsistent

Food 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Service 
2 / 5
(Fair) 2 / 5
Ambiance 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"On a recent Sunday at 5:15 PM we arrived early for a 6 PM reservation. There was no host/hostess in sight so we were shown to a table by one of the waiters who looked as if he was in pain. He tried to seat us at a tiny table in a very narrow claustrophobic room, but when we asked for a bigger table he started to tell us how busy they were going to be that evening - but at that point they were virtually empty. But finally he sat us at a good table when I suggested that we could leave. The water on the tables was warm with no ice. After a 10 minute wait someone asked if we wanted bread. It was tasty but why ask? Our waiter finally came over and proceeded to explain the chef's philosophy and all about the menu, but he spoke so fast we could barely understand a word.
Now for the food: the dishes came out promptly...my ceviche appetizer was delicious but overpriced for the three-ounce portion. My main dish was the monk fish which came with a delicious sea food sauce but the fish itself had a strange consistency -- mushy and overcooked at one end of the filet yet rubbery at the other end of the same filet. Again, the fish portion was maybe 3 ounces and I thought significantly over priced. I would have rather paid two or three bucks more and had a reasonable portion.
My wife's filet of sole came out dark brown and obviously too long in the pan. The consistency was "mealy" as if it had been refrozen and over cooked. Our waiter did offer to replace the dishes but all we wanted to do is leave. He knew we weren't happy but did not try to make things right in some other way. A cup of coffee or dessert would have been appropriate.
To our thinking there was no one in charge when we were there...otherwise most of these issues could have been avoided. There are too many other great eateries in Bethesda where I'd rather spend my money.
"
Dined on 5/03/2015
 2007
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 5/04/2015
 2003
Special Features: neighborhood gem, hot spot, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list, fit for foodies, kid-friendly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5

A Terrific Dining Experience!

Customer Avatar
OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2007
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2007
Food 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Service 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"I was looking for a restaurant in Downtown Bethesda for a family dinner of 6 where we could a) make a reservation for a Friday night and b) have crab cakes. Chef Tony's surpassed all expectations. Our table was ready when we arrived and the service (while a bit slow) was exceptional. We excused the slow service since the waiter was doubling as bartender! Still, the attention we received was stellar, as was the food. It was a wonderful and memorable evening. Will definitely be back!"
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2007
Special Features: romantic, neighborhood gem, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"Have dined here several times and have never been disappointed. As always, the food was very good, but our server was outstanding. He knew the menu and made excellent recommendations."
Dined on 5/02/2015
 2008
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5

OpenTable Diner Since
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2014
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2014
Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
1 / 5
(Poor) 1 / 5
Ambiance 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
Dined on 4/30/2015
 2014
Special Features: neighborhood gem, notable wine list, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Chef Tony's - Bethesda
Overall rating 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5

Terrific Fish at Eclectic Triangle Restaurant

Food 
4 / 5
(Very Good) 4 / 5
Service 
5 / 5
(Outstanding) 5 / 5
Ambiance 
3 / 5
(Good) 3 / 5
Noise Level
Moderate
Moderate
"The cooks have a way with cod...and branzino and other fair fish. The menu is ambitious--definitely something for everyone--and it's great they have good oysters daily. The ambiance isn't much, but ignore that. The service is good, the food often edging to exceptional and don't pass up the small herbed bread slices. I've never had room for dessert, so can't comment there, but the salads and entrees over four visits have been noteworthy."
Dined on 5/01/2015
 2007
Special Features: neighborhood gem, good for groups, great for lunch, fit for foodies
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>